The Proof I Needed

Yay, I just finished revising my short story for the secret project! And by revising, I mean almost total rewrite. Seriously, whole huge sections where I just opened a fresh doc and started writing, not bothering to reference the old text. One of those was 4028 words of rewrite. To put that in context, the whole story is now just 7,087 words, so more than half on that one. πŸ™‚

At least it’s done now. I’m not going to look at it until tomorrow. I’ll do a reread, no comments or edits unless it’s for grammar or spelling and see what I think. After that, I’ll probably ask a couple of people to read it and comment.

Going through this edit has been easier than the last one I did, or the tail end of writing Unmasked, I have to say. And I think I know why. I made the right decision to switch and go back to my original plan to write Spire of Time before working on Masques. I’ve felt happier and more at ease with writing and editing since early January. And, best test of my theory, the ideas have been flowing better. I’ve been having some fairly good ones with Spire and rewrote the first bit of my outline to match something I realized. I’m still a bit scared, but I’m also looking forward to this one too.

I guess this might be a good time to share the name of the first book in the Spire of Time trilogy. It’s tentatively titled What Lies Beneath. As with Necromantic and Masques, I’ve got the title for each book already. It’s kind of exciting have that in a way, sort of like having something to hang the story on as I feel it out.

I’m slowly building the outline for WLB, shaping it and letting the complexities come out as they need to. There’s a fairly major subplot forming up in this one, unusual for me but it explains a number of things in the primary Β plot. I view this as a good thing because subplots should always tie back into the main plot. One should be part of the other, or else why is it there? I’m learning about my secondary characters as well. It’s getting interesting, yet I’m also trying to avoid this getting excessively complicated. The worse that gets, the more likely I am to lose track of threads as I’m writing even the outline. I really don’t want to go through that.

In the meantime, I have a bit of a backlog of my work that needs editing, plus two separate pieces I owe comments on. I have a plan of attack for the last part at least, and a quasi-plan for my own editing. Despite how much I want to write them, the stuff I have outlined already is definitely staying on hold until I’ve gotten some of this editing cleared away (temporarily, because it’s never permanent until you publish). As I said to a friend today, I’m using the stuff I want to write as a carrot, though in truth, I enjoy editing most of the time, so that’s rarely necessary. Mostly I just feel like I have a ton of work to do, but that’s perpetual really, and I prefer it to boredom.

One thing at a time, right? But it’s nice to feel good about things again, instead of frantic and confused, like something was wrong that Β I couldn’t put my finger on. This is much better.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Proof I Needed

  1. quix689 says:

    I’m glad things are flowing better now! Hopefully it stays that way. πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      I hope so too. I miss the groove I was in with Necromantic, but then Devan wasn’t like any other MC I’ve had or have now. That man was insistent and helpful and really wanted his story told. Hell, even the way I ended up with that story was unusual. I need to stop measuring the others against that one.

  2. R. K. MacPherson says:

    I thought this would be more about 100 proof beverages. I feel so misled.

  3. Pete Denton says:

    Well done for finishing the short story. I think it’s great you have names for the three books already. I always think it feels more real when you have a title. Maybe that’s just me, but a title gives me something to hang on to and spurs me on.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. πŸ™‚ And I definitely agree about the title spurring you on. Also, mine always have something to do with the nature of the book, so it helps keep me centered in the story.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Glad to hear your writing’s back on track. I knew you’d get there before too much time passed!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I think other people have far more faith in me not making a mess of things than I do. But then, I know how long I spent making a mess, so I tend to assume I’ll end up back at it. Maybe I should try this faith in myself thing… πŸ˜‰

      • jmmcdowell says:

        It’s hard to do sometimes. Okay, it can always be hard. πŸ˜‰ I have a hard time believing I’ll get things right, but others tell me I often do. Someday, maybe I’ll be able to believe that myself when I start a new undertaking!

        • Julie says:

          I’m trying to accept that this self-doubt is what drives me to reach further and do more. It’s just that too much of it is definitely a bad thing. And yes, I’ve had a number of times where I think what I’ve done can’t be right, then people come back and tell me I did well. I’m always unprepared for that and left dumbstruck.

  5. 4amWriter says:

    It’s hard to see your own progress sometimes. I know on some stressful days that I feel like I’m not doing anything substantial because I didn’t get to write for my preferred 2-hour block. Yet, I have to remember that even thinking about the project counts as working on it. I’m glad you’re feeling better about things!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. And I think part of it, for me, is giving myself credit for what I’ve done, especially in the face of that never ending list of stuff I still need to write and the million other things I need to do. Yet that’s probably the biggest reason I should give myself credit. I think I’m going to have to work on that. πŸ˜‰

  6. Huge fan of this story, and so pleased I got to read it first! I think it’s amazing.

    • Julie says:

      Aww, thank you! πŸ˜€ I’m immoderately glad it turned out well, given I didn’t take much time to think about it beforehand. I usually do.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

