The Illusion Begins to Unfurl

So here we are, the final days of NaNoWriMo 2012 and what am I doing? Starting on my next book, of course. I warned you all I couldn’t be expected to wait to start with Cayle. No days off for this writer. Neither he nor I are patient enough for that. I want to write Masques so badly that I cannot even describe it to you.

So, of course, new book in progress means that there needs to be a title reveal or this will get confusing fast.  With that in mind, Book 1 of the Masques quartet is going to be called… *drumroll* Unmasked.  You’ll note that a page has been added for this quartet already.  Fair warning right now, I fully expect the title of the series to change by the time I finish.  Of course, I expected that of Necromantic and yet it’s remained that all the way through, so I might be wrong about Masques in that regard too.

A few things to note. Cayle is, as I’ve alluded to before, my main character in this. He’s a very interesting guy, I’m telling you (and not just because he’s, well, HOT). For one thing, he’s an illusionist and an actor. Those skills go hand in hand in several respects, the first being more important to and dominant within him.  Second, Cayle ALWAYS wears a mask, as does everyone else in his echelon of society.  Think venetian masks.  When I say always, I mean it. Every second, even asleep.  It’s been like this for decades in the city where he lives and he’s done so personally since he was a small child.

I may use the need for regular reminding of what the masks look like as an excuse to buy a few similar styled masks and mount them on my wall.  The fact that I’ve always wanted to own such lovely works is entirely not the point, even if you think it is. 😉

So, now that I’ve introduced you to Cayle (I’ll be talking a lot about him for the next several months, so it seemed you should get to know each other), I suppose I’ll let you know where he and I are. Right in the thick of it. Oh yes. As I said in my last post, the day after I wrote “The End” on STW and Devan’s trilogy, Cayle proceeded to dump everything into my brain. I in turn brain dumped into my notes. I now have headers and prompts for about the first half of my outline. I’ve also begun filling those in now, shaping the story and seeing it start to unfold, plots and subplots and characters who don’t like each other and others who long for things they can’t have.

I think I’m going to have a problem when I start writing this. I’m going to forget to consume even those few meals I manage now. Oh my god, I think this is going to be awesome. I’m seeing things spring up that I would never have expected when I first had this idea spark in my brain. There are gaps in the world, ones that I didn’t realize until outlining made me see them, that are suddenly filling themselves in within my brain with good answers even.  I mean… Wow.

By the way, I think there’s going to need to be two line items added to the budget of things that have to be covered if I want to write full time. First, I clearly need to hire someone to clean the house. Second, I will require an assistant. Their job? To remind me to eat. And sleep. And do something other than try to eat/sleep/breathe words. I don’t think I’ll remember on my own.

And yes, I am rather excited about Masques and Cayle. Could you tell?

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Illusion Begins to Unfurl

  1. Em says:

    Sounds good. My parents brought me back two gorgeous theatre masks from the states last year and we’re just trying to find a good place to display them.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    😮 You’re not serious! …*sigh* I guess you are. Not quite as bad as I thought though, reading that first paragraph: I thought at first that you had started the ACTUAL writing. But no, you have to plot first. Whew. 😉 And hey, shouldn’t the last one be called Unmasked instead? 😀

    I wish you luck on your Cayle project, though I have a feeling you will not need it for him but only, as you said, for remembering to eat and breathe and stuff… I may have to become your official reminder and send you a message every day reminding you. XD Seriously though, I’m glad it’s looking to be so awesome! Nothing like writing fun books we love.

    Well, off to try to win NaNo. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I know you’ll win, looking forward to seeing your purple bar.

      And of course I’m serious. I suspect I’ll be done the outline by the end of the weekend at this rate. 😀

      Maybe I should put meal reminders in my calendar.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Thanks. 🙂 I really should be off…

        *facepalm* Yes, I know. And I seriously would not be surprised if you were done writing Unmasked before the year is out. I don’t think anything you do will be able to surprise me anymore. 😉 (now watch as I am forced to eat my words one of these days…)

        Better yet, set an alarm on your phone or something. 😀

        • Julie says:

          Hope you’re having a good time writing. I realized I didn’t mention before, but there’s a good reason book 1 is called Unmasked. You’ll understand one day 😉

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            YES! Just finished! 😀 The story’s not done (no wayyy… Lots left) but I hit 50! So happy!!!

            And yes, you always do things for a reason so I’m sure there’s a reason why it’s called that. 😉

          • Julie says:

            Congrats!!!! Are you going to keep writing? I mean, you can do it at a saner pace if you want, but you should definitely keep going. Momentum is a big part of this…

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Thanks. 🙂 And yes, I’m going to keep writing but not on my NaNo at the moment. I’m going to go back to the novel I was working on before November, but I do plan to return to my NaNo come New Year. 😀

          • Julie says:

            It’s up to you if you want to do that, but now you have momentum on your NaNo project, and the importance of that cannot be underestimated. It would be a shame to lose that. 🙂

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Yeah… I know. But I’d been planning on this and I REALLY want to finish it before the end of the year! Besides which I decided it would be better to take a break on my NaNo while I still know what happens next instead of when I hit a brick wall; because if I did that then I might not return for a verrry long time, which would be sad…

          • Julie says:

            Fair enough. That sounds like a thought out plan at least. 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    This IS going to be awesome!! I’m so excited to watch you develop another series. Please remember to take care of yourself!

    • Julie says:

      Um, I promise to try to remember. I make no guarantee regarding results. I did manage to eat today, so we’re off to a good start. 😀

      Thank you for your enthusiasm. It’s always wonderful when people share mine, even though you don’t know that much about what I’m working on (I know how much I hold the details close). I take these kinds of comments and think of them on the days where nothing seems to work or my confidence that I can do this falters. It helps me push through those days.

      • Kate says:

        Of course! When you talk about your work with such fervor, it’s hard not to look forward to updates of your progress.

        May I ask how you already know it’s a quartet? I’m just curious about how far ahead you plan :).

        • Julie says:

          Generally, when I have an idea for a story, I don’t assume it’s a singe book. Instead, I think about what the broad phases of the story are. From there, I look at how big those movements are. If they’re big enough to support it, they become a book. It’s funny, originally I thought Masques was a trilogy, then I realized I’d missed a broad movement, a fourth book. So it became a quartet. I don’t know the detailed events of the other three yet, but I have the basis of them, the general theme and the title for each of them (the title being related to that theme). Both of my now-written trilogies were the same way. As I said though, the details of the individual books I won’t know until it’s time to deal with them and outline/write them. This way, though, I know what I’m building toward as this book progresses.

          • Kate says:

            Excellent! I like that you have such a broad development. When my friend and I started writing our books, we didn’t know how many there would be, or even what the end point was. It caused its share of problems, which we either managed to avoid by luck or now have to fix. We’re happy to know the basic stories of each of the books now, so we can build up to it, as you said.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

