Giving Myself Permission

I’m still struggling some with this same section of Unmasked. I have a better idea where it’s going and what I need to do. I’m working on reshaping it, but the work is going slower than I like. I know part of the problem, which is my usual impatience, and the rest of it is that I’m used to doing everything at a fast pace. I need to learn patience, but I suspect that’s sort of a rest-of-my-life quest. In the meantime, I’m trying something else that I need to work on, so I don’t force the writing or drive myself crazy(er). 😉

Confession time. I’ve hardly done anything beyond writing for over a year. I mean there’s been a couple of books I read, and a couple of trips to visit family and friends, but that’s about it. So I’ve spent this weekend watching the first few seasons of Fringe (I have the blu-rays) and surfing. I’ve made notes, written a few hundred words here and there, which I think I’ll have to throw out again, and tried to let myself have a couple of days of taking it easy. It’s been hard work. I wish I meant that sarcastically. I really do mean it though. Kicking back and not screaming at myself that I should be writing has become incredibly hard for me. I want to be writing, but I think I’ll just keep making more words I have to throw out if I don’t let my brain wander a bit. So I’m trying. Today should be a bit easier, as I have my usual chores, and then I’ll be back to watching Fringe and taking some notes. At least that is resulting in some progress. I think an attempt to fully stop would result in a rebellious need to start another project, if only to write something. That would be bad. Trust me.

There’s a reason I refer to myself as a writing addict, after all. 😉

I know it’s good to step away from time to time, honestly, I do, but until now I didn’t feel the need to and I’m really not quite sure what to do with myself now that I do need to. I’ll figure it out though.

Centered On Spring

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Giving Myself Permission

  1. You’ll figure it out. You’re ceative.

  2. wordsurfer says:

    How about leaving the house for the day? Then you can’t write. Do something fun and relaxing where you’re away from temptation. Visit friends or go to the swimming pool or check out a nice museum if it’s too cold or unfriendly to be outside for long. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      The problem is that I don’t really have local friends I could visit. Besides, I’d just take the laptop (I know me, I always have something to write with). I’ll make it through though. I think this is just a skill I need to learn, not to drive myself quite so hard. Time and practice, really, that’s what I need.

  3. quix689 says:

    I definitely think it’s important to take a break every now and then. You’ve been working so hard – it’s good to sit back and have some non-writing fun once in a while. 😀

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’m trying. I just find it hilarious that trying to relax has become such work for me. That just seems wrong. I’ll get this balance thing figured out one of these days. 😉

  4. Phoenix says:

    I wish I had that problem! I’m trying to get back into writing regularly after a few years of not taking the time.

    But joking aside, either extreme isn’t good. Too little writing and you’ll be frustrated, too much writing and you might feel burned out. It’s good to take a break now and then to get your creative juices flowing again.

    • Julie says:

      True. I always try to find the middle path, even if I’m not that good at it all the time.

      I wish you luck in getting back into the writing groove. Remember, even a little bit every day is good. 🙂

  5. Have you temporarily lost direction? I’ve hit a wall at the moment with my sequel because I’ve ‘used up’ the ‘easy’ beginning and now I’m fumbling for what happens next and in what order. Some outlining is called for before I can move forward. Are we in a similar situation?

    • Julie says:

      It was more that I had a deviation from the outline that started out small and got bigger. I made it through, it was just slow going as i figures out the effects of that deviation. I’m back on track now though and suspect I’ll be done in less than a week. 🙂

      I hope you manage to get back on track yourself soon.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

