My Personal Brand of Insanity

You know, in spite of a couple entries so far this week, I realized that I haven’t actually provided an update on my progress writing Still They Watch. I should probably do that, though you already know it’s going well after my post on Monday night.

The numbers for the week since my last update:

Saturday: 4,842

Sunday: 5,424

Monday: 4,444

Tuesday: 3,032

Wednesday: 3,695

Man, I shouldn’t leave it that long again. All of this brings me to a current total of 58,309 before I start writing for the night. I’m having fun with Devan (of course), but I’ve noticed that I’m losing the battle against driving myself crazy (well, okay, crazier). 2k words per day is my personal pace, the point at which I stop kicking myself in the ass. Or when I should stop doing that. It isn’t anymore. I wish it was some nights, but if I’m being honest, it isn’t. No, when I hit 2k for the night, even if I’ve had the day job going on, and done other necessary tasks, I still sit there and think, okay, only 1k to go and I can be content.  Yes, I’m now up to insisting that anything less than 3k per day isn’t enough.  Though this is unintentional, or at least unconscious, I understand the reasons. It’s that lengthy list of projects and stories I have sitting there, characters begging for their turn. Yes, I’m still young at 34, and there are many years left in my life for writing (all else being equal), but I really don’t think the idea torrent in my head is going to slow down. I’m already thinking of them faster than I can write them (which even I will admit is saying something) so that means I have to either write faster or get a time turner.  Unless JK Rowling can help me with this, it’s going to have to be write faster.

No, this does not mean that I have any intention of lowering my standards, or that I’d release anything I didn’t feel was my best effort. But it means that I need to find a way to catch up.  Or learn not to cry at the idea of stories going untold.  Sadly, I’m not sure either is possible, but I’m going to give the catching up thing a shot, since I really do feel sad and panicked at the idea of stories going untold.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Personal Brand of Insanity

  1. gabriellan says:

    Nice shiny word count you got there!

  2. Arlene says:

    I don’t know how so many writers find the time to work on multiple projects at once – blogs, draft stories, edit, market, and keep up on reading, work the day job, oh and have some semblance of a life. I feel the same — so many stories to be told, so little time.

    Your daily word count is awesome! That’s gotta help 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Well, I often say I don’t have that much of a life. I pretty much do a routine of eat, sleep, work, write. Some reading, some blogging, but that’s kind of it. I think we each do our best to balance what’s truly important to us. As for working on so many projects, it’s my substitute for patience, keeping busy on other things so I don’t edit too soon. Also, with the sheer volume of ideas I have, I need to work on multiple things at once. But the most basic reason is that we do it because we can’t not do it.

      And thanks. I’ll admit, pushing through a lot of words does help keep everything moving along. And, of course, it’s November, and that means NaNo and the frantic drive to write a novel in a month. The fact that it’s the method I used when I write every novel is only sort of the point. 😉

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

