Today on Torture The Writer…

I swear, I think some of my story ideas are ganging up on me, trying to exact revenge for what I’m planning to do to Devan by the end of Still They Watch.  If that’s their aim, I’m willing to admit they’ve won.

Honest, that’s not just the crazy writer being crazy. No, it’s that all afternoon, my brain has refused to stop working on other stories.  First (and foremost), I was on my way home from work yesterday, thinking about Devan, when I got poleaxed by a brand new story idea. And omg is it amazing.  Lit up my brain like you wouldn’t believe.  I had to stop walking. I made a fair amount of notes, then a few more at home, and a few more later on my way to coffee.  I feel like I’m cheating on, well, the very long list you see on the project status page, plus a number of things that aren’t on there, yet I can’t help it.  This character is intoxicating, as is someone else in this story who whispers with her.  I won’t say too much, except that I expect Three Line Assassin will eat my brain given half a chance. *whimpers*

And, if that wasn’t enough, then Reah slipped me another part of her first book.  Like before, it was just a scrap, but she clearly doesn’t want to be forgotten. And Jacari told me something over the weekend, before I forget to mention his part in this.  And Cayle and Saul? Hovering for the moment. I’m waiting. I know they’re both going to nail me with something. Wait, that didn’t sound right…

This probably sounds funny to a lot of you, but it’s not! I can’t afford to give up the day job yet, and giving up sleep would have a seriously deleterious effect on my writing quality (not to mention the shreds of sanity that hold me together). But if I don’t give up BOTH of those, how a I EVER going to manage to tell all these stories? Stop laughing at me, it’s a serious problem! 😉

Oh well, back to Devan, for I refuse to allow any of the others to draw me away from my Necromancer.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today on Torture The Writer…

  1. Peggy Isaacs says:

    HA! I hate it when that happens. I’ve been battling Anna and her friend Kyla. Mostly Kyla these days. I’m not even sure why. She plays only a small role in Retribution. Unfortunately, they both will have to wait until December 14th.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

