Lighting It On Fire

I swore to myself after I posted yesterday that I was not going to write another post today about Second Thoughts. Really, I wasn’t going to. I was going to give everyone, me included, a day off from it. But now I have to and if you’re sick of hearing about it all weekend, well, I sort of apologize for this. Only sort of because it is, after all, my blog. Anyway, back to the reason for this post. I have to say this.

WTF? WHERE DID ALL THOSE WORDS COME FROM?!?!

Sorry, had to get that out. Seriously though, I think I lit my keyboard on fire yesterday. There was definitely smoke, and with good reason.

Screen cap 9322

Yes, that number you see for the session is what I wrote yesterday. And yes, that really says 9,322 words. Does the above reaction make a little more sense now? For anyone who needs a little context, my old record for a single of writing was 8,101. Let that sink in for a moment. I beat my old record by over 1200 words. Worse, I probably could have kept going. The brain was still feeding story to my fingers, but the number of typos from my poor, weary digits was reaching epic proportions, so I thought it best to call it a night. Leave something for today maybe.

I’m really not sure how much I have left to write on ST. Initially, I thought the first draft would be around 20k. Clearly I was wrong. Then I thought 25k. Given I wrote 24,254 this weekend and haven’t reached the climax, I think we can rule that out. too. No, from looking at my outline, I think I have another 10k to go. I hope it’s not much more than that, as I risk turning this into more of a short novel than a novella. I’d really rather not do that if I can help it.

Despite that, I also don’t want to stop writing this story. I don’t want it to end. I’m hoping that means good things, that even the writer doesn’t want it to be over, but I always worry that I’m being self-indulgent. I know it has to end, and I know what that end is, but at the same time, I’m remembering why I was desperate to write ST when I first thought of this idea back in the fall. I love this story, so very much.

It’s amazing how much life there is to this story, given these three are only minor characters in Bound. The beauty of this portion of their lives, Β and how much there is to it sort of surprises me. I mean, I tried to give them depth in Bound, but I didn’t think there was this much. I’m enjoying exploring their lives and seeing the path that led them to Bound. It’s also allowing me to see different parts of the world I built, to explore other aspects of it that I at most touch on briefly in the trilogy. It’s almost like a gift from my own characters.

Maybe that sounds a bit melodramatic, but it’s still how I feel.

I should mention that part of that very large total yesterday was #writeclub. A few of us gathered and ran sprints together last night. I ended up calling the start and stop times, which surprised me. I think that, without my phone, I’d have made a royal mess of it though. I have a tendency to want to just keep on going once I get on a roll. It takes the timer going off to stop me. If I was on my own, this would be fine, but others might not want to do an hour-long sprint, or however long it takes me to run out of steam. πŸ™‚

The other thing that I think has helped me slip back into this world is that I’ve pulled out the playlist I had from when I was writing the trilogy. It seems to help bring me back to the state of mind where I can peek back into Tavis’ world, though he hasn’t been born yet at the time of the novella. Still, it’s nice to feel close to him again. I miss Tavis, rather a lot actually. No brain, I’m not suggesting I give him another novel/series. Really, I’ve done enough to that poor man already. πŸ˜‰

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Lighting It On Fire

  1. sarahcradit says:

    Nicely done!! There’s no better feeling than annihilating your daily writing goal πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, I rather did, didn’t I? I always set it at 2k, but I almost always beat that number. It just lets me feel decently accomplished without driving me crazy on days where nothing’s quite working right. πŸ™‚

  2. 9,000 words! That’s insanely good. Congrats πŸ™‚ I’m trying to think … the only time I ever beat that was once. I had just finished reading Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins for the first time and my favourite character died. I was so outraged that I sat down (it was a Saturday) and typed out a 25k fanfiction about his life. I was a woman possessed. I’ve never come even close to equalling that feat again, but … I guess killing your favourite character does that to a person πŸ˜€ Seriously, though, congrats!!!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. πŸ™‚ I promise, no one’s dying in this story, though I’m not shy about killing characters if it’s appropriate. Just not too often, or it loses any real impact.

      • Are you referring to the 7th Harry Potter book there? Because they dropped like flies in that book. It was rather ridiculous.

        • Julie says:

          Actually, I was thinking more about Game of Thrones. I still found the deaths in HP7 meaningful, where I think I’ve reached character death exhaustion with Martin’s work.

          • Ah, fair enough. But isn’t that why people like Game of Thrones so much? You get to bet with your friends over who’s going to die next? πŸ˜€

          • Julie says:

            Lol, never tried betting. I admit that I enjoyed that at first, the way even main characters could make mistakes with deadly consequences, but I’m seeing how truly tiring it is and at this point, I’m starting to get desensitized to it. Probably not what the author is going for. At least, I hope not. πŸ˜‰

  3. Pete Denton says:

    Well done. Over 9k is a monumental amount. My fingers hurt on your behalf. πŸ™‚

  4. dex says:

    What do you use to track your writing goals? (Just curious…)

    • Julie says:

      Not much. I have a spreadsheet when I’m writing a novel for daily totals. The goal is always the same, 2k before I can stop kicking myself for laziness. πŸ˜‰

      Keep in mind that I don’t have a lot for larger writing goals. I don’t have year-long ones, and even writing a novel, I don’t have any length goals beyond the size of a novel and as long as it takes to tell the story.

      All this means that there isn’t much to track most of the time, which lets me keep it simple. πŸ™‚

  5. wordsurfer says:

    Wow. I’m away just for a little while and you pull this stunt! I’ve been trying to catch up on what I missed out on regarding your writerly adventures these last few weeks, but I couldn’t let this one go without a comment. On the danger of repeating myself: you rock!
    Also, I’d love to know what’s on that playlist of yours! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

