Updates, Surprises and Ammo

I wanted to pop in with a quick NaNoWriMo update before I dash of for more keyboard banging.  The night is young and still full of words.  The past few days haven’t been spectacular (by my own admittedly ridiculous standards), so I feel the need to make up for it today. Besides, it’s flowing.

Wednesday: 2872

Thursday: 3779

Friday: 3500

Today (so far): 3255

Wait… Looking at those totals, I realize that I *may* have been flogging myself over nothing today. Typical. For some reason, I thought that Thursday number was about 1k lower.  I really need to ease up on myself.  This brings me to a bit of fabulous news (though it reinforces the idea that I’m not doing as badly as I keep thinking I am). I just blew through 40k. Yup, current total is 40,127, though I’m not done for the night.  I think I probably have another 2k+ in me, if I can convince my eyes to stop trying to close. No, I’m not tired.  Just a long time staring at a screen.  I’ll live, and at least I can type with my eyes closed. The typos aren’t too bad that way.

I’m now at the start of Chapter 13 and feeling pretty good about my progress so far. The last one, Chapter 12, was a doozy, an important one with speeches and everything. I think it marks approximately a third of the story done, though I’m talking about the story, not the number of words needed to tell the story.  I’ve learned after many failed attempt not to even try to guess that, though I’m still certain it’s going to be over 100k in the first draft.  Devan is, of course, being his usual extremely eager, helpful self.  I’m just still very distracted by real life, and I really think this is going to continue for at least another couple of weeks.  Oh well, as long as I keep writing, it’s all good, right?

Cayle continues to whisper, giving me something juicy yesterday for, get this, the second book. No, really, I’m not complaining. I’m smiling at him. He’s handing me ammo to torture him with, really, in much the same way Devan has done on many occasions.  I’m starting to think that Masques will be a dream to write much as Necromantic has.  I love it when things work like that. It makes me feel… almost like I know what I’m doing with this writing stuff. 😮

Other than that, things have been quiet on the ideas front, but I sort of expected that as my brain grooved into drafting mode and Still They Watch.  I’m still feeling a bit sad to say goodbye to Devan and no, knowing I’m coming back to him isn’t helping that in the slightest.  I told you, I love my Necromancer a little too much. That said, I’m sure Cayle will happily comfort me when this book is done.  Yeah, I think my illusionist will be happy to fill that gap. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Updates, Surprises and Ammo

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Hurray for 40k!!!!!! 😀 Congrats! I just hit 20k myself and am quite happy about it; sorta makes up for my current depressedness on the story front and the fact that I don’t know what I’m writing tomorrow… 😛

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Great daily totals again. I think you might be able to type whilst sleeping. A good skill to learn. Happy NaNoing 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Well, I have written with my eyes closed (fabulously useful skill, that), and I’ve woken with solutions to my writing problems (leading me to believe I’m mentally writing in my sleep), so why not combine the two. 🙂

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I have composed poems in my sleep… So not impossible. If we can just figure out how to do this, we could revolutionize the world of writers!!! 😛

        • Julie says:

          Unlikely. We still have to be awake enough to edit. :p

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            No no! See, we can write our first drafts in our sleep and then edit while we’re awake! Yes. 😀

          • Julie says:

            I still don’t think that’s a good idea. Think about how good/bad your first draft is, now make it 20% worse to account for sleep-writing. Do you really want to have to edit that? 😉

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Oh but but . . . We’re so much more genius and creative and crazy when we’re asleep…! I see your point. 😛

            You are totally gonna hit 50k today aren’t you?

          • Julie says:

            That’s the plan, yes. Working toward it and going to the Monday write-in. 😀

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Neat! I went to my first yesterday; it was fun. Though very quiet. I sorta hope next time there’s a bit more talking. As it was it was a great push to just sit and write, listening to the clackety-clack of others typing. So inspiring. 🙂 I got to 600 words in the first 25 minutes (I normally only do 500 every half hour). Have fun, and get those words in! 😀

          • Julie says:

            Getting the words in has never been my problem. 😀 And remember, too much talking gets in the way of writing. There’s a good balance of both though with the group in my neighborhood.

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Yeah, hardly a word spoken with us… Probably because I got there in the middle.

            And yes, of course you have no problem. 😀

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

