Community and WriteClub

There’s another one in the drawer. More than a little full now, come to think of it. I need to do something about that…

Yes, I’ve finished the new short story. No, I’m not ready to tell you even the title yet. Just think of it as the Secret Short Story. 🙂 I have to do a lot of editing now, for a number of reasons. First, it’s supposed to be 5-8k words. Currently, it’s 8265. That clearly won’t work, so I have to bring it down. I think I can do that though, without a huge amount of difficulty. I think I’ll actually do that, get it down to 8k before I throw it in the drawer and give it at least a few days to mature.

Once that’s done, I’m diving into the novella. I’m excited to see how that turned out. I think there are going to be parts I need to flesh out a little, but that too is part of editing. I still say that my biggest concern is readers asking for what comes after it, because at the moment, there isn’t really an “after” to that story. No, creative brain, don’t offer me one. Please, for the love of kittens, do NOT offer me a bigger story. I’m begging you, have mercy. 😉

I haven’t decided for sure what will come after that. I should take a pass through one of the two novels in the drawer, but I’ll worry about that after this short is out the door and the novella’s had its pass.

And, of course, me not writing a novel at the moment means that the ideas are getting restless. This time it isn’t Saul (for now), but rather Jacari, from the Queen and the Raven. I’ve felt from the beginning that my plans for the first book of that trilogy were incomplete at best. In the last couple of days, Jacari handed me the rest of that book, whispering ideas and secrets, not to mention ways to set up the other volumes. Oh dear god, it sounds so good that I’m practically begging for more. Great, another project I want to write immediately. Yes, I know that sounds cranky, but it’s just that I want to write everything now and there just isn’t that kind of time. Yet again, I need a time turner, or clones. And not the stupid clones with degraded DNA either. I have standards, you know. 🙂

To wrap up this post, there’s something I wanted to share with everyone and I don’t know why I didn’t before, or why it suddenly seemed important last night, but here it is. A few of my Twitter friends run something really awesome on Friday nights called WriteClub. It runs off the hashtag #writeclub and basically it’s a bunch of writers doing word sprints together, usually for 30 minutes at a time, with 15 minute breaks between. Some people write, others edit, and I’ve seen outlining done in it too. Really, it’s just about getting down to doing whatever you need to and not feeling alone in it. @FriNightWrites is the account to follow for this because the timing for the sprints (not to mention a lot of encouragement) gets called out from it, on Fridays at least. What started out as a realization that a lot of writers spend Friday night at home has become a fabulous little community event. I’ve seen the #writeclub hashtag used on other days of the week too, often by people looking for someone to sprint with. Really, it’s wonderful and sort of embodies the thing I love best about Twitter, the community of writers. The way people come together and help each other, even it it’s just encouragement or sympathy, is absolutely amazing, quite touching. If you’re on Twitter, I encourage you to check it out. You can join when you like and only go for as long as you want or have time for. If you’re not on Twitter and you think it’s just about promos and such, think about this example of when it isn’t. Twitter really is what you make of it, partly by who you follow and how you interact with others. Don’t let what other people use it for discourage you from trying it out. That community is a fabulous thing, especially when you need a pick-me-up after a bad day or a rejection.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Community and WriteClub

  1. Em says:

    I adore #writeclub. In fact, I’ve told one of my friends that she needs to get a twitter account for that reason specifically, even if that’s the only time she ever goes onto it.

    • Julie says:

      Lol, I can think of a number of people I’d suggest that to. Even beyond #writeclub though, there are so many wonderful, helpful writers on Twitter that you’re never without friends there, if you’re willing to interact with others.

  2. Cool idea. I’ve been writing for several years now but generally have lacked community. I’m inspired and impressed with the amount of connections writers can form on this site and others. Look forward to hearing more about your work-in-progress.

    • Julie says:

      Welcome! There are usually several WIPs for me, depending on how you define the term, but I promise you’ll hear about them all as time goes on. And you’re right, the community of writers here on WordPress is also amazing. That’s one of the great things about the internet, the way it can connect us to friends we’d never meet otherwise. 🙂

  3. Hooray for #WriteClub! It helped me hit a recent record word count last night. For some reason, it just works. I feel like I have to keep going, and can’t let myself me distracted. All those other writers are counting on me! 😀

    We hit an all time record last night, too, with over 58k written by more than 40 writers. Nothing beats a little encouragement.

    • Julie says:

      Lol, I think you’ve done a good job of listing the reasons it works. I think even knowing there’s a deadline helps. I do 30 minute word sprints on my own with my phone’s timer when I’m writing a novel, and that works just as well. And my best day ever for word count was, as I recall, a friday where I just kept sprinting, even before and after #writeclub. I keep using it because I noticed it worked so well for me in #writeclub.

      I did see mention of the 58k and was so proud of us all (I joined for 3 of the sprints). It’s really fantastic to see us all come together and work, not to mention all the encouragement that goes on when everyone reports at the end of the sprint.

  4. wordsurfer says:

    Thanks for the tip, I’ll check it out, although I usually feel *slightly* overwhelmed by twitter, but this sounds worth it. 🙂

  5. Pingback: All Writeclub, All The Time | Word Flows

  6. Pingback: Finally off to a decent start | Writer in Progress

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

