OMG, I’m an Author

All right, I have to start by saying that I tend to believe only published writers get the title “Author.”  And with that statement, I bet you can guess what this post is about, if you hadn’t already.

Yes, it went live. The Kindle version went up Saturday night.  Poor Devan, he got abandoned for a while as my brain sat there in stupefied amazement. I did it.  I really did. I’m still a bit in shock.

Now, I didn’t do it alone.  For one thing, the encouragement of you guys here on the blog has been wonderful.  But there are a few people I’d like to specifically call out for their help.  My two best friends in the world, Emily and Sarah, without whom I couldn’t have done this. They’ve read for me, making needed comments and providing encouraging words. They’re fabulous about reminding me that I *might* be a bit hard on myself.  My mother and step-father, who have taught me so many skills I needed. In fact, my mother kept insisting that she needed to be the first one to buy Bound.  A new friend, Kristen Jett, who was kind enough to grab Tavis read Bound for the final round of feedback and has been so very encouraging since (I think she just wants more Tavis, not that I blame her).

I’d also like to thank my cover artist, Regina Wamba of Mae I Design, for helping me move from a general idea to the very beautiful cover that makes me squee with joy a bit every time I see it. Also, the wonderful Amy Eye of The Eyes for Editing, who formatted all the versions of Bound for me and helped me make good choices when I didn’t know what to do.

And of course, my family, none of whom said, “Why the hell are you spending all your time on that?”  Thank you for the support instead. 😉

So far, the Amazon and Smashwords versions are the only ones that are live.  The Kobo and print versions are coming soon, and I will announce that once it’s up. I’ve added the relevant links in a number of places for those interested.

If you haven’t already done so, please check out the first chapter, which I’ve posted. I hope you enjoy it, and in turn the book, if you choose to read it and will join me for the second book, Possession.

Okay, I’m going to go back to sitting in a corner as my brain churns, not to mention trying to write.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to OMG, I’m an Author

  1. Ottabelle says:

    WOOOO YAY. I went and grabbed my copy. So excited to start. Damn assignment I’m sort of technically working on right now.

    Ok, not right RIGHT now as I’m typing this.

    I’m just so happy. 😀 Congrats, you earned this.

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! *hugs* omg, it’s really real. Yeah, yeah, bad writing there. I hope you enjoy it. Good luck with the assignment. Finish that first, you. The book isn’t going anywhere. 🙂

      • Ottabelle says:

        -HUGS FOREVER- You’re welcome 😀 I’m so glad it’s really real, really real things are the best. I’m sure I will 😀 I can’t wait. OK TO THE ASSIGNMENT SO I CAN READ.

  2. Chris says:

    Few things are as exciting as publishing your first novel, and you did it! Congratulations, and I wish you the best of luck! 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    I’m certain it will. Each book provides such a different experience that you’ll still be just as excited/nervous when you publish your 50th book. I don’t think this particular achievement is one you get used to over time.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Okay, this one’s next on the list after I finish another blogger’s current release! 🙂

  5. Congratulations Author Julie. xx

  6. quix689 says:

    I saw your tweet while I was out shopping, and I jumped on my computer as soon as I got back to make sure that meant what I thought it meant. I’m so excited for you! And for me, because now I get to read all of it. Although I’m considering waiting for the print edition since I like print books better and I have a strong feeling that my NaNo goal would suffer if I had the whole book to read. Haha. 😀 But I’m really excited!

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! I totally understand the worry about NaNo goals. I’m worrying now about whether I’ll finish Still They Watch with how distracted I’ve been yesterday and today. As always, I so appreciate your encouragement and enthusiasm. 🙂

  7. 4amWriter says:

    Awesome! I will definitely be downloading this. Now is it just the e-version, or are you also doing a print?

    • Julie says:

      I will be doing print. I think a lot of people still prefer print. I know at least one friend who said she “wants me on her bookshelf”. I’ll announce that as soon as it’s ready, which hopefully won’t be long. Just waiting on the final formatting of the cover for that, for both number of pages and form factor I selected.

      • 4amWriter says:

        oh! maybe i’ll wait then…I have a kindle but I have to drag myself to it to read a book on it. I really don’t enjoy that e-reading experience, no matter how great the book is. I’m so old school.

        • Julie says:

          I think the biggest attraction to me is having my library with me. But different things for different people. There’s room for every preference. 🙂 I will say, this is exactly why I decided to do a print version.

  8. Totally wicked Liz, and I agree with your philosophy of the title, “Author”. You are now dubbed, Elizabeth “AUTHOR”, writer of Camelot. You subjects adore you, and now I have another frickin book to read. I’m not going to have anywhere to sleep.

  9. Pete Denton says:

    WooHoo. Fantastic news. You must feel on top of the world. All your hard work is there for all to see. Best of luck with it 🙂

  10. wordsurfer says:

    Yessss! Many, many congratulations! Enjoy this wonderful achievement and I’m off to get my copy now…

  11. Peggy Isaacs says:

    Congrats! Congrats! Congrats! So proud of you.

    I love the cover. Beautiful.

    I’m off to Amazon….

  12. gabriellan says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! The cover made me squee a bit too 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! I’ve taken to using that cover as a pick-me-up on a bad day. Though looking at al the lovely comments here will certainly also do the trick. 😀

  13. Woot! Congrats, Julie! I can’t wait to dive in.

  14. Arlene says:

    Congratulations!! The cover looks amazing. How exciting!!! Adding to my reading list right away 🙂

  15. Congratulations, Julie! The cover is great and looks good on the Amazon page. Time for you to celebrate!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! Celebrating will have to timeshare me though with promotion, writing more stuff and the day job. Still, I’m thrilled with how things are going so far. 🙂

  16. Ben says:

    Awesome– congratulations!!! And the cover art is fantastic. This is an amazing accomplishment, you are an inspiration to fellow writers my dear. Can’t wait to purchase a copy 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy it. As for being an inspiration… *blush*

      • Ben says:

        You certainly are– I can attest first hand that life can certainly give you infinite reasons not to be able to write and get your story published, but you’ve shown first hand that it can be done– inspiration!

        I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  17. MythRider says:

    I printed you one chapter and took it to word to read during the slow times. I loved it. I’d have posted this there, but I can’t find that post. Anyway, very well written. intriguing.

  18. Pingback: talking to myself (a writing experiment) « cresting the words

  19. Kate says:

    Ohmyword, Julie, I just finished Bound. It’s incredible! The constant and meaningful action, the relatable struggles and decisions, the wonderful way you write magic. I read through the end with tears in my eyes. I know you’re already super hard at work on bunches of other stuff, but I have to say I can’t wait for Possession!!

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! You have no idea how big the grin on my face is right now. A million times, thank you. And I swear, I’ll update people on Possession’s progress once there’s something to say, but it’s getting closer, and thankfully I have a better idea how to do this publishing thing now. 😀

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

