The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Pete Denton gave me the nod for the Next Big Thing Blog Hop. I suspect many of you have seen this as it’s been sweeping around the blogosphere.  I think it’s a really neat thing to do. Part of what’s nice is that it gets us to meet each other, and it also makes us work on talking about our books. It’s a skill I’m working on myself, and I’ve heard so many writers say that they freeze up when asked to do this.

Here’s how it works:

If I tag you, use this format for your post
. Include an introduction to your interview post and a link to the person who tagged you for participation.
 Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress). Include some pictures if possible.
 Tag five other writers/bloggers by sending them an email and then add their links to the end of your interview post. Their answers should go up the week after. The blog post should be labelled:
 The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

1. What is the working title of your book?

For this, I’m going to talk about the first book of my Necromantic trilogy, Where The Ether Flows.  Yes, it’s Devan’s turn.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I was on the NaNoWriMo forums in January (because I go there all year round to lurk) and there was a discussion about Necromancers. People seemed to agree that they made good villains or antiheroes.  I asked myself if I could make one who was a hero, a genuinely good guy. I swear, I heard my creative brain say “Challenge accepted.”  A few days later, I had this amazing image that’s basically the start of the novel, which is how Devan introduced himself.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Fantasy, for sure.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I haven’t thought too much about that. I don’t tend to, as I’m writing a book, not a movie. Besides, I like to leave some aspects of my characters’ appearances up to their imagination.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Wanting nothing more than to be left alone with his grief, Necromancer Devan Endorus shuns his family entirely, but they won’t be denied their desire to have him return home, even as a woman he just met insists on following him for purposes he can only guess at.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

While I never say never, the chances are this one will be self-published, as my debut novel Bound was just recently.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Wow.  I just checked my records (thanks to NaNoWriMo, I’m a writing metrics junkie) and it apparently only took me 20 days to write the first draft.  There were a couple weeks of serious prep work before that with the outline, and months of slowly making notes as things came to me, but yeah, 20 days from when I put down the first word.  It was my June Camp NaNoWriMo novel, actually.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

You know, I can’t say that I know of any.  I’ve read a fair bit in my genre (since I was a kid), but never found anything quite like this one. That’s a good thing, though, isn’t it?

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My writing is rarely inspired by a person, but as I said, in this case, it was an ongoing forum discussion that started the wheels turning.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I promise there’s nothing icky like raising the dead, honest. I tend to describe Devan as the guy who “talks to dead people”. Also, it was interesting the way the world and society viewed the stages of death and life after that. I always knew I couldn’t get around dealing with that, not in a book about a Necromancer, but I wasn’t expecting what I got with this book and its two companion volumes.  Also, one of the characters in this book is dead right from the first word.  Only in a book with a Necromancer could that work.  3 books with a dead guy, lol.

Here are the writers I’m tagging. Check out their blogs, and look for their posts coming to a computer screen or smart phone near you soon!

  1. FeakySnucker
  2. Kristen Evey
  3. Kristen Jett
  4. Heather Marie
  5. Meagan Whitmer

I’m looking forward to seeing their entries for this.  Happy blog hopping all!

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Thanks again for accepting this blog hop. Sorry it’s taken me so long to acknowledge your post, been on another extended break from all things blogging.

    Sounds intriguing and the fact that you read in this genre and can’t think of something similar is a good thing. Trail blazing 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

