The Sorrow of an Untold Story

The sound you’re all hearing is be swearing up a storm. I’m sure even the furthest corners of the globe can hear this stream of profanity. What’s the occasion? Another story idea.

All right, at the risk of sounding ungrateful to my inspiration-happy brain, I really didn’t need another one. I have enough. I have, in fact, more story ideas than I think I could write in a lifetime. I hate the idea that I might die one day with stories in me left untold. I hate that idea more than I can explain, though I know it’s almost guaranteed. I’ve been asked before why I push myself so hard, try to get so much done so quickly. You’ve just read the reason. All these stories and they need me to tell them. This may come across as melodramatic, but I feel like I’m their conduit to the world. I know no one will tell the story quite the way I would, even if I handed them my ideas, so it’s down to me to tell the world.

I’m sure that to some, this seems like I’m complaining about something I should be celebrating. I do celebrate, honest. I sit there and bask in the thrill of story pouring through me, both when I have a sparkly new idea and when I’m racing through the outline or first draft. It’s more that, when I look at the volume of ideas waiting their turn, I feel overwhelmed some days. All these stories, virtually none of them single volumes, and I never have enough hours to even try to keep up. Hell, I’m not sure it’s possible for me to keep up, even if I were writing full time.

I wrote this idea down, which sparked off someone’s tweet about things she found sexy. The idea of combining the art of glass-blowing with magic is spiralling out into some stunning possibilities. The main character of this one is slowly making himself known to me. He’s adorable in so many ways. I want to snuggle up with him and give him all my attention. *facepalm*

Anyone know where to find more hours? There’s no way to describe the depth of my gratitude if you can point me in the right direction.

In the meantime, I have a novella to edit. The short story for the secret project is down below the maximum word count and in the drawer until I’m done the first pass on Through Windows and Hearts. Oh, and I’m also outlining the novella I mentioned before in the Mirrors of Bershan world. And damn it, I just had another story idea. Beyond the one that started this post, I mean. GAH!!!!

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Sorrow of an Untold Story

  1. quix689 says:

    I have to admit that a year ago I probably would have been one of those people who didn’t understand why you were complaining about having so many ideas when I had so few. Now, though, I totally get where you’re coming from! I just counted up all my ideas, and I have 22, ranging from the draft that I’ve actually shown another person to the concept that I would like to turn into a story. There’s so much to do, and I’ve been putting this off for far too long.

    So, yeah, I completely understand! And at least I only have 2 ideas that are part of a series. I can’t imagine having every one of my ideas being part of a series. My hat off to you, and I wish you the very best of luck. Try not to go too insane, okay? 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Might I point out that insane is my default state? It’s a DNA thing. Trust me, if you ever met my family, you’d understand. 😉

      And thank you for understanding. It’s nice to not be alone with this problem. You know what’s even worse? Today seems to be idea day. I was doing the laundry after writing this post and had ANOTHER DAMN IDEA! *epic facepalm* And I love them all enough to want to tell them.

      • quix689 says:

        Well then as long as it’s your normal insane and not an insane that prevents you from writing, I guess that’s all right.

        And I did not start laughing at you for getting another idea. No, not at all. 😀

        • Julie says:

          I think that nothing short of death or coma could stop me from writing. And I’m not certain I wouldn’t be writing in my head during a coma. 😉

          Go ahead and laugh. It is kinda funny. But the one about glass-blowing is starting to look seriously awesome. The others are on hold for that.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I’ve been whacked with several ideas this month. I think it’s in the air… Seriously. But I feel your pain. At the moment I have 20 novels and 20 short stories in various stages from brain-child to finished. It’s a love-hate relationship. 😛

    • Julie says:

      I refuse to count mine. I’d start to cry. And maybe it is something in the air, as I’ve seen a number of writers say similar things, that they’ve had a number of new ideas.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I understand that… *hugs* Don’t worry, you’ll do fine, and I’m sure you’ll find a way to get maaaany things written. 🙂

        Maybe it’s the new year… Feeling like starting out with a new slate or something. Or some mystical fairy-dust of inspiration that is just floating about…

        • Julie says:

          *hugs* I think I’m just going to take it one project at a time, one book even if I can, and make notes on the rest. Or at least, that’s my plan for how to deal with this excess of inspiration. 🙂

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Good plan. *thumbs up* I think I need to take a week or two off from writing and recharge. But I just need to FINISH this one first!!

          • Julie says:

            Finishing is kick ass, I have to admit. Usually, the high from that fuels me to the next story/edit/outline.

  3. Arlene says:

    “Anyone know where to find more hours?” … sorry to do this to you, but there’s a story idea right there 😉

    I like the idea of focusing on your current WIP and jotting down notes on the others. At the pace you write, I’m sure you’ll get to most of them, if too all. Good luck!

    • Julie says:

      I’d already done that to myself, so don’t worry. 😉

      Thanks for the compliment, but even at my pace, I’m not keeping up. I tend to have ideas for 3-5 new projects in the time it takes me to write one book. They’re seriously piling up, but I suppose I can live with that. It occurred to me today that it at least leaves me able to pick only the strongest ideas, though I think they could all be strong with some thought. Perhaps I’m biased, because I do want to tell them all.

  4. 4amWriter says:

    My problem too. Ideas are flowing continuously and I want to write them all. I don’t do well working on multiple projects — probably because I mulit-task in every other aspect of my life and I can’t split my attention in my writing. But I do try to jot down the ideas in a notebook for safe keeping. That way they won’t be lost amid all the other ideas.

    Now that I’m over the worst of my writing funk, I’m really getting the ideas coming in. They never stopped, even when I was down and out, but they didn’t flow through me with as much energy as they usually do. Now they’re back. Full force.

    Maybe one day you and I both will be able to spend more time exploring and turning ALL of those ideas into real books. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Yay for being out of the writing funk! *hugs you and passes over hot chocolate* I’m glad to hear that at least the ideas were still flowing. Sometimes I think that’s what keeps the mental pipes from freezing in the wintery mental desolation of a funk, when there’s at least a trickle of ideas going still.

      I can certainly understand you being multi-tasked-out with everything else requiring it at the moment. Maybe it’s good to focus on one thing at a time. It lets you feel like you’re making real progress, instead of being split with only a little bit on each that you forget to add up. I know that I focus on a single writing task at a time myself, because I need to give myself over to the story.

      And I look forward to the days of us both having enough time for all the stories that lurk within us. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

