Roaring Starts and Awards

Wow.  I thought I knew what to expect when I finally got to start writing Still They Watch.  I mean, I knew Devan was eager and ready, that the outline was good and that I would be writing a lot of words fairly quickly.  Then I got started.  I *may* have underestimated how well this would go.

Day 2 went very well.  I came home, fully caffeinated, and sat down at the keyboard.  I typed. A lot. Really fast. 5602 words was the final total when I collapsed somewhere in the 11th hour of the day.  I could barely keep my eyes open. I had trouble stopping.  Today has been good so far as well.  After some time spent drawing myself back into that flow torrent, I managed to unleash words, including a spectacular speech from Devan, to the tune of 2430 so far.  No, I’m not done (still several writing hours to go), but I thought I should post before midnight this time.  I’ll give the final total on the next post.  This brings me to a current total, after less than 3 days of writing, of 12,787 words.   So I think it’s fair to say that NaNoWriMo is off to a good start for me. 😀

In the meantime, I was also given the One Lovely Blog award by Kellie Larsen Murphy.  Thanks Kellie!  It’s always wonderful to be given these sorts of recognition, to know that you touch people with your words.  I think it’s what most writers just about live for.

Now, this is one of those that has instructions, so here they are:

  1. Include blog award logo in your post (done)
  2. Thank person who nominated you and link back to them in your post (check)
  3. Share 7 things about yourself (keep in mind that children may read this) (wait, children are allowed on my blog? oops)
  4. Nominate 7 bloggers you absolutely relish
  5. Leave a comment on each of these blogs letting them know they’ve been nominated

Okay, 7 things about me:

  1. You know how I keep talking about my characters whispering to me? Sometimes I whisper back, especially if I’m having trouble unpacking the story.  It becomes a conversation. No, I don’t do it out loud (except in my apartment)
  2. I had almost managed to detox myself from my sushi addiction.  Then I broke down a couple days ago and had sushi.  I’m now an addict again.  Hmm, sushi for dinner…
  3. I have trouble telling people about my work.  And by work, I’m talking about writing.  I don’t have any difficulty telling others that I write, or reporting progress, but now it’s starting to come up outside of this blog that I’ll be publishing my first book soon, and I have trouble talking about that.  People are asking to read it, but… What if they’re just being nice, or they feel they have to say that?  Promoting said book could be an interesting exercise in pushing myself out of my comfort zone.
  4. My latest music craze has been 30 Seconds To Mars.  I got into this band in university and fell in love with their debut album, but then didn’t get around to getting subsequent ones.  I’ve corrected this lately and it seems Cayle likes their music.  Currently, about 3/4 of the playlist for Masques is made up of 30 Seconds To Mars.  I’m totally cool with that.
  5. Yes, the above means I have a playlist for every project.  I build them as I go, when a song strikes me as being particularly evocative of a mood or theme in the book, or just makes scenes from the book play in my head.  They’re generally a mix, though I’ll admit that Necromantic has been massively fuelled by 10 Years.
  6. This is a bad time of year for me, with all that halloween candy on sale.  That said, I’m totally stocked up on rockets and chocolate to get me through NaNo. 🙂

Okay, I know, that’s only six, but I ran out of things. You’ll live. Now you know more about me, though most of it seems to amount to something you hopefully had already figured out, namely that I’m insane.  It’s my best quality, I swear.

Okay, so, 7 bloggers.  Hmm.

  • Emily Potter: I just finished reading her first book for critique. She’s very talented and I think you’ll want to keep an eye on her so you can read her when she’s published and famous.
  • Ben: I like where he has his priorities, and he always makes me laugh.  Glad he’s doing NaNo with me, so I can cheer him on to more writing.
  • 4amwriter: Because she’s always willing to try, to push herself, and because I admire anyone willing to get up that early. While I’m committed to my writing, I still try to pretend that hour doesn’t exist in the morning.
  • Subtlekate: She deals with things in her life with an honesty and openness that I love.  She never seems to let anything get her down, and I know how hard that can be. My hat’s off to her.
  • Amber Sherer: Who never quits, never gives up, no matter what. That’s half the secret in my own experience.  Besides, she understands talking to your stories and probably won’t think I’m too crazy for that one.
  • Winsomebella: The words and pictures she shares on her blog are both beautiful and heartfelt. Every time I see a post of hers drop into my inbox, I smile, knowing something wonderful is waiting for me.

That’s only six too, but it seemed appropriate.  Definitely, you should check each of them out, as well as the lovely Kellie. 🙂  Now, back to Devan and STW.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Roaring Starts and Awards

  1. Em says:

    Thanks for the shout-out and, as always, congrats on the output!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks and you’re welcome. 🙂 It’s been a good weekend for writing. Btw, you should write up your own weekend activities. I think I’d like to see that blog entry. *hint, nudge, shove*

      • Em says:

        I’m planning to, certainly, but it will be a long post so I need to make sure I have time to do so. Besides, it will save me from having to rewrite the same email to a bunch of people. 😉
        Did you go look at my photos on FB incidentally? Halloween and a few from wfc are there.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I think you’re doing well! But that’s no surprise… 😉 Go Julie! Glad you’re enjoying Devan part 3.

    I started on day 2 because of a wonderful booksale all day the 1st, but I quickly caught up. 10k in three days which I’m highly pleased about. 😀 Have yet to write today though… (note to self: get. off. internet. now.)

    My character was complaining to me about how another character intimidates him a lot more in the actual story than he thought he would. Poor Faron. I understand what you say about whispering back. 🙂 I should nanomail you and complain about my plot… 😛

    In other news, congrats on hitting 500 blog followers!! It seems a lot of people think you’re awesome, and they’re not wrong. 😀

    • Julie says:

      Thank you and thank you. And you know I always enjoy Devan. 😉

      I’ve been watching your progress on my buddy list. You’ve been doing well. And if you want to spitball story ideas with me, that’s fine. I’m more likely to ask pointed questions than advise, but that can turn the trick.

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Thanks for the mention/award. I’m back to stockpiling the awards, especially now that I’m in the midst of NaNo. But I love that you thought of me. 🙂

    I think that’s great that you have conversations with your characters. I do, too. However, I do have these talks in public (no on purpose, I just forget other people can hear me). It’s something that has marked me for life, I’m afraid. 😉

    • Julie says:

      I’ve had to train myself to keep the conversations mostly in my head. But the stop, drop and frantically tap on my phone does get me some odd looks. And I’m not 100% certain that I’ve never talked to any of my characters out loud without realizing it. As it is, They like to choose the most inconvenient times to eat my brain. Like meetings where I’m supposed to pay attention at the day job. :p

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

