Write-ins and All The Things At Once

Things are definitely still going well.  As of this moment, Still They Watch is at 22,574 words, and no, not done for the night, but I needed to give my brain a moment.  The final total for Saturday was 5,880 and Sunday (a day in which I do chores, keep in mind) still ended up with a respectable 4,023.  Today, I’m at 2,314 so far, but still have a couple of hours left.

I’m still feeling good about the progress of the story, though obviously there will be the usual multiple rounds of editing before anyone gets to see it. And this is definitely on track to exceed 100k, the question is by how much.  I’m managing to keep my prep work about a chapter ahead of the one I’m writing, which is good, because it keeps me thinking about where I’m going with things.

Almost 2k of today’s work was done in a new place for me. I went to my very first NaNoWriMo write-in. It’s a local one and I was a bit nervous about it, not unusual for me when I’m doing new things.  It turned out well though.  There were a lot of people, more than we had seats for and the atmosphere was fun.  We did a couple of word wars while I was there and there was a lot of talk about stories and techniques for getting more done. I got to meet some of the other local writers and had a dark chocolate mocha.  I think this is my new definition of heaven.  I’ll almost certainly go for next week’s, as they’re running this every Monday night.

That’s the NaNo update, but there’s more.  Saul, my fallen angel from Ashes and Angels, has been very insistent about how his story will go, even when I told him I wouldn’t write it that way.  Mostly I was worried people might feel I was being deeply disrespectful to a specific religion, if not downright blasphemous.  I’m more agnostic than anything, and I try to be respectful of other people’s beliefs, even if I don’t share them.  Yet I couldn’t get this idea out of my head, so I chatted via email with a couple of people I know on Twitter who are members of this particular religion. It turned out well, and they reassured me that it wasn’t as bad as I was making it out to be in my head. They pointed out a couple of areas where I’d have to be careful, but generally thought it was a great story in the making.

Apparently that was all the encouragement Saul needed.  I had a 3.5 hour training session at the day job today (I was the student) but I could barely pay any attention.  Instead, Saul whispered the whole time. I have a couple of pages of deep notes on Ashes and Angels I have to transcribe into my Notes document now and a very promising tale springing up.  If I do this well, it’s going to be brilliant.  If I do it poorly… We just won’t go there, really.  I have to do a good job at this.

But of course, Saul is going to have to be patient.  He’s in line behind Cayle, Reah, Jacari and likely my return to Necromantic’s world.  That means I have to write probably thirteen books before he even gets a shot.  My poor fallen angel. I don’t know if he possesses that sort of patience.  We’ll find out.

Oh, and I got myself my christmas present today.  A Tassimo.  The ex-barrista in me cringes at the idea, but the writer who needs coffee to function most of the time is rejoicing.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Write-ins and All The Things At Once

  1. quix689 says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed your first write-in! They’re a lot of fun.
    Also, I’m now extremely intrigued by Ashes and Angels. I’m a little sad that it’s so far down on your list, but I completely understand (you have so many novels to write!). I try to be respectful of other people’s religions in person, but it’s fair game in my writing. 😀

    • Julie says:

      I’m more than a little intrigued by the story too. And it isn’t so much that religion isn’t up for grabs as a subject. It’s that you have to be careful when you involve certain aspects and I try not to be actually offensive about it. I think I have a good handle on it now, and plan to make sure I have at least one test reader who believes. All of this in time though. I think I need more of that. Time, I mean. 🙂

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    The write-in sounds cool. The atmosphere must’ve been great—sharing that NaNo experience with other writers and drinking the good stuff. 🙂 Saul will just have to wait his turn!

    • Julie says:

      It was great. And meeting local people is kind of a new thing for me.

      As for Saul, have you noticed how little any of my characters like waiting for anything? But I think Cayle’s capable of fighting even my fallen angel off. He’s very determined to be next. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

