Finding The Current Flow

Things with Cayle are, well, it’s my version of creeping along. He’s still not being anywhere near as cooperative as Devan was, but he is coming around slowly. I’ll take it. He and I have a long way to go together anyway. Maybe this is more like an extended courtship than love at first sight? God knows, I loved Devan from the moment he introduced himself, but a courtship makes for a nice change of pace too.  Each character is their own and I have to remember that some days.

Creeping along, by the way, isn’t too bad. I’m not done for the day yet, but I just passed through 15k, which is good.  Did I mention that I’m still early in Chapter 4? These are turning into long chapters, but I’ve also written longer, so I’m not complaining.

I am, however, trying to retain some sort of zen about having days that generally stick in the 2.5k range. I know many writers who would love to put that much in, and there was a time (oh, say about a year ago) that I would have been happy with it as well. And the I wrote Necromantic. It’s really hard to go from averaging 4k/day (or so) over the course of 20-28 days to scrapping by at a bit over half that. I’m working on it though. I’ve had to do some refining of parts I’d already completed, and I suspect that technically I’ve written more today than I’m aware of, because I had to rewrite part of the chapter I did yesterday, to provide more character growth and smooth the journey for Cayle. It was worth it, as I’m much happier with what I have now and it sets things up a bit better for later.

I know, I normally don’t edit while I’m writing, but I’ve learned that there’s a certain feel to things when they’re going a bit off the rails and I need to. I’ve been there with a number of things and I remember going through it once when I was close to the end of Possession. As that book turned out well in the end, I’m going to be philosophical about having to do it this time around.  As long as I’m making progress in the end, I’m content with the flow of things.

What’s been interesting is that, in order to match things up, I’ve ended up going back and rereading Secret Birthday, Cayle’s short story. I did a small bit of editing, but not much, since that wasn’t the point. I have to say, I like it. I need to sit down and focus on editing it, but I really like it. That one turned out better than I’d hoped, really. It moves well. That always makes me happy.

I’m not sure if I’m going to be posting again between now and Christmas, so if I don’t, have a happy holiday. My best wishes to you and yours.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding The Current Flow

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Happy holidays to you, too, and I’m curious what your word count for 2012 just might be…. 😉

    • Julie says:

      That depends on what’s included and how we’re counting. Editing’s always hard to account for, of course.

      If we’re just talking current word count as of today for everything I’ve written over the course of the year, manuscripts only, 566,000 words, give or take a few. That doesn’t include those 10k outlines either, nor any version of Bound, since I wrote that last year. Nothing for blogs or notes or any of that. That’s straight out drafts. 😮

      Wow. Um, looking at that and knowing all the other work that I’ve done that isn’t in that figure, why am I kicking myself for not writing enough while I’m on vacation?

      Thank you for remind me to get some perspective. Excellent Christmas present, JM. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

