One More Sleep

I came to the conclusion as I thought about writing this post that I look forward to NaNoWriMo more than I do Christmas.  I’m fairly certain this says something about me, but can’t decide if it’s something good or bad.  Knowing me, probably both.

I made it.  I have not started writing Still They Watch.  Yes, I have the chapter outlines done for the first chapter and a half and will probably do more tonight, but it’s not actually writing it.  Yeah, yeah, splitting hairs, I know.  But every time I read the outline, I’m amazed and desperately want to write it, so I feel that this is still victory.  This is going to be good, possibly long.  I’m thinking 100k+, though I’ve been wrong before (Yes, first draft of Where The Ether Flows, I’m looking at you).

I still think I can get it done in the 30 days though.  I’ve got good cause to believe that.  All Stitched Up took 23 days and was just shy of 103k, so I have done it before.  Also, I have two long weekends this month.  First up is Remembrance Day.  I have that Monday off from work, so there’s a 3-day weekend.   And I’ve taken the last Friday and Monday of the month off from the day job for a 4-day weekend to get that final push in.  These all worked well for me last year, so I have high hopes for this year.

I have a lot more people on my buddy list for NaNo this year, and I’ll be cheering them on even as I bang away at my keyboard.  Also, I’ll be helping that friend of mine complete her first NaNo, largely with encouragement, advice and brain-prodding if she gets stuck.  Never underestimate the power of brain-prods.  If you’re doing NaNo this year and don’t have me on your buddy list, feel free to add me here.  I still think that one of the best parts of NaNo is the community and the way the participants support each other.  I’m going to try to make some local write-ins this year.  Maybe even *eep* meet people. 😀

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One More Sleep

  1. quix689 says:

    I was just thinking this morning about how I feel the same way I do the day before Christmas. 😀 And outlining isn’t the same thing as writing, even if you do get really detailed. I’m actually starting to wonder if I should have been more detailed in my outlines. I guess we’ll find out soon enough if I’ve done the proper level of planning. 🙂

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Good for you! *applauds* We’re all proud of you. 😀 (There ARE still twelve hours though… ;))

    Looking forward to some chatting with you over the month! 🙂

    I can’t believe NaNo’s almost here. O_O I’M NOT READY! *frantic flailing*

    • Julie says:

      Were you ever going to feel ready? I only do because its how I do every novel. This is me in my zone, I’m telling you. 😉

      And I can just keep working on chapter outlines to keep from starting early. I’ll be okay now, really.

      Looking forward to chatting with you too. This is going to be fun!

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I was just hoping to have more of my outline done… Eep. However, at least I have the first 8 scenes very well figured out… So I should be okay to start with.

        Good. 😛

        Yes! Such fun! Can’t wait!!! 😀

  3. I just nominated you for he One Lovely Blog Award! http://kellielarsenmurphy.com/

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Just a few more hours! Are you sure your keyboard is up to the challenge? Maybe you should have a spare on hand! 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

