Forward Motion Achieved

I officially love this weekend. It’s not as good as the one where I wrote most of a novella, but it’s pretty fantastic. Why? Because I’ve finally gotten something off my plate! Yes, one of those two concurrent editing projects is finished! I’ve gotten that part of my brain back. The other project is almost halfway done and I suspect that I can get a good jump on finishing that too in the next couple of days. Having had some measurable progress has re-energized me in a serious way, something I needed. Apparently it happened just in time too, since it’s become clear I need all of my brain to focus on other things.

Certainly there’s no shortage of other things for me to focus on. I know that won’t surprise anyone who reads this blog. However, among all the stories crowding my brain, two are currently duking it out gladiator style. Actually, in some ways, it’s entertaining, the ebb and flow of the two stories, set in different worlds with different characters.

To say they’re fighting might actually be an exaggeration. It’s more like they’re time-sharing my brain. That’s better really, because it allows me to smoothly move between one and the other as I have ideas, parts of them I need to put down. What’s best about this is that it allows me to be in perpetual motion on these projects. After a week that felt like very little progress was made, I needed this sense of super-productivity.

The two projects? The outline for What Lies Beneath is one of them of course. Yesterday I managed to write about 2000 words on that outline and am pleased with the results so far. I think this one’s shaping up nicely, but it’s definitely going to be a challenge to write. WLB is starting to become a bit more epic in scale than my previous projects, bigger and more complicated. But that’s okay. The story will be what it will be and I’ll just do my best to write it well. It might be a great learning opportunity, to stretch myself like that. I still think it’s just going to be a trilogy, but the books themselves might be longer than usual, given how much os going on in them. We’ll see how that plays out.

The other project? Devan’s novella. It’s been sitting in the back of my mind since I first thought of it a month or so back. I really enjoyed writing Second Thoughts, the novella in my Mirrors of Bershan world. It was a fun way to go back and visit those that story-world and I suspect it would be the same with this novella. Actually, it would be more like keeping my head partly in Devan’s world, since I’m planning to write more books in that universe. This novella is a prequel, as is the short story I have outlined, but the new novels will take place after Necromantic’s conclusion. I’m not quite ready to write those novels yet, but it’s nice to keep that world fresh in my head.

That novella has a title, but I’m not planning on sharing it because I’m not happy with it. I’m almost 100% certain I’ll change it by the time I finish the first draft, so there no point in mentioning the one I’ve hung on it for my own immediate use. For now, it’s the only novella I have planned in that world anyway. A couple of other small stories are rolling around for secondary characters, but they’re too amorphous to know how long they’ll be or  how I should categorize them. I think it’s a good sign for the trilogy that so many of the secondary characters are insisting they have stories of their own to tell though. There’s a reason I love those books. 🙂

With the progress I’ve made on the outline for WLB, I’m starting to think that it’s not impossible for that story to be ready to go for April 1st. That doesn’t mean I’m going to rush it, and I certainly won’t start if it’s not ready. Rather it means that I’m open to the possibility of doing Camp NaNo after all. We’ll have to see. More than that though, the progress on Devan’s novella has been stellar. I forgot that I had the basic plot laid out in the notes I made when I first thought of it. I’m now expanding on and developing that into a full outline. At the rate I’ve been going, I think that might get it done either today or tomorrow night. If I can do that, I think I’m going to write it up next weekend. Anyone think I can do again what I did with Second Thoughts, write a whole novella in about a week? I figure I might as well. I certainly won’t get the opportunity the last weekend of March, when I’ll be in Seattle for Norwescon the whole long weekend. I suspect the most I’ll get done then is some notes and outlining.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Forward Motion Achieved

  1. Subtlekate says:

    You are the juggernaut of writing.

  2. emmybenson says:

    This is so amazing. Yay for momentum. And also for crossing things off the list, so to speak.

    PS, I have an outline ready and waiting for #writeclub on Friday, thanks to your novella inspiration a couple weeks ago.

    • Julie says:

      Indeed. I think momentum is one of the most important aspects for ongoing productivity. In my experience, if you can keep that, you can do almost anything.

      And yay for outlines and novellas. Looks like we’ll be diving into that territory on Friday together. Glad to have been helpful in that regard. We writers have to stick together after all. 😉

  3. 4amWriter says:

    You’re like the Energizer Bunny of writing. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

