Leftover Cake and Confetti

Wow, that was amazing.  To everyone who stopped by the blog or twitter to offer their congratulations, thank you. Your enthusiasm, support and congratulations were so very much appreciated.  I’m not sure what I expected for the launch of Bound, but whatever it was, you guys exceeded it.  I’m going to go off in the corner for a minute to cry happy tears.  I have the best followers, friends and family.  You  are all seriously awesome.

Anyone who hasn’t done so yet, I encourage you to read the first chapter that’s posted here. I wanted to give people a taste, let them see a bit.

For those who wondered and may have missed my answers in comments on the previous post, there is a print version coming. I’ll let you know when that’s available, of course. I’m also waiting on Kobo and Smashwords’ premium catalogue to go live. Still, Bound is out there.  I’m rather proud of taking that step, partly because I know the me I was even two years ago would have run screaming from the very idea.  It’s nice when something reminds you of how far you’ve come in your own life and growth.

So far, it’s too early to tell how things will go, but the early signs are reasonably good.  Being impatient, I’ve already broken my longstanding and only recently tested vow that I would NOT be one of those authors who checked their sales stats multiple times a day.  This means I need to be distracted, clearly.

Oh, right, NaNo. I swear, it’s a miracle I got any writing done this weekend, what with the launch and my constantly squeeing brain at the very idea that I can call myself an author now (omg). Yet I did. As of right now, my word count total stands at 75,566 words. No, not done yet, but I think I’m probably in the final 20k or so.  Not that I think this is anything other than a WAG (wild-ass guess to the uninitiated, who just got initiated). You know me, I always say that it will be what it becomes, however long that might be.

By the way, that leftover cake from the impromptu party here on the blog? That’s mine. (But if you wait until I’m distracted, you can have some too. ;)) No, I won’t make anyone else clean up around here.  I’m sure there’s a spare house elf around here somewhere…

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leftover Cake and Confetti

  1. Lovely post Julie. Many congratulations on getting the ebook out. Even bigger congratulations on the current NaNoWriMo count, that’s phenomenal. Have another piece of cake.

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    You deserve that extra slice of cake. To do NaNo and publish a book in November? That’s a major accomplishment! 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

