Stuck in A Mode

The last couple of days have been ones of good progress, even if everything is moving slower than my patience-challenged brain would like. I’m used to that by this point. I mean, it’s not like I possessed patience and lost it. I think that section of my DNA is just blank. I never had any to begin with.

I finished the revision notes (aka pdf mark-up) for my stand-alone novella, Through Windows and Hearts, and have begun the process of implementing them. That’s not going nearly as fast as I’d like, only I know I’m being ridiculous. I got through 3.2k of the story last night, which should make me happy, especially as that included rewriting whole sections. Very large sections. In fact, this is almost like rewriting the entire thing, there’s so much red in the tracked-changes. That said, it’s better, much better, so far. I’m trying to use that to counsel myself in patience. It’s only sort of working, but that’s better than not working at all. I’m hoping to be done this round on this novella by the end of the week.

As I’m doing this, I’m having to resist a wicked urge to put all my editing on hold and turn back to writing. I think I got sort of stuck in writing mode, to tell you the truth. It’s been hard to get my head back in the editing game, which is unusual for me. I think I know why, because I went through November, December and most of January in one long writing stretch, unbroken by editing, really. I mean, I did NaNo, outlined the novella, outlined Unmasked, wrote the novella and then wrote Unmasked. Then I outlined more stuff. That’s a lot of writing without a break really for anything else. Yes, I do count my outlining under the writing category, because mine are fairly detailed and I’m really writing out the plot of the novel when I do them. That seems like a fair basis to call it writing.

So right now, I’m trying to jump myself out of that mode and back into editing mode, but it’s difficult. I have that outline of Ganson’s novella, Second Thoughts, beckoning me (this is the one from the Mirrors world), and a short story tugging at my mind from Necromantic, not to mention a novella for Devan begging for me to finish the outline I started. We won’t even get into the second book of the Masques quartet, which I’m trying not to think about as I have too much on this plate already.

Really what I need is to bring myself back into balance with these two modes, writing and editing. I used to have that, but last fall and into this winter, it’s gone a little off the rails. If I don’t edit, then I can’t share with readers. I keep reminding myself of that, and it’s slowly working. I’ll get there.

It’s not helping anything at all that I want to try writing a draft in Scrivener, to see how that is. This, of course, would require me to put the editing on hold. Way to have my own desires conspire with each other. Stupid brain, always trying to foil my good intentions.

What does help, though, is that I woke up this morning to a new review on GoodReads for Bound and it was a very lovely review indeed. That’s a nice way to start the day, and it encourages me to do my editing. I need to hang a sign that says “No editing = no readers in love with your work.” That might help. Maybe. Probably.

So, all of that said, I think it’s time for me to drink my coffee, start the laundry and get back to editing. I know someone who’s looking forward to beta reading this one and I don’t want to give her an reason to be cross with me, like oh say dawdling. šŸ˜‰

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stuck in A Mode

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    No, you just need a bigger plate so you can fit it all on. *nods* Sorry, just foolin’ with ya. šŸ˜‰ You have SO much you’re doing! Wow.

    Random, but I just wrote what I’m calling my first “real” short story yesterday, 4.5k, and am unbelievably proud of myself. And I’d never written dragons or world-hopping before so it was different too… It was so fun. šŸ˜€

    • Julie says:

      Fantastic! Congrats on the short story. It’s always good to stretch yourself.

      And what I need are more hours in the day for all these things. Weekends aren’t nearly long enough at the moment.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Thanks! šŸ™‚ I think several other dreams of mine are due for being shortstoryized; I keep a dream journal and it is an invaluable goldmine of story ideas.

        And yes, you do. I always think *I* need more hours, but really compared to you I have allll the time in the world. šŸ˜› You should write a letter to the editor about how there need to be 3-day weekends every week! Yes.

        • Julie says:

          Sadly, editors aren’t my day job boss. He might object, or not pay my full salary. That would be bad :p

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Well yes, but in this scenario EVERYONE would switch to three-day weekends. So there would be no problem there. šŸ˜› Hey, we can day-dream, right? šŸ˜‰

          • Julie says:

            Go ahead and dream. Just don’t forget to keep living with reality (despite the fanciful places our imaginations take us) šŸ™‚

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Yes, reality is very present… But, as mentioned, dreams are useful for writing!

  2. 4amWriter says:

    You? Dawdle? The horror!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

