The Cycle Begins Again

I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m having a productive weekend, though I am actually taking it a little easy since it’s post-NaNoWriMo and my brain deserves a bit of break, even if Cayle doesn’t agree. I don’t think he’s ever going to want to take it easy on me. I forgive him. 😉

The outline for Unmasked is going well, almost 6,000 words long as of this blog post.  I’m not done, not even sure what it’s going to be for length when it is done. I suspect I’ll be in the 10k range again.  A lot going on and I’m fairly certain that I’m going to be going back through and layering one or two things in before I start writing this one.  Despite doing a bit of gaming to give my brain short breaks, I seem to just about eat, sleep and breathe Cayle at the moment. I’ve even found him in my dreams. I think he’s actually more insistent even than Devan was, which takes doing. But this story is so full of promise if I can write it well enough (note to self, that’s what editing is for, so don’t sweat it on the first draft), even if it’s going to require me to walk a careful line on a specific element of the plot, lest it overpower all the others. Cayle is not helping with this balance, but I love him anyway.  Besides, as I said to a friend in a text on the subject this morning, why write the next book if you’re not going to challenge yourself in some way with it?

On other fronts, I’m trying to be good and not be obnoxious in promoting Bound everywhere, both here and on Twitter. As I only use Facebook for personal stuff, I’m not promoting it there. My family and friends already know, and I don’t want to be *that* person, the one you regret knowing because they’re constantly pushing their book at you.  I’m trying (and failing) to not check the sales numbers every day.  I’m also trying (and managing) to avoid getting neurotic about what those numbers are or might mean. It’s only been two weeks since Bound launched and I’ve been tied up in NaNo and besides, I’m in this for the long haul. It’s a career I’m building not a single book (another note to self, repeat this every time you check the numbers). 🙂

For those wondering about the print edition, and I know there are more than a few, I’m waiting on the proof, which I hope will be here this coming week.  Assuming there aren’t any problems (I hope there aren’t), I’ll be able to set it up for sale that day.  I will definitely announce that, both here and elsewhere.

And, a final news item in this writer’s life, I’m going to go through one final round of editing with Where The Ether Flows (as soon as I get my brain back from Cayle), and then I’m passing Devan over to a couple of test readers to see what they make of my Necromancer and if I managed to achieve anything I was trying to.  I seem to recall being terribly uncertain of that while in the middle of the last pass through manuscript. I’d be more worried about that if I didn’t remember that same damned feeling with Bound just before I sent it for the first round of test reading. I was then told it was much better than I thought. So I’m holding on to the idea that it’s probably not as bad as I believe it is as a way of keeping from freaking out. Everything I’ve ever seen tells me this is entirely normal for writers. It’s part of why people think we’re crazy (that and the imaginary people we keep in our heads). 😀

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cycle Begins Again

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    I suspect your test readers will have similar comments as they did on Bound that will show you’re on the right track. I’m guessing you should have some extra days off this month that Cayle will enjoy?!

    • Julie says:

      Almost two weeks off at the end. Yeah, I suspect that will be my time to write Unmasked. Because I’m crazy like that, you know. And I hope you’re right abound Ether Flows. Still nervous.

  2. An author and a gamer, it can’t get much better than that.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

