Almost There, Maybe

Cayle seems to think his job in my life is to surprise me, to take the story partially out of my hands, then twist it until he’s happy with what’s there. I’d be upset with that except that it feels a bit like when Tavis made me rewrite half the outline for Bound, and that worked out splendidly. When I go back to edit Unmasked in the future, I think I’m going to look at the last few sections I’ve written and paraphrase myself. It’s going to be a case of Cayle is always right. I can live with this, which is a good thing for my Illusionist.  That said, a fictional character should not feel so smug in my head about this situation. It’s impolite, at the very least. 😉

So yes, things continue to go well. I’m getting close to the end of this book, looking ahead a bit to what I need to set up, both for the final confrontation and the next book. I’m looking forward to being finished this, in a good way, because I think I’ll be fairly satisfied with the way it’s worked out. Then, of course, I need to start making serious notes for Book 2 of Masques, and I have a number of things I need to get edited. I may have to sit on Cayle and make him give me time to do that editing. He wasn’t very willing to do so in December. Eager guy, I’m telling you.

Being back to my day job since Wednesday has brought my productivity down a bit, but not quite as much as I’d expected. I’m now up to 92,464 words on Unmasked as of the end of last night. It was a good night too, 6205 words written and some interesting work done. Cayle has thoroughly derailed my plans for the chapter I’m in the middle of and I love him for it, as I said above. He’s reminded me why I firmly refuse to let my outline act as a shackle. It’s a guide, capable of bending to better ideas or necessary changes. Cayle’s plans are better than mine were, and will still bring him to the place I need him to be at, just as a stronger and better person, set up to carry on through the next phase of this book, but also into the next one. He’s cooperative when I get it right, it seems, and insistent when I don’t. I can live with that. I certainly owe him, what with everything I’m doing to him. He’s remarkably understanding about it all, honest. No one I’m making suffer this much should be so sweet about it.

The thing is, with the derailing he’s doing, I’m really not sure how much I have left to write in this book. I think it’s somewhere in the 20-25k range, but I would seriously suggest taking that with a large grain of salt. If he derails something else, it might get longer. Shorter is also possible, but so far, every time he’s decided things need to be different, it’s made things longer, so I think that trend will continue. I’m not complaining about that either, mind you. The story takes however long it needs to be told properly. I’m more amused than anything else.

So, another day left in the weekend, more words on deck for me today (plus chores because that’s Sundays for me). The first weekend of the new year is going well so far. 🙂  How about everyone else?

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Almost There, Maybe

  1. wordsurfer says:

    Somehow, time is flying again. I can’t believe we’re a week into 2013 already. Where did the time go???
    Great that things continue to go well for you and Cayle.

  2. Julie and Cayle – the perfect pantsing couple! It’s always wise to listen when the character takes the helm…you just have to remember that you have the choice of complying or ignoring him. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, the writing gets difficult if I don’t listen. The problem is that I’m a plotter. As long as its not a regular thing, I can deal with small sections of pantsing. Too much and I run into issues that I have to stop and plan through.

  3. I’m the opposite – a confirmed pantser, but I’ve learned to construct a rough framework of how I want the story to run. The characters are free to roam around within the framework, and I watch them closely through my telescopic sights. Anything beyond natural deviations and BLAM – I give them both barrels of…my…er…snipers…shotgun?
    Curses – didn’t plot that properly.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

