Masques and Spires, Tug-of-War Edition

I feel like the rope in the middle of a tug of war match.  Seriously. And, unexpectedly, I think Cayle’s winning.

When he decided to open up, he did so with a vengeance and I haven’t had a moment’s peace since.  While I’m at the day job, when I’m in the shower, I get ideas.  Cayle whispers to me as I’m walking up the hill back from coffee and I have to stop and frantically tap it out.  No matter where I am or what I’m doing, ideas for Masques find me and I have to capture them. So many notes.  It’s going to take me forever to organize them and put them into the Outliner document.  Yes, I know it’ll be worth it, but every time I start working on that, there’s another secret he teases me with and I get distracted.  I’m starting to think he’s going to own me as much as Devan currently does.  What is it with my fictional men?  Oh wait, that’s part of what I love about them. ;)

Yes, I know, Spire of Time has its own bunch of notes and is enthralling in its own way.  I haven’t forgotten that Reah’s been patient, though she sort of deserves this after trying to derail me from writing Necromantic.  Yes, the ideas for Spire had me just as excited, and I still am.  It’s not a question of whether I’ll write that trilogy, only when.  And I’m not saying she won’t be next, only that Cayle’s putting up a good fight on that front.  No matter who wins, I probably won’t have much for down time when the next project is complete, as the one after will almost certainly be whoever loses this fight and will be more or less ready to go.  I promise, I’m not complaining about this.  I am aware that some writers would love to have this much ready to go.  I just hate choosing, because I always end up wondering if I’ve made the right choice.  I just about torture myself with the idea that I chose wrong, actually.  It’s not pretty.

I’m going to go with it for now, let Cayle have his way with me while he’s feeling so helpful and see where things land after I finish Devan’s final book.  I don’t have to even think about a decision too much until then at least.  Maybe it’ll be clearer toward the end of November.  I’m praying for that.

In other news, I did get the sticky-note-covered copy of Bound back from my friend over the weekend, and will definitely be spending the time between now and whenever I finish going through and making these final edits to that book.  No, I’m not worried about that taking me a bit past November 1st.  After the way August camp turned out (started out 5 days late, finished early anyway), I think I’ll be just fine if that’s required.  I may or may not send that final version off to a single test reader for a last go through, mostly for a thumbs up or thumbs down opinion.  I’m not 100% for sure about that.  If not, it’ll go straight to the person I’m having format this for me.  Yes, really, it’s that close to being done.  I can feel part of me trying to draw out these last steps, mostly out of fear and uncertainty.  That’s part of why I’m not sure about that final test reader.  I don’t entirely trust that it isn’t just a delaying tactic, a way of pushing off that scary nudge out the door of my first novel.  Once it’s published, that’s it.  I refuse to be one of those authors who revises a published book.  For me, that’s when I’ll need to move forward resolutely to the next book.  That’s how this is supposed to work.  I’ll see how I feel about the test reader when I’m done with the changes.  It’s not like this hasn’t been through a few of those already anyway.

I think I’m going to make myself crazy with all this second-guessing by the time Bound is published.  Okay, you got me.  Crazier.  Even then, I’m not sure anyone would notice the difference. ;)

So things are moving inexorably forward on many fronts, and November is around the corner.  I’m going to follow the same pattern I did last year with NaNo.  In addition to having a long weekend due to Remembrance Day here, I’m taking two days off around the last weekend of November, in case I need to make a final push.  Yeah, I know, unlikely that it’ll be necessary, but you never know.  Stranger things have happened, I’m sure.  I’m looking forward to getting back to writing a new book though.  I need the change of pace from editing.  It might have been a very bad thing for me mentally that the first pass through All Stitched Up went so quickly.  I’m growing tired of editing.  One last thing, I keep reminding myself as I go through Bound, then I get to write something new.  Almost there.

~ by Julie on October 22, 2012.

6 Responses to “Masques and Spires, Tug-of-War Edition”

  1. It is very fun to watch your process over this! I have several ideas happening right now too; and when I’m on a walk with the dog, I’ll often times try to think of exactly which story I should work on upon returning home. Inevitably, I feel that I’ve chosen wrong, or end up procrastinating and learning from others instead of trying to work on them..but it all works out in the end, somehow, hopefully :)

    • Thanks!

      I have to be honest, the one thing I refuse to let all this indecision do is keep me from writing. For a variety of reasons, I have to write. Besides, there will always be choices, even when writing a story. You can’t let that stop you. Write anyway. Explore it. If it doesn’t work, toss it and try again (yes, I’ve done that). All you’ve lost is time, but isn’t it just as lost if you procrastinate and don’t write? So really, there’s nothing to lose. Write, follow the story and the characters. Sometimes they take you places you didn’t expect but those can be the best places too. :)

  2. I’ve been away from WP again but it’s nice to see you trucking right along. Oh and I like this new layout.

    • With the sort of semester you’re having at school, I’m not surprised that there hasn’t been time for blogs. Hope school’s still going well though.

      Thanks, I’m glad you like it. I think I’m getting used to it. Like a major change in hair style or moving, it’s taken time. And you know I’m always trucking along. Going a bit nuts trying to decide my next project, but I’ll get to put that aside soon to write, and that’ll be a nice change for me. :)

  3. Wow, things are moving along! I just hope Reah and Cayle don’t accidentally break you in half… :P
    I’m glad you’ve got a lot going though… anything to keep you busy, seeing what problems you’ve been having lately with going crazy(er) with not enough projects to work on. ;)

    Speaking of: Guess what! I finally found a solution to my own problem! My NaNo novel just wasn’t opening up for me and I wasn’t excited for it (bad plan for NaNo…) so . . . a couple days ago I changed what novel I’m writing for NaNo. 10 days to go and all. XD I decided actually to start writing the first in my fantasy series. (I’ve written the 4th and half-written the 2nd) It’s the one that’s been hanging out in my head the most lately, begging for attention, and it finally gets it. Long story but it used to be number 2 and 3 but then I cut out the first book and combined the second two. So I finally realized–“wait, I don’t have to make it line up with the others because it’s suddenly the first one! I can just make everything else line up with IT!” Hence, I’m going to write it. (Hmm, indirectly taking your advice…) It’s going to be amazing to get back to it and my series after all this time. So hurrah for that!

    I can’t wait for NaNo! I’m SOOOO excited! :D Meanwhile, hopefully that excitement will power me through some final plotting…

    • Wait, if they break me in half, then I can write both the stories at once, right? Yay!!!

      I’m glad to hear you’re listening to your own imagination really. I only made the suggestion because you seemed to be fixating on that series, which makes me think you really needed to write it. In fact, I’m fairly sure that’s how the issue of Reah vs Cayle is going to be solved. It is how I ended up deciding between Devan and Reah, to tell you the truth.

      Btw, excitement about the story is what always powers me through the outline stage. As I said before, that’s where I’m discovering the story, so yeah, very exciting times. :)

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,022 other followers

