Best Friends Day

I had an interesting thought last night while I was editing away on my novella and my friends in #writeclub were writing up a storm (they did fantastic by the way, broke all sorts of records for writeclub). We have Mothers Day and Fathers Day. As I recall, they’ve got Grandparent’s Day in there somewhere. And of course, there’s Valentines Day to celebrate our significant other. What we don’t have (to the best of my knowledge at least) is a day dedicated to celebrating those wonderful people in our life who are related to you not by blood but by deep friendships. I’m talking about best friends.

Now, I think all people you care about in your life should be celebrated, and not just on one day. But I was thinking about some of my deepest friendships, and the people I have them with. Frankly, I live in awe of these people, and not the least of which is because they chose to be my friend, that they share their time and hearts with me. I think that’s just about the greatest gift one can be given, since time is the thing we have the most limited quantity of, though hearts are pretty much boundless with awesome people. I don’t know what I’d do without these people. They help keep me on the right track when I’m a bit lost, and they’ve talked me off of more than one proverbial ledge, including through late night, near-tearful phone calls. They’re the ones I reach out to when I’m feeling down or just like I’m not up to the challenges I set myself. They’re part of my strength.

And of course, these are the people I catch when they stumble, the ones I celebrate with all my energy when things go well for them. I’ve talked them through more than a few difficult times and would do anything for them. While I wish I lived closer to all of them, so I could hug them every day, I make sure to appreciate them from afar, because I can only imagine how empty my life would be without these people. Certainly, there’d be less laughter, and in at least one case, a lot less quoting of Princess Bride. Trust me, that would be a travesty. 😉

So, I think we need to start up a day just for these people, though we should definitely appreciate them every day. This would not be a gift-giving holiday (unless you want to), but rather a thank-you/card-or-note-giving day. It could even be a day where you just get together with as many of your friends as you can and do something you all enjoy together. Really, it would be a day to revel in those friendships.

Even if this idea never gets a lot of traction, I wanted to throw it out there. Pick it up and use it however you like. It might be neat to try to coordinate a day for that though. Hell, even a twitter campaign would be cool, thanking friends using #bestfriendsday. I’d hope no one would get all angsty about who did and didn’t get thanked by whom. It’s about friendship. It’s not a competition.

All of this said, I’d like to add that this post is dedicated to a lot of people, friends both new and old who add such colour, light and joy to my life that I couldn’t possibly describe it. But most of all, it’s dedicated to the two people I was thinking of when I had this idea. To Em and SJ. You two are definitely the best friends a girl could ask for. Thank you for everything, for every day of our friendship. I miss you so much from across the country. Science needs to hurry up on those teleporters so I can see you both much more often. XOXO

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Best Friends Day

  1. Julie, your friendship is one of the best gifts this life has given me and one I am grateful for every single day!!!

  2. Em says:

    Such a very sweet post, thank you so much! Of course the feeling is mutual. 🙂 I hate that you live so far away (and lately have really been missing the weekly “girls nights” we used to have!) I guess it’s a damn good thing I decided to go say hello to you during our break in that editorial class, eh? xox

    • Julie says:

      Indeed. At least we got one good thing out of that class. Certainly, that teacher was awful. I miss girls night too, especially sitting down at the pub and chatting. xox

  3. Subtlekate says:

    I think the way you friend is the way you do everything in life. With enthusiasm and love.

  4. 4amWriter says:

    That’s a nice post. 🙂

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    I think it’s a great idea. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

