The Secret Project

It’s been a good couple of days for me. Things are coming together, despite Cayle’s insistence on trying to feed me the next book. Yes, he’s still at it. Worse, he’s not alone. They all pounce every time I finish a book, I swear. They’re no longer waiting until the end of a project to start whispering. Impatient buggers, all of them. And how I love them all.

The short story is well under way now. I did the outline a couple of days ago, then reviewed it yesterday. It was in good shape and I was feeling confident, so I got started on it. At 2,074 words, I think I can safely say I had a good night. I’m about to start writing for the day, looking forward to how this evolves. It’s an interesting story and a change of pace for me in so many ways, adding to the challenge. This one isn’t related to any of my projects, and it’s urban fantasy, where I normally deal in straight fantasy. That said, maybe it’s good preparation for Ashes and Angels, which is definitely Urban Fantasy. In any case, I’m kind of having fun with it, knowing I don’t have to fit it into another larger story or have to build something else around it. At the same time, not having that world I usually build up as part of building the novels is a bit of a challenge. The novella I did last December was kind of like that too, come to think of it, but that had it’s own unique challenges. I don’t think I had a chance to think about this side of writing that story, not at the time at least.

In any case, I’m glad it’s off to a good start, as this one has an actual deadline of sorts. It’s for a nice little project I was invited to participate in. I’m looking forward to seeing that one come together and I’m working with some fantastic other writers. You’ll hear a bit more about this project when it’s closer to time, but it’s something I’m so thrilled to have been invited into. πŸ™‚

I’m hoping to have this story done by the end of the weekend, if all goes well. As it’s targeting the 5-8k range, that shouldn’t be a problem. After that? The first round of edits on the novella, Through Windows and Hearts. I’m not sure if I’ll throw it back in the drawer or send it out to a couple of test readers once that’s done. I suppose it’ll depend on what I think once I’ve finished that round.

All that should be enough to keep me busy and out of trouble for the next couple of weeks, I hope. There are so many fronts I’m trying to behave myself on that it’s amazing sometimes I can manage any of it. The good news is that I came home from work to find a nice review of Bound. I love it when someone calls my work addictive. πŸ˜€

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Secret Project

  1. Pete Denton says:

    I think its a good idea to step away from your other writing and do something different. It’ll be good due the changing length of a short story and I’m sure it’ll benefit your other work.

    You might have mentioned this before, but have you thought about releasing a collection of short stories? Some readers might be more likely to pick up a collection of shorts and find your work that way. I know I’ve read a few anthologies and thought, hmm need to find out more about this writer!

    • Julie says:

      I have tossed around the idea of releasing a collection of them, probably call it The Origins or something like that, as the shorts so far all precede the novels. At the moment, there just isn’t enough of them to make a decent sized collection. Possibly after the novella is finished and polished, I’ll look at the total word count of all my shorts. It’s certainly in my mind to get those works out there somehow though. πŸ™‚

      • Pete Denton says:

        Part of my plan is/was to release a book of short stories before publishing the novel. If only I had all the short stories written πŸ™‚

        The Origins sounds good. And, if they precede the novels then a good taster for the reader. πŸ™‚

        • Julie says:

          Definitely. I think there’s one more novella I want to write before I send that out though, as it’s another Origin story in the Mirrors world. We’ll see. I have a fairly good idea what it will contain, so maybe I’ll outline it in the next week or so, see what sort of length it’ll be.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    I love the idea of working with other writers and working toward an anthology or a collection of sorts. I seem to be hearing a lot about those projects around blogosphere.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, I’ve seen a lot of talk about that. I would guess it’s a great way to combine audiences, to try to reach new ones as well. Besides, when we were all talking about what we wanted to do with the base idea, it was so exciting. I think we had a string of like 70+ emails going around that morning between the whole group. πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

