I Think I Asploded

Last night was rather unexpected. Not in the least what I’d planned to do with it when I got up, or when I left the day job. I’m sitting here this morning, looking back at last night and wonder WTF happened. In a good way though.

I suppose I need to explain this. You know that pile of editing, the grand mountain I’ve been mentioning? Um, it’s on hold for a couple of days. 😉

Oh wait, that doesn’t explain very well, does it? All right, how about this? Last night, being Friday night, was #writeclub. I love #writeclub. I think I may have mentioned that before. I should mention that I always follow the hashtag on Fridays, even if I’m just editing or doing something else that produces no measurable word count (btw, lots of people participate by editing during the sprints and report word count. I just don’t tend to report). Part of it is for community and to offer encouragement to those who are writing. The rest of it is just because it’s fun. There are a lot of fun people who tune in to #writeclub and it’s run by some of my favorite people on Twitter. Why wouldn’t I follow?

The thing is, when I tune in to #writeclub, I always fight with myself if I’m not actually writing. All those writers working together, making words and reporting them at the end of every sprint, it’s a bit intoxicating and a lot encouraging. That’s good because that’s kind of what it’s meant for, mutual encouragement. But then I’m sitting there and trying to edit while my brain screams at me to write something new. It never fails. I don’t mind. I’m usually good at policing my own brain into doing what it needs to. That said, last night, I lost the battle. I think I won the war though, kinda. Or maybe I would have if there had been a war.

Honest, I was only planning on rereading the outline for Second Thoughts, the novella I had planned for my Mirrors of Bershan world. I swear on everything I hold dear, that was the only plan I had. I mentioned before that I was planning on writing this one next, though there was a chunk of editing I was going to do first. So much for plans, right? But really, I hadn’t planned on writing last night. Then I tuned into #writeclub as they were starting the first North America sprint. Yes, the hashtag has grown so that there are now UK sprints as well. 🙂

Anyway, I was reading the outline as the first sprint of the night for my continent went down. I’m fairly sure that’s where I lost, right there, reading about a story I needed to write while everyone was making words around me (well, virtually around me). The next thing I knew, I was firing up Scrivener with a new project. I should mention that this is my first time actually writing a draft in Scrivener. Everything I’ve done with that program so far has involved copying over from the original Word document. I kinda like it. No frills, but it does virtually everything I need. The way it presents things is going to take some getting used to, but it’s nothing I can’t deal with.

Back to the story. I fired up a new project for Second Thoughts. I set up some formatting, then reread the first section of the outline, figuring that was all I was likely to get done, but excited to join in the avalanche of words that was about to come on the next sprint. Yeah, I’m kind of like that with #writeclub. 😀 I did spare a glance for the editing I should have been working on, but only one, and it wasn’t even all that guilty.

I wrote in like 7 straight sprints last night. We run them for 30 minutes, break for 15, then another 30. In that time, I write a VERY astounding 7,180 words. In one night. After a full day at my day job. I- I don’t quite understand how that happened. While it’s not a personal best for a single day, the best I’ve done took an entire day, not an evening. It’s definitely a best ever for a work day.

Yes, there’s more to write, but what a start! And I think it’s even fairly good for a first draft. I also think that part of why I could write so much is that a) this story has been kicking around formally since about October (informally since April) and b) it’s a world I know very well, after writing a whole trilogy in it. I mean, it’s Tavis and Fay’s world. It was nice to get back to it a bit, even if it wasn’t with those two. This novella, for those who have read Bound, involves Ganson, Brinds and Ivanne, long before either Fay or Tavis were born. The most hilarious part is that I didn’t realize the story point that’s the basis of this novella until I wrote The Nine, the final book in the trilogy. Ah, how we keep secrets from ourselves.

Despite evidence to the contrary in the form of this long post, I’m feeling a little word-hungover this morning. I’m staring at last night’s total and and still wondering how in the hell I did that. I mean, that’s a lot of key tapping for one night. I’m going to go find coffee and see if my brain’s in there somewhere. I’m fairly sure it ran away during the night, but with the door locked, it can’t get very far. It should be somewhere in the apartment, right? 😉

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Think I Asploded

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Wow. That’s pretty… wow. Even for you! But I’m not surprised you needed to do some actual writing. 😉

    I actually wrote a bunch last night as well (2k, which doesn’t sound very big next to your number, but it’s pretty good for me). The last couple days and today and tomorrow the plan is to pound away at the keyboard and finally get that WIP of mine finished that I’ve been saying I’d finish ever since September, but it kept getting longer and longer and Nano was a biiig distraction. Anyways. Wish me luck. 😛

    • Julie says:

      Good luck. And 2k is an awesome number. Remember, writing isn’t a competition with anyone other than yourself. As long as you’re happy with your progress, that’s all that matters. I’m looking forward to seeing a comment one of these days that says you’ve finished. 😀

  2. Pete Denton says:

    O.
    M.
    G.

    Now, that’s what I call an evening’s work. Well done. It was obviously bursting to get out onto the scrivener page/screen. Good luck finding your brain after that one. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I think I found it. A few cells at least. Enough that I’ve slowly written a bit more this morning. Going to do a bit more shortly, mb even a few personal sprints. Glutton for punishment and all that. 😀

  3. 4amWriter says:

    #writeclub sounds like fun every time you mention it, and I still haven’t gone to see what all the fuss is about! Fridays are tough for me though, but I really should check it out. Does it run all day, or only certain hours?

    • Julie says:

      It really is a lot of fun. The official runs are Friday nights, but as it’s growing, there are more and more sprints happening at different hours. Really, if you feel like sprinting, I suggest you ask if anyone else wants to join you using the hashtag. I did a couple late last night with someone.

  4. Pingback: The Detonations Continue | Word Flows

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

