It’s Not Really Cheating, Honest

No, I’m not counting down the seconds to NaNo at all.  Just because I checked to see whether that counter widget on the right would let me do that…  Totally not the point. 😀

My quest to keep busy and distracted until November 1st has gone, well, mostly okay.  Yeah, there have been some tense moments, times when I nearly busted out and started writing Still They Watch early, but I have managed to hold off.  I’ve discovered that October is the longest month of the year, and not just because it has 31 days.  Apparently I don’t do well taking more than a month between writing new books.  Hmm.  This is both good and bad.

My latest quest to keep my nose more or less out of STW and my… thoughts… away from Devan has involved sort of dealing with him anyway.  Call it a bit of slight of hand for my brain.  I’ve been working on the out-loud edit for Where The Ether Flows.  I didn’t mention that I was working on it before I went to the wedding, largely because I was hoping to be done with that in time to add it to my wedding present to the bride.  She reads this blog, so obviously I couldn’t mention it here.  Didn’t work out though, partly because of being a bit fried.  But now I’m almost done.

After getting the last of Bound’s edits done on Saturday (!), I dove into finishing this round with Ether Flows, to distract myself both from STW and the fact that Bound is now in the hands of a fresh reader for a quick once over before I send it to formatting. Remember, I have no patience, so I have to substitute in more work instead. I’m almost done with the out-loud edit though, should finish tonight.  Then I have to decide what to do with Devan’s first book…  I’ll have to get back to you on that, maybe after November.

This will leave me with probably part of tonight and definitely the next two days in which I can’t start writing STW but have nothing else to work on, sadly.  That won’t end well if I don’t do something about it.  So I’m going to, um, cheat.  It’s not really cheating though (I already promised I wasn’t cheating, see the title of the post).

One of the parts of my process when I’m writing a new book is that I outline each chapter in detail before I actually write it.  I work from my Outliner document and write it in a small notebook in pencil.  Every book I’ve written since Bound (and including that one) has had its own little notebook.  I’ve decided that my not-cheating is going to take the form of doing this prep work, as much of it as I get through before November 1st.  That way, I’ll be prepared to just sit down and mash keys when I get home from work on Thursday (which incidentally is way too far away).  It’s not cheating because I am most emphatically not writing the book.  It’s only preparation.  Really, they say in the rules that notes are okay, and that’s all I’m doing.  Okay, yes, I am trying to convince myself, what’s your point?  It’s Devan!  I can’t resist.

And, of course, speaking of characters I can’t resist, Cayle is still whispering, sometimes at the most inconvenient moments, but I love him all the more for it.  The layers of detail and intricacy of some of the relationships are amazing as they unfold in my brain.  I have some doubt that he’ll be all that quite during November, but I think I can juggle the two of them, so long as Cayle doesn’t do something mean like, oh say, insisting I write his book right then.  No, I wouldn’t put it past him either.  He’s going to be fun to write, I think, and I suspect he’s going to be as cooperative as Devan has been.  Oh, to have such problems in my life. Whatever shall I do? 😉

Before I forget (having almost done so), there are a couple of things that I’ve done in preparation for publishing Bound.  The biggest one was converting my Goodreads account to an author account (omg, I’m about to be one of those). The other was actually adding Bound to Goodreads.  In case you’re interested, my author page is here.  No pressure though. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Not Really Cheating, Honest

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    With that title, I was so “Oh, Julie, Julie… *facepalm*” But it’s not as bad as I feared…

    Lucky you. I wish I had nothing to work on these next two days… *stuff to do overload* 😛 I NEED TO BE PLOTTING!

    Ooh, Goodreads! I so want to get an account but I have NO TIME these days, and I know that time would turn into twice as “no” if I did (I am making no sense and should be asleep. o.o) Anyways, that’s awesome! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, I had a feeling you might assume the worst from that title, but you have to admit, it fits.

      I understand the lack of time. If I did anything other than writing and day job, I might be pressed for time too.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    I ran out of time to do up an outline for my NaNo novel, so I was messing around with it in my head. It’s mainstream fiction with supernatural elements–totally not something I do, but I wanted to take a risk. Of course, what part of the novel is completely throwing me for a loop? The ghosts et al. Mm-hmm. I’m doomed.

    Keep breathing, Julie. Not much longer before you can immerse yourself in NaNo delight. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Ohh, now that sounds interesting, Kate. I can’t wait to hear how that goes. High five for taking a risk, for sure. If we never push ourselves to do that, we can’t discover new things and grow. 🙂

      And I’m trying to keep breathing, but November is so close!!! 😉

  3. Em says:

    I’m staying away from NaNo this year, but might give it a shot next year, depending on where everything stands, since everything is up in the air. Congrats on the goodreads page, looks great – I’m a little envious! :$ (I have no idea if that will make a blushy face, but that’s the intention).
    Also, if you’re looking for things to do between now and Nov 1, I have a small, 30 page or so suggestion….. *runs away*

    • Julie says:

      You mean that thing I’m on the last chapter of? Yeah, been working away at that too this whole time.

      If you decide you want to do NaNo at some point, you know where to find me. I will most definitely cheer, prod and help you through it. 🙂

  4. Pete Denton says:

    This is just good planning. The writing takes place later and you HAVE to occupy your brain somehow. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

