Something to Share

For a number of reasons, this post isn’t about me, other than a couple quick updates. Don’t anyone fall over in shock. I’m not trained in first aid, so if you have a heart attack at the change in our regularly scheduled program, you’re on your own.

First, I’ll get those updates out of the way so I can have your undivided attention.

I’m still banging away at the edit for Through Windows and Hearts, my stand-alone novella. I’m theoretically about a a third of the way done. Why theoretically? Well, because it keeps growing (real shocker there, I know). When I started editing this, it was 17.5k words long. Now, having reached that supposed one-third point, it’s just shy of 21k words. Do you see why I find the mile-markers a bit deceiving? Oh well, they always are with my work, so I’m used to that.

Also, a number of projects are whispering, and I’m diligently taking them down. I’m also making some revision notes for Unmasked. I’m becoming less happy with it the longer I’m away from it, but that might just be me being neurotic. Not a first, won’t be the last time.

So, now that that’s all out of the way, may I have your attention? Is everyone here? You’re all looking? Good.

What I wanted to share with you is actually partly a who. You see, I made a new friend recently on Twitter and he’s quite kickass. Anyone who not only plays old Final Fantasy games but also live-tweets them so I can enjoy them vicariously deserves to be labelled awesome. But it’s more than that. Beau posted a short story on his blog just the day before yesterday and I absolutely had to share it with everyone. It left me breathless, scrolling back to the top to read it again. And again. I want everyone to read it, because it’s elegant and beautiful and poignant and… Well, I’ll let you decide. All I’m going to say is that I am very much looking forward to more of his work in future.

Without further adieu, I present to you all Beau Barnett and his story, Memory Lane. Enjoy. I hope you will, at least as much as I did. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Something to Share

  1. beaubarnett says:

    Oh my gosh, this is almost as awesome as you are ❤

    Thank you thank you thank you!

  2. Em says:

    Lovely story, thanks for sharing it.

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Good story. Thanks for sharing.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    That really packs a punch!

  5. Pete Denton says:

    Good story. Thanks for sharing the link, Julie 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

