When You Get Sucked In

You know, I meant to post yesterday. I didn’t get around to it. I fully blame Devan for that. Trust me, it’s definitely the Necromancer’s fault. And you know there’s no way I’m going to be mad at him for it. If anything, I’m delighted.

I know it’s was only this past November that I was last writing about him and his world, but I had forgotten how much fun writing him was. I also don’t think I realized how much I missed everything about that world, not even just Devan. It’s a fun place, for all its darkness, a real playground of story for me. There are so many I could tell, little touches and things off the beaten path of the trilogy that I know and want to share. There are places in there I haven’t explored because Devan doesn’t even know they’re there. I think I finally understand the attraction of making a world and then just telling stories in it for years. I could probably do that with the Necromantic universe.

I suppose that’s part of why I’m so glad that I will be going back, that there are more books. And the places that those books will take me and the main character for that story are pretty wild, with some of them vastly different and hardly even hinted at in the first trilogy. I’m not ready to get serious about that yet, but I am excited.

Really, though, this is all more of a lead in to where I’m at now. Still working on Devan’s novella, but only barely. As in almost done. Yeah, I know, I just started Friday. When has that ever stopped me? Besides, the last couple of days have been good for writing. And by good, I mean bloody fantastic. Sunday was a real first for me, totally a new record. Are you ready for it?

New record-10k

 

Why yes, that session total does say a little over 10k. 😀 I had my first ever 10k day and I’ll be honest, I didn’t feel like a zombie afterward. There’s no question that I needed a break, and the typos were a bit alarming on the last sprint, but I made it through 10,153 words without my head exploding. Amazing. Don’t everyone faint at once that I agreed something I did might be awesome. First time for everything, you know.

Even yesterday was pretty awesome, since I’d been at the day-job all day. 6,477 words is excellent after that, especially in the aftermath of a 10k day. Yes, I’m patting myself on the back. I feel like I deserve it since I wasn’t sure I could get this novella done in time when I started Sunday. Now I seem likely to have a day to spare. Yay!

I think part of it is that I really got back down deep into the world of the story, and into the place in the timeline of that world that the novella takes place. It’s a prequel, and at first, my brain kept screaming about how Devan is in what I might consider the “present”, aka during the trilogy. I finally got that straight and apparently then it was off to the races with Devan. Have I mentioned how much I love my Necromancer? 😉

I’m down to the last section and what I think are probably the last 2-3k of this story. I expect to finish it tonight. That’s good, since it’s already 28,236 words long already. Yeah, I know I said I wasn’t going to get antsy about length. I lied. I always lie about that. Sorry, but I know it’s true and now you do too. Take any statement from me that I won’t get worried about stuff or anxious with a grain of salt the size of the sun. However much I might intend to be cool about something, my chances of actually doing so are very very very slim.

In addition to this, I’ve done a touch of noodling with the outline for What Lies Beneath, but only a little. I rarely touch other projects when I’m writing. I want to be totally wrapped up in the world, as much as is humanly possible, so I can write it better, understand more deeply. I suspect that I’ll put the big push on that the moment I finish this novella.

Speaking of novellas, I’ve been thinking a lot about my first one, Through Windows and Hearts. Just before I got caught up in outlining WLB and writing Devan’s novella, I had printed TWaH off to do a light edit and try to figure out one part like 3/4 of the way through it that I thought might be problematic. That was all I had planned. I’d done the out loud edit of the rest and thought I was fairly happy with everything else. There’s a key word there: Thought.

I got through about a third of it before all the distraction and it’s very marked up. But now that I’m away from it, I wonder if I’m being too picky or worse, making things worse. Fortunately, so far it’s just mark ups, and I can toss that, or just ignore them and read through it fresh. I’m usually fairly good at knowing when to stop editing and turn it over for feedback, but I think I’ve lost that at this point. I know why too. Someone I respect a great deal has said she wants to read it when it’s ready for betas. I’m afraid of it not being good enough. It’s not that I don’t value the opinions of everyone who has beta read for me. I was a nervous wreck when I sent Bound out for exactly that reason. It got easier largely because I was sending Possession and The Nine to the same people. I got reminded of how hard letting a new beta in is when I sent Devan’s first book to someone who had never read my work before. That turned out well, but apparently this hasn’t made sending work to others any easier. I wish I could believe that might change one day, but I’m highly skeptical.

Right now, I just wish I knew if I was making a mess of a good manuscript by over-editing it or if I’m being lazy by wanting to stop. Or impatient to share, despite the terror involved. That’s another real possibility. I really wish my head and emotions would get it straightened out, just this once.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

