Preparing for Whatever

This has been a night of preparing and pushing myself, and I like it. I feel ready for whatever comes tomorrow. What is tomorrow? Friday and that means #writeclub.

I love #writeclub but I also hate letting a Friday go by without participating myself, though I’m always following the hashtag to offer support and congratulations to those who join in and use it to get themselves further ahead. When they start the sprints, 30 minutes followed by a 15 minute break before they hop in for another mad dash of 30, I want to be part of it more than I could tell you. I love the thrill of it, my own word-induced adrenaline rush. People start reporting their word count at the end of a sprint and I want to add to the total, to report in and watch as the group’s total skyrockets, Beau keeping track and telling us how we’re doing. I love to know I’m part of that, part of something bigger.

I wasn’t ready with anything last week, not really, but this week, I am. I’ve got my outline done for a novella that I now realize has been begging to be written for about a year now. Devan’s novella was just lurking behind the novels. How nice of him to let me get major blocks of work out of the way before presenting me with this. It’s part of Devan’s back story. It won’t be necessary to read the novella to understand what goes on with the novels of the trilogy, but it will add depth to events that are only fleetingly referred to over the course of the three novels. I’m really looking forward to it and the outline is pretty nice. I’m still a bit concerned about length, but it’ll be what it will be. As always, I’m going to let the first draft be whatever it needs to be, setting aside concerns of length and quality. It’s the only way to be able to finish that first draft, for me at least.

In addition to all this, I’ve been working on the outline for What Lies Beneath, book 1 of the Spire of Time trilogy. At least, I think it’s a trilogy. To be honest, other than a vague sense of the ending, I’m not wholly sure where this one’s going. Every time I think I know, Reah and Viz throw me a curve ball. I’m still happy with what I’ve done so far though. I think the outlines maybe about a third done, possibly almost half. Not sure. As always, I don’t know until it’s actually done.

Still, I like the trouble they’re getting themselves into and the larger elements some of it sets up for later. I do think it’s still going to be a trilogy, but I’m not sure if my original overall plan is going to hold. Oh well. I’ll figure out another way through if it doesn’t. I mean, I didn’t know the story for the sequels to Bound until after I finished rewriting that book from the ground up. I’m not worried.

What I am a bit concerned about is the fact that I may be showing my insanity a bit more than usual. I mean, tomorrow I’m planning to start writing another novella (likely at least 5 days of writing, maybe more) right before not one, but two major events on my calendar. First, I have Norwescon in about a week. After that? Oh, only Camp NaNoWriMo-April. Nothing major. I’m still not 100% for sure I’ll be in it, but it’s looking more likely with every day and I’m starting to think I should plan for being involved.

And no, the list of stuff I’ve been up to isn’t over yet. Yeah, I know, over-achiever. Go ahead and say it. I think it practically every day with regard to how much writing I do. Despite my constant feeling that it’s not enough, I do have moments of clarity when I realize I do an astounding amount of work.

I’ve editing the flash fiction I mentioned last entry, By The Candle Light. I’ve revised it up and was pleased enough with the result to send it out to someone for comments. They liked it, and had one excellent comment that confirmed something I thought but wasn’t sure of. I’m going to send it out to at least a couple more people before I consider submitting it, but still, it’s nice to be this happy with it, especially given it was my first flash fiction ever. Current word count on it is 946 words.

Oh, and, on top of all this, I’m beta reading a Twitter friend’s manuscript. It’s humorous and I’m surprised which characters I’m getting attached to. I’m rather enjoying it, though I’m still remembering to make comments of both encouraging and constructively critical varieties. It’s nice in some ways to be reviewing the work of others, to make note of problems without feeling compelled to find a way to fix them. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Preparing for Whatever

  1. Amber Sherer says:

    It was so much fun to jump into #writeclub with you last week. I really need to start sticking it in my calendar, that, or keeping track of what day of the week.. it… is… Today is Friday. x.x

    Oh well, I’m already planning to write all the words tonight, got my pot of coffee at the ready, even.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

