I Surrender

All right, I give up.  Cayle wins.  Masques it is.  I can’t fight this level of insistence, not that I actually want to fight it.  That’s totally not the point though.  Hush you.

In case you’re wondering what brought this on, my masked illusionist has spent the last few days whispering the most delightful secrets in my ear, including some very private things about himself.  You may or may not realized the sort of writer I am, so let me just say that I think he’s going to come to regret telling me some of this.  I have a tendency to use such things in the story, to poke the MC where he or she is weakest. I tear my characters apart so I can build them back up even stronger than I found them.  Cayle’s definitely going to find that out.  The hard way. Then he can go talk to Devan who has definitely been through that wringer a couple of times now.  Honest, it’s for their own good. *evil author laugh*

Don’t think of Cayle as entirely defenceless though, anymore than Devan has been. Cayle’s wrapping me so tightly around his finger that I’m not sure how badly I could shred him (though I remember thinking that about Devan at one point too and that didn’t save him). All I know for sure is that Cayle is intoxicating enough that want to write him now.  You have no idea.  I have no words.  He keeps making me stop in my tracks, eyes wide and tap away frantically on my phone/computer/whatever’s-handy, trying to get the latest whisper down before he says something else.

November might feel a bit like I’m cheating on him.  Don’t try to figure out the logic on that, especially since Devan was here first.  I can’t even make sense of it, yet it’s how I’m starting to feel.  I wouldn’t worry about me too much in that sense though.  Once November 1st hits and I’m able to start setting words to Still They Watch, I’ll end up so thoroughly wrapped up in that it won’t register that much.  Devan will have his due.  He always does.

I think the biggest surrender here is that there will be four books to Masques after all.  I know, I told Cayle that there wouldn’t be a fourth, no matter how much he begged.  No quartet, I said.  His response?  He showed me the basis for it.  I caved.  He won.  And gloated.  A lot of gloating.  But the idea is so good, and such a fitting end to the project, a good wrap to the world.  How could I say no to that?

You know, this really is starting to feel like what happened every time Devan wanted something in the early days.  Hell, he’s getting what may end up being a whole other trilogy in the Necromantic world, so maybe Cayle’s insistence on a fourth book isn’t that bad.

Yeah, I know, I’m rationalizing.  Already.  And I haven’t even started outlining the first Masques book.  I know the first scene though, pretty much the whole first chapter.  I may have to bang that out a bit, just to keep my illusionist happy.  Can’t have pouting characters.  They do things to get their way and I always end up bug-eyed in the process.  Never a good look in public, trust me.  And telling observers that “I’m fine, but my character just said something amazing” will only cause them to pack you off in a nice white huggy coat.  Unless they happen to be a fellow writer, then maybe they’ll understand and just nod.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Surrender

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I seem to recall something like this happened when you were about to wrap up Tavis’s trilogy — Devan sort of wanted to take over right away, right? I guess you’ll just have to live with this sort of thing going on. 😛

    Also, is it bad that these days most of your blogposts that show up in my inbox, I read the title and start chuckling a little inside because I can pretty much guess what you’ll be talking about? Like the Tug-of-War, I thought “Oh yes, Reah and Cayle or maybe someone else will be arguing over which one gets the next story.” And then “Inching Terrifyingly Closer” I though “Oh yes, she’s getting closer to getting Bound published”. And now this one. I figured you gave in to Cayle. 😀 Besides which, when you said you wouldn’t let him have a quartet I was like “Ohhh, right. That’s what YOU think.” 😄 I don’t know — maybe I’m starting to understand you or your characters just a wee bit too well. It just . . . kind of makes me laugh a bit. 😉

    Seriously though, I’m glad things are zooming along for you. That’s really awesome! And the part about the white huggy coat — I can relate. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      All that about the titles cueing you to what the post is about just means you’re a regular reader. I usually do the title after I write the post so I can make it match.

      And yeah, I didn’t think I’d win the trilogy vs quartet battle. I don’t think I win any battles with my characters. *stares at Saul in concern and tells him to try to behave and not commit blasphemy*

      I think you’ll find, though, that my characters will still surprise you when you read the stories. Remember, I don’t talk much about who they are and what they’re like here. You only know how they behave toward me, not how they are in the story.

      And if that statement doesn’t get me my own huggy coat, I don’t know what will. 😉

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Well, Celtic Forest Dweller summed up things quite nicely, I think. 😉 But through all of this writing, don’t forget to publish Bound. Some of us want to read these stories, you know! 😉

    • Julie says:

      See my next post (probably) for an update on that. I swear, I haven’t forgotten. Some things just take time. I’m both eager and nervous about publishing Bound. But I love that people want to read it already. (No, I did not just squee. No one saw me do it, can’t prove anything.)

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

