Stories Are What Happen While You’re Making Other Plans

I’ve been rolling along fairly well with NaNo so far, clocking in 3,374 and 3,087 Monday and yesterday.  And, of course, I’m up to my usual self-abuse, though I’m not taking it so seriously this time.  Last night, I was passing 2k, which is my personal pace and exhorting myself that I had to get going, had to get to at least 3k before I could even think I’d done well.  Seriously, that’s just silly. I mostly shook my head at myself and went on.  I did make 3k obviously, but rather than thinking it was ‘just good enough’ as was my first instinct, I gave myself a pat on the back and reminded myself that plenty of writers would love to have 3k days, and I should be happy with it.  Being able to do that is progress, honest.  Yes, I gave myself another pat on the back for making progress on being a slave-driver regarding myself.

This puts me at 26,721 before I start writing tonight.  I sort of feel like I should be doing more, and I know that I could be achieving even higher totals, but I’ve been having trouble concentrating all week.  There’s some day-job stuff that’s coming down the pipe with potential good news for me, but I don’t know when I’ll hear about it or if it really will turn out as well as my colleagues keep telling me.  Also, there’s the looming release of Bound and the myriad implications of that.  These two things are playing havoc with my attention span which, believe it or not, has never been great.

And, of course, my imagination doesn’t help.  It has total ADD, in case you hadn’t noticed (right, because anyone could have missed that).  Today was another stunning example of that.  You might have already guessed that from that title of this post.  Because apparently I don’t have enough stories running around in my brain, another one bonked me over the head this morning on my bus ride to work.  I have to stop wondering if I can do something story-related because apparently that always results in my imagination presenting a way to do it, whatever it was that I was wondering about. Note to self, let’s NOT test this.  Please.  Enough.  Today, it was an idea for a novella in the Mirrors of Bershan world.  And it’s insistent.  Maybe that will keep me occupied through some of December?  As it is, I suspect the latter half of the month will be spent starting to write the first book of Masques.  Further note to self, find a better title for that quartet as a series.  Anyway, as I was saying, there’s going to be a novella involving two minor characters in the Mirrors trilogy.  I do believe I’m not totally to blame for this one, as one of the feedback notes I received on Bound was a desire to know more about these characters in a way that didn’t fit into the book or the trilogy itself.  So I should have at least one happy test reader when I get that written and revised enough for other human beings to read.  No one ever sees my first draft except me.  That will likely never change.

Cayle and Saul are, of course, still whispering away.  I’m starting to feel like the inside of my head is a creative war zone these days.  Yes, I’m aware that I could have significantly worse problems, but this is a bit frustrating.  I want to tell ALL the stories in my head, to share them with readers.  There just aren’t enough hours in the day.  There won’t be even if I’m ever able to quit the day job and write full time.  Before you ask, no, that won’t ever stop me from trying to get them all out.  Nothing will ever really stop that, I don’t think.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stories Are What Happen While You’re Making Other Plans

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Poor Julie! I feel for you. But aren’t all those story ideas just so fantastic?

    Don’t beat yourself up. You’re doing GREAT on NaNo! Keepitup! 😀

    • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

      Also, again I have to remark upon your amazing photography. The pictures are always so BEAUTIFUL! ❤ That one has a real fairy-like quality. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Oh, I love the ideas, just not the daunting task of finding time to write them all, especially with Cayle winning the fight over him getting a fourth book. I need more hours.

      And thanks for the compliments and encouragement. Sometimes it’s nice to be reminded that my perspective on myself is a bit off. 🙂 Been watching your progress and you’ve been doing well yourself, as we close out the first week.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I hear ya. 😀 At least you write at a breakneck speed so there will be more done as time goes on… I need to get faster. 😛 I do wish I could figure out how to send you more hours though… you certainly need them.

        You’re welcome. Always glad to be here and rearrange your perspective to something more reasonable. 😉 Nearly 30k in one week is TRULY spectacular!

        And thank you! Having a personal goal of 2k a day is definitely helping on that. 🙂

        • Julie says:

          Personal goals are always good as it gives you something to shoot for, a prod to keep you going. I just tend to hit them and push them ahead of me until nothing is ever good enough. Have to stop doing that.

          And I’ve noticed that, while writing is getting faster, so it idea generation. *quails and weeps* I’m never going to win this.

  2. Pingback: Some Thoughts On Writing Meghan’s Previous Story — Before The New One Starts « jmmcdowell

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

