Of Laughs and Scary Things

It’s been a quiet, steady time the last few days for the most part, which is part of why there was a longer than usual radio silence between posts. Also, I had a very long week at the day job, which kind of wiped me out a bit, though not enough to keep me from working on more important things, like writing.

I made a little more progress on the outline for What Lies Beneath, but that’s largely on hold at the moment. I’m now head down in the process of writing Devan’s novella. Through Friday and Saturday, I wrote 11,621 words, and hope to have a good day today between chores. I’m starting to think I was worrying over nothing regarding the length of this piece, but I’m holding all judgement on that until it’s done. Things seem to change so readily in that department.

I also spent a bit of time reading and giving feedback on short pieces for a couple of friends on Twitter and ended up having a conversation with one about how, even after a few readers, some things can still get missed. It’s something I’ve experienced and, in fact, I think just about every writer has. That’s not to say we don’t try to catch everything, both as writers and as people critiquing, but that we’re all human. It did lead to a few laughs in this case at least.

I think that’s about it for me today. I’ve been having trouble focusing much these last few days and I suspect it’s for a number of reasons. First, the amount of stuff on my plate. Second, the convention, which is this coming week. I’m still more than a lot nervous about it, but if we only did the things we felt comfortable with, life would get boring in a hurry.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Of Laughs and Scary Things

  1. Pete Denton says:

    I often find mistakes in a book, even the big publishers peddle books with typos. And, I take great delight when I spot them 🙂

  2. averythorne says:

    I’ve a version of Dune with so many mistakes I’m surprised it was even published. *shudders.

    Terrible shame when that happens.

  3. 11,000 words in a couple of days – that’s impressive. Think I wrote approx 400 words on Friday and felt I’d done such a great job that I could relax for the rest of the weekend.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! I’m not sure I know *how* to relax at this point. I’ve become addicted to sprinting when I write. 30 minutes and see how much you can do. I generally manage 1-1.1k per half hour, so it’s down to how many sprints I can manage before my brain implodes for the day. Besides, I’d like to have this finished before I go the con. I stand a decent chance, I think.

  4. 4amWriter says:

    It is frustrating to see typos in final drafts, much less published books but one can only hope the story is compelling enough that we don’t care about the flaws. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      True. People are more likely to forgive the occasional minor imperfection if the story sweeps them off into its world. At least, that’s been my experience. Certainly I think writing something that engaging is a goal everyone likely has, though we’d also like to be typo-free as much as possible. 😉

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

