Full Brain Syndrome

Ah, sweet progress, how I love thee.

Most of the progress has been on the short story from Sunday. I’ve now finished two passes of editing on it and I’m pretty happy. I’ve sent it out to a couple of test readers for feedback, and then I’ll see where I’m at. The deadline for this secret project isn’t too far away, so I’m glad to be this far along. I know, I’m being a story tease. I’ve discovered I like being that. πŸ™‚

The next thing I’m planning is another round on the novella, Through Windows and Hearts. I’d like to get that out for feedback soon, for a number of reasons. Most importantly, I want to see how I did with this one, as it’s a bit odd. You’ll learn a bit more about why soon, so I won’t spoil that (or the story itself) soon.

The other thing is that I want to feel like I’m making progress again. I haven’t had a sense of that for a little while and I don’t even know why. Perhaps it’s just that mid-winter crap a lot of us go through. This time last year, I was so excited about how the rewrite of Bound had turned out that I hardly noticed. Also, I spent February writing Possession, the sequel, so really, I had a lot on my mind at the time. It’s not so much that I don’t this year, but I guess the nature of what I’m thinking about is different this year. I’m also wondering if I just have too many books on my brain at the moment.

Keep in mind that I have two books from my first trilogy still in editing (and therefor on my mind), all of a second trilogy, the first book of a quartet, a stand alone novella, a bunch of short stories, and another trilogy forming up. Oh, plus the outline for one novella to write, half an outline for another, not to mention a short story outlined as well. Sound like a SLIGHTLY full brain to anyone other than me? And, of course, on top of all that, is that fountain of story ideas and notes. That never stops. I don’t think it even slows down.

I’m finding it difficult to remember everything and I’m constantly afraid as I’m writing or revising these last couple of months that I’m repeating myself or forgetting important things. This despite a lot of notes and working with fairly detailed outlines. I think I need to get some of this stuff totally out the door (and brain) so I can try to concentrate. I also need to remember that there’s nothing I need to rush to do. My very vague, not really set goal for the year is four novels and 2 novellas of new fiction. That’s doable for me, especially if I don’t get myself so wound up worrying about not doing enough that I can’t think straight. I’m working on that, really. I’ll get there.

I know, I sound like I’m driving myself crazy these days and like I’ve overloaded myself. I feel like I’m whining too much about it these days, but it’s what’s going on and the truth. When I started this blog, I said I’d be true to myself and that it was going to be about me, so this is what you get sometimes. Don’t worry though, I’ll get it figured out. I think I’ve now gotten one thing off my plate at least. I just have to keep reminding myself, the to do list can only be accomplished one task at a time. I’m going to keep saying it until I’ve got it internalized. Worrying too much only sets me back even further, so I’m not going to do something that counterproductive.

On a brighter note, I got an incredible compliment from a reader the other day. Keep in mind that rereading a book is the best indication you can get that I enjoyed a book. This reader told me she not only stayed up too late the night before to finish Bound, but that she’d also started rereading it that morning. I might have just about cried with joy at reading that one. Β That’s not the only really sweet comment I’ve gotten from a reader on Bound (and I can’t express how wonderful it is to get those from any and all venues), but I really wanted to share this one. I just- I mean, someone loved it enough to want to dive back into the story right away. Wow. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Full Brain Syndrome

  1. If you spin round much harder we’ll be digging you out of the ground. As you were finishing the list above…(the first book of a quartet, a stand alone novella, a bunch of short stories, and another trilogy forming up. Oh, plus the outline for one novella to write, half an outline for another, not to mention a short story outlined as well ) I was all ready to sing And a Partridge in a Pear Tree. I genuinely admire you for what you can have on your plate at any one time, or in your brain. I think I’d be hiding in a dark cupboard screaming.
    I wish you much success with all the books and much happiness in the making of them. xx

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! I’m definitely blushing now. πŸ™‚

      I do enjoy having a lot on the go. I just think I’m starting to find the limit now to what I can handle before I start rocking in a corner. On a daily basis it doesn’t seem like that much, but when I listed it all out for this post, my one thought afterward was, “Well no wonder I’m on overload.” Lol.

      I appreciate the good wishes. I hope for words and stories and success for you as well. *hugs*

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Full brain seems an understatement!

    Congratulations on your feedback as well. Someone starting to reread straight away must feel fantastic.

    • Julie says:

      Omg, I think I’m still a bit high from that, plus a number of other great comments, like someone almost being late for work because they were reading Bound. πŸ˜€

  3. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Full brain, yes. Tell that to mine. *rolls eyes and stares at list of 20 novels and 20-ish short stories on my “works” list* The difference being, at least you make fast progress on them! XD Anyways, I feel your pain. But it is sort of awesome to have so much going, as well…

    Wow, that IS a great compliment! πŸ˜€

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

