I Know The Best People

It’s been nearly a week now since I published Bound, and I thought I’d do a look back.  I hadn’t originally intended to, because I want to remain focused on the long term.  To me, that’s how you build a career. But there were some things I wanted to say about this past week, so I’m going to. Why? Because it’s my blog and I’m entitled to change my mind. 😀

I’d like to start by saying that you people are awesome. Those who follow this blog and the many friends I’ve made in the Twitterverse. My family and my friends. You are all absolutely amazing.  You’ve all been so supportive and enthusiastic! And the people who’ve said they’re reading or are eager to read Bound, well, it makes me grin every time. Also, thank you to everyone who has helped me spread the word about my book, be it retweeting my links, blogs or blogging about it themselves. Thank you so very much.

I also had my first review, which is up on GoodReads. Kristen Jett, who was the final person to read Bound before I sent it to formatting, put up a lovely review that said many wonderful things. Everyone who follows me on Twitter got to see me more or less lose my cool over that. Thank you, Kristen. And I promise, I won’t make you wait too long for Possession, honest.

So far, the sales seem good, for being up 5 days in two venues and me doing only a limited amount of promo on it, but I’m aware that I have zero experience to judge on. I’m going to wait and see how it goes. I refuse to be one of those annoying people who are trying to shove their book in everyone’s face.  If you catch me doing that, please do the following: First, slap me, then sit me down and point out how I’ve been behaving inappropriately.  Honest, I do not want to be one of those people. Ever.

I’m still not sure that launching during NaNo was good for my sanity, but maybe I’m wrong.  As there are a number of things I have to do for Bound, it’s forcing me to be realistic about daily totals on  Still They Watch. That’s probably for the best.  I’m still pulling about 3k days after work, so it’s not like I’m hurting for word count, just driving myself insane by believing nothing is enough.  Yeah, yeah, I know, what else is new?

That said, I’m on the start of a four day weekend, off from the day job Friday and Monday just cause it’s NaNo and I have vacation time coming out the wazoo.  I don’t normally take much time off from work.  It’s kind of like with writing, only writing is worse. I simply don’t take days off, but I don’t give myself vacation time anyway.  In any case, I have a suspicion that I’ll have the novel wrapped up by the end of the weekend, especially since I’m up to 80,645 words and only like 4-5 chapters to go.  After that, well, knowing me, I’ll start outlining the first book of the Masques Quartet.  Mmm, Cayle. Yeah, I think he’s ready. 😀

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Know The Best People

  1. Ottabelle says:

    We know the best people too. We know you 🙂 I started reading bound today. It was a nice way to hide my head while something unhappy happened.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Aaagh, sorry I haven’t been around, and for such an announcement on top of that! 😮 Not abandoning you, honest! NaNo is eating my time and I’m behind anyway. :-/ But let me just say how awesome it is that you’re published now! I’m looking forward to hearing about a hard-copy edition, and simply DYING to find the time to read that first chapter you put up!!

    80k? Oh my goodness. Yes, I’ll in no way be surprised to hear you finish this weekend. XD And then… Cayle already? o.o I guess he would be getting impatient… Enjoy those last Devan chapters! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Devan was just as impatient as I was finishing the last chapters of The Nine, so I’m getting used to it.

      No worries about not being around. I figured it was NaNo. And you’re not that far behind. Just focus on taking it one day’s goal at a time. You’ll get there. Maybe it’s a good thing the print edition isn’t available yet. 🙂 Might derail your whole NaNo. I couldn’t do that.

      Don’t stress about the first chapter. It’ll be there when you have time.

  3. I bought BOUND last week Liz. I’m gonna read it in December. Are you grinning yet? OKay, let me try that again. I purchased your book a few days ago Julie. I’m gonna read it. Are you grinning yet? Bahahaha. Liz you are awesome. I doubt if you will behave inappropiately (not that I would really know). So, I’m going to act inappropiately for you, mahaha. I’m going to stick your book in everybody’s face, yeye. BOUND, BOUND, BOUND, BOUND, BOUND……………..Oh yeah, by the AUTHOR Julie Elizabeth HIll yeye.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

