Oh Look, A Finish Line

I came, I saw, I admired Cayle, I kicked the outline’s ass.

Or maybe it kicked my ass.  I’m still not sure. It’s officially the longest outline I’ve ever done, clocking in at 16,600 words.  Not even kidding about that.  I’m seriously hoping (praying) that it’s not my usual factor of difference between the outline and the first draft of the novel. Most of the time, the novel turns out to be approximately ten times as long as the outline.  I have my doubts here on this being at 166,000 word behemoth (okay, that’s only a behemoth to me, but still), yet Cayle seems to be happiest when he surprises me and is dragging me along in his wake. That he’s proven right so far (much like Devan and Tavis, so I’m seeing a pattern), is totally not the point. Even if it is the point, I don’t want to hear it. I’ll just see where my masked Illusionist leads me. The outline is looking… very interesting. Yes, that means I want to start writing it now, like always, but I need to let it sit, then reread and tweak as needed before I start writing. Really, Cayle, I do need to do that, it’s for your own good, stop begging, please, I’m begging you. 😉

My current plan is to start writing on the 14th or 15th (aka whenever my patience and other stuff runs out) sort of like last year. On both those counts. I’m off work from December 20th until January 1st, so that should get me plenty of writing time, with some time to get my head thoroughly into it before I’m on vacation and practically living in Cayle’s world. I won’t lie, I’m rather looking forward to wrapping myself up in his world and story. I do remember doing that with Tavis last year and it was a fun time.  I’ll almost certainly set myself the usual 30-day, 60k goal and do my own mini-NaNo, but I suspect that, like last year, it won’t take that long with me writing full time for that much of the 30 days. 😀

In the meantime, I think I’ll probably finish that out loud edit of Where The Ether Flows and send it off for feedback to a couple of new friends who’ve volunteered to beta for Devan. That should keep me busy for a few days or so, and then I’ll have Cayle to keep me from pestering these very nice people while they read Ether Flows. Remember, me of virtually no patience and insufficient ego to stave off doubt, so I have to substitute in other work to get the same net effect.  At least I’m trying, right? 😉

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Look, A Finish Line

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Of course, you don’t need me to tell you this, but enjoy that long break! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, as long as I can enjoy it with writing, I’ll be fine. My coworkers think I’m crazy, that I’m planning to write my way through that holiday. I can’t get them to understand that writing never feels like real work to me. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

