Christmas Cheer

I wish I could say I’m surprised to be writing a blog post on Christmas Day. I wish I could imagine any of you being surprised at the idea for me. I can’t, on either count.  I’m not even remotely surprised to be writing today. First, with my family all far away, what else would I be doing today? Second, I know I couldn’t resist Cayle. As of yesterday (or maybe the day before), my masked Illusionist owns me.

Yes, that means things are back to going well. I’ve found his true voice, and the story is flowing well.  I suspect the first couple of chapters will, when I’m done this, need some major editing at least, possibly total rewriting, but for now, I’m moving forward. As of this blog post, I’m now 23.5k into the story. I know I’m getting dialled into this story because I wrote 4.5k day before yesterday and 5.1k yesterday. Let’s see how today goes. I have a fairly good feeling, but I’ll have to see where I am when I finish the current scene. It’s a bit of a mentally all-consuming one. I love writing those, because I get so deep in the story. Of course, this is also the same sort of scene most likely to make me forget to eat, but that’s okay. I can live with it.

I feel like I got my Christmas present from Cayle, finding the right door into this story. 😀

In writing this morning though, I found something interesting that I wanted to share, if for no other reason than that I can’t be the only one to have wanted something like this. I found a color thesaurus. I’m sure we’ve all needed that one. Hands up if you’ve ever been writing and said to yourself, “I can’t use (insert commonly used color name) again in this chapter. It’s already too much of that.” Wow, that’s a lot of hands. It’s even worse if it’s a color that isn’t commonly used, or the name is one of those big, brassy, noticeable ones, like turquoise. So I googled “color thesaurus,” not expecting much but feeling the need for one, and it popped up. I don’t know why HP has one on their site and I don’t care. It’s wonderful, whatever the reason.

That’s all I have for today. Cayle beckons and I might take some time today to chill with some gaming as well.  We’ll see. 😉

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Cheer

  1. Peggy Isaacs says:

    “finding the right door into this story.” – love that. 🙂

    Merry Christmas!

  2. wordsurfer says:

    The colour thesaurus is fun – who knew that the opposite of “rusty brown” is “easter green”? Or, come to think of it, that “easter green” is actually a colour? 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

