My Big Scary Thing 2013

Let the adventure begin!

I’m sitting here at the airport thinking about someone that’s becoming a tradition for me. Every year since I got divorced, I’ve decided on and accomplished something big, something that scares me. I use it as a way to push myself and grow because we don’t if we never stretch outside our comfort zone. Or at least I didn’t grow that much with it.

In 2011, the Big Scary Thing was National Novel Writing month. I’d never done it and was intimidated by the idea of trying to write 50,000 words in just 30 days. It seemed like in impossibly large amount in an awfully short amount of time. But in the Fall of that year, I was turning over a few new leaves and one of them was to take writing more seriously. NaNo seemed like a great way to start the ‘show up and write every day just like a job’ approach. A job I loved, true, but one I committed to and didn’t shrug off for meaningless, mindless ways of filling hours. That was a very successful BST, one that lingers to this day in the writing habits I have now.

Last year, my BST was to publish a book. That was terrifying. I can’t tell you how often I thought about calling it off, or was sure I couldn’t do it. I wondered if I was making a mistake almost every day. But it was exciting too. Yes, I did make mistakes in hindsight, but I learned from them. And it’s just the beginning of my career. Every time someone has told me they read and enjoyed Bound, every person who asks when the sequel will be coming out, I’ve been thrilled and thankful I jumped in and did my Big Scary Thing for 2012.

Regular readers of this blog will already know what the Big Scary Thing is for this year. I’m waiting now to board a plane for it. I’m going to my first convention. I am so far beyond terrified that I can’t think of a word for it, but I’m doing it anyway. It started as a whim, when I realized that Norwescon is just across the border in Seattle and that the full pass wasn’t that expensive. I thought it would give me a chance to get my feet wet with something close to home.

I don’t think I realized what I was getting myself into until yesterday, when I went through their guide and noticed the sheer volume of programming. This con is huge! *snort*getting my feet wet with something easy, yeah right. That just wouldn’t be me. I do this all the time, stumble into things by accident only to realize how important they are when I’m in the middle of it. Trust me, I come by this honestly, as my mother does the same sort of thing. πŸ˜‰

I’m nervous about the crowds and more so about meeting my favourite author, though she’s really nice from everything I know and have seen. One of my best friends knows her. I’m just afraid ill meet her and make an ass of myself. No, I don’t usually do that sort of thing, but it also wouldn’t be a first for me. And, of course, I realized on the way to the airport that I forgot the books I wanted to have signed. *facepalm* Typically me. Oh well. I have some cool talks I’m going to no matter what and a blogger buddy I’m going to have coffee while I’m in his town. This is looking fun already, even if it is scary.

Things can be both, right? πŸ˜‰

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Big Scary Thing 2013

  1. Em says:

    I wish I were there with you! You’re going to have a blast. It *is* scary – WFC was the first one I’d attended by myself – but totally worth it! Text me if you need encouragement. πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      I wish you were here too! We’re going to have to do a con together at some point. And I will be in touch if I feel the urge to hide in a corner. I suspect that’ll happen at least once this weekend. πŸ˜‰

  2. Em says:

    I had to call out to a friend for encouragement at least one as well, and that was AFTER I had already met everyone. So definitely do so if you need to. Also, forgot to mention that they’ll have books for sale there so anything you forgot you might be able to rebuy (I bought a hc edition of a deLint book because I couldn’t find my mm at home).
    Yes, definite con together at some point, maybe somewhere halfway. πŸ™‚

  3. Admiration. You go girl!

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Hope you’re enjoying/did enjoy the conference! I need to do more big, scary things, but finding the courage isn’t easy. There’s a bit of the cowardly lion in me, I think. πŸ˜‰

    Yes, things can be fun AND scary, and kudos to you for making the leap!

    • Julie says:

      So pick one thing that scares you. Face that and do it. It gets easier after the first time, because you know you’ve made it before. I think it’s too much to ask ourselves to face every scary thing at once.

      And yes, I’m enjoying myself, aside from a moment of blind panic stemmed only by chatting with a friend. I think I’ll have to post a recap. Or maybe two posts, given the length of this con. Not over until Sunday. πŸ™‚

  5. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Wow, I’m obviously behind on things! My internet’s been out for a month, so I guess I’ll probably have a bunch of Julie-blog-catching-up. πŸ˜‰ That’s so cool and I hope you’re enjoying yourself. Terrifying things, yay! *is hypocrite*

    Biggest news for me this last month was that I finally finished that book of mine!!!!!! (sorry for excessive exclamation point use… :P) I’m SUPER excited about that, as you might guess. Third finished book! It came in at 100k, though it wasn’t supposed to get that long… I guess I’m a big-book writer… On to the next project, whatever on earth that might be!

    Best of luck to you on your adventure! πŸ™‚

    ❀
    -Deborah

    • Julie says:

      Ohhh, congratulations! And 100k for fantasy isn’t that uncommon. Besides, you never know if you’ll go up or down in word count during edits.

      And no internet for a month? I’d have gone crazy!

  6. Pete Denton says:

    Enjoy your trip. Well done for attending the convention. I’m hoping to attend a couple of writing festivals this year as well. About time I started going to these things that are on my doorstep. I look forward to reading what you thought about it.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I don’t think I’m going to write about every single thing that happened, but there will at least be a grand overview of it and highlights. I’ll have to fit that in somehow around everything else. I think my schedule only gets more crowded, never less. πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

