The Detonations Continue

I’m starting to think that, by the end of this weekend, I won’t be able to talk, write or think, mostly because I will have written ALL THE WORDS. Seriously, I think that’s a real danger here. I’ve never run out of words before, but there’s a first time for everything, right? 😉

Before I get too involved in last night’s verbiage, I’d like to point out something from yesterday. You guys might remember that I was working on a short story for a secret project over the last few weeks. Yesterday, that short story went live as part of Chynna-Blue’s Supernatural Short feature. The Third Feather is up on her site and I’d love for you to go check it out. Let me know what you think. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

One other thing I want to mention before I go on. This week is Read An Ebook week. Over at Smashwords, Bound is on sale, 50% off. If you haven’t picked it up but were thinking of it, now is the time. Even if you don’t have an eReader, there are apps for phones and tablets that will allow you to read on those devices. In fact, I’ve found that I read a lot more on my iPhone than I ever did on my Kobo. If you do decide to pick up  Bound while it’s on sale, the code for the discount is REW50. There are a lot of books that will be on sale as part of this during the week, so do check out the catalogue while you’re there. Who knows what new favorite author you might discover? 🙂

So, going back to last night. There was another asplosion. It was bigger. Only a bit bigger, but when you’re talking about the kind of 7k word explosion that happened Friday night, even a bit bigger is kind of a big deal. Okay, it is to me, maybe not to everyone else.

I didn’t actually spend the whole day writing, as I had a number of things to do, errands to run, etc. I suspect I spent roughly the same number of hours writing as Friday, though most of my sprinting was done on my own this time. I use my phone’s built in timer for those occasions, setting it to 30 minutes and just going. The thing about sprinting is that it’s effective if you focus. Honestly, for those 30 minutes, I don’t check twitter, email, the blog, anything. If my phone rang, I wouldn’t check that either (it doesn’t because people who know me know that text and email are far more reliable methods of communicating with me). I wrap myself in the story, take periodic glances at my outline and just write. The words keep going and sometimes I’m racing across the keys to keep pace with the story.

The key, really, is to keep the cursor in motion, to push it forward and down the screen for the whole time. Sometimes what comes out isn’t quite what you intended, and sometimes it’s better. I can tell you that, as always, Second Thoughts is evolving a bit away from the outline, but only in small ways and it’s nothing I can’t handle. That evolution is making it a better story, so I’m happy with that.

Once I’m done, there are a couple of things I’ll have to double-check to make sure they mesh with what’s in the trilogy. It’s been so long since I really worked on the Mirrors of Bershan that I’m not sure I remember all the details right, the mentions of the past and timelines that are the present for this novella. I’m not letting myself worry about it right now, as they’re minor things even in the novella and that’s part of what editing is for in any case, checking stuff.  I’ve done it with working on trilogies, so there’s no reason I should find it any different when working on a related piece in an existing world of mine.  I can deal with it.

So far this weekend, I’ve managed to write 14,932 words, 7752 of which were from yesterday. I’m perilously close to my one-day record from writing Unmasked, but I doubt that I’ll manage to hit or exceed 8.1k today. Sunday is chores day, plus there’s the day job tomorrow. I’ll be more than thrilled if I can get in the 7k range again, as that’ll make 3 days running. I’m not entirely sure how far I am with the story, but I think I might be a touch south of 50%. Eep. So much for my original thought that this would be about 20k when finished. I guess this one’s going to be a long novella (plus I now have to look up the threshold for novelette, just to see what I’m dealing with). I’m not going to worry about that either. It will take as long as it takes to tell this story, and if I do say so myself, I think it’s turning out very well, with lots of tension. Of course, I always seem to think that when I’m writing, then decide it’s crap while it’s in the drawer, only to realize I was unfair when I go back to edit it. There’s a pattern here, and I know exactly what it says about me. Doubt leads me to push harder though, so I’ll live with it, use it to hone my edge.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Detonations Continue

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    :O ALL THE WORDS indeed. Wowwwwww.

    I read on Hatrack once that short stories are less than 7,500 words; novelettes are 7,500-17,500; and novellas are 17,500-40k (novels being 40k and up).

    Also, your story was awesome. 🙂 I too only recently started trying fantasy set (at least partially) in our contemporary world, and it’s actually kind of fun! You did a neat job of it, too. 😀 Thanks for sharing!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! Glad you liked the story. Definitely a change of pace for me, fun too, but I don’t think it’ll replace secondary world fantasy in my heart.

      I’ve seen a few different definitions for lengths, though most of them list 50k as the starting point for novel (which is why that’s the goal for NaNo). I’ll look into it. I really don’t intend to stop until the story is told, but it would be nice to know what I’ll be marketing this as. 🙂

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Yes! Same here. That’s the best kind of fantasy. ❤

        I've heard that too… Maybe there isn't a solidly-agreed-on rule about wordcounts. And yeah, it is nice to know what a work is. 😉

  2. wordsurfer says:

    Julie, I just read that story and I was spellbound! Left a comment there… Thank you for this!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

