My Next Big Thing – Possession

R.K. MacPherson at Raven’s Nest has kindly tagged me as part of The Next Big Thing. I’ve done this a few times, and I find it’s a great way to get people, myself and others, to talk about their book. I also view it as a chance to polish my interview skills, you know, just in case my career as a writer really takes off. 😉

If you haven’t checked out R.K.’s blog, where he’s teased his WIP *and* has two books already available for your enjoyment, I highly suggest you do so now.

1. What is the working title  of your next book?

I think that Bound (Book 1 of the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy) has been out long enough that I can start to talk about book 2, Possession. A little at least, as I don’t want to spoil everything for those who haven’t read it yet.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

While writing Bound, it became clear to me fairly early on that there was a bigger story going on, which meant that there had to be a sequel (and a third book as it turned out). Possession is that book.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Adult Fantasy.

4. What actors would you  choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

As with Bound, I’ve never really thought of it. I don’t think it’s possible to make a movie version of the trilogy, for a number of reasons, so I put it pretty firmly out of my mind early on. No, I’ve never even cast the characters using pictures of actors from the internet.

5. What is the one-sentence  synopsis of your book?

Having bound themselves to each other as Magicia, Faylanna and Tavis explore their relationship and discover together secrets about themselves they never suspect but which might tear them apart.

6. Will your book be  self-published or represented by an agency?

As with Bound, Possession will be self-published, in both ebook and paperback formats.

7. How long did it take you  to write the first draft of the manuscript?

23 days, with the usual month of preparation beforehand. I basically did my own private NaNoWriMo for it.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Well, a reviewer said of Bound that it was similar in content to Carol Berg’s Collegia Magica series.  That was an amazing thing to hear, as she’s my favorite author. Given this is a continuation of that story, I guess I’ll go with that and try not to let it go to my head. 😉

9. Who or what inspired you  to write this book?

The characters, the story itself in Bound. As I said, I knew there was more, and that it needed to be told. I’m never inspired to write a book by actual people I know in real life. Sadly, no one I know can do magic and I can’t write without it.

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

For those of you who liked Tavis in Bound (and I know there are more than a few), you’ll be perhaps delighted to hear that he becomes a Point of View character. This story and the final volume of the trilogy are both told as dual PoV with both Fay and Tavis.  Each of them have secrets that are revealed in this book and I found that the only way to fully tell the story was to write it with both of them telling it.  Yes, I was more than a little happy to be so close to Tavis, but that’s not the point. 😉

Now, this is where I’m supposed to tag other writers, but everyone I know has done this recently, so I’m going to cheat. I know, you’re all so shocked at that. 😉 What I’m going to say is that anyone who reads this and hasn’t been part of the Next Big Thing but would like to, please do. Feel free to come back and link to your entry in the comments when you post it, which is supposed to be a week after this entry goes up. If you feel a bit nervous about doing so, that’s only a bigger reason to do it. I’ve learned in the last year that more people want to know what you’re working on than you’d suspect, so learn to share. Call it practice promotion, if you like.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

