Whispers From Behind The Mask

Ah, the miracle of laptops and wifi, I can still post while I’m away for a wedding.  Only, I miss my kitties.  Small price to pay to see one of my best friends get married to a fabulous guy.  So looking forward to tonight.

You can imagine that this means I won’t be getting a lot done this weekend, writing- or editing-wise.  It might even be a nice short break.  No, this doesn’t mean that I’m not getting anything done at all.  As long as I have access to my notes and OmniOutliner, I can always get writing-related stuff done. 😀  I know, classic workaholic.  I’m hoping you’ll all thank me for that one day, as it will mean you have plenty to read (if you like my work that is).

Reading that qualification, I think I need to find a place to buy an ego.  Mine’s either missing or defective, and I’m not sure which it is.  Either way, it suggests I should find a way to get one.  Anyone have the address for an Ego Store, preferably in Vancouver?

As my brain is (still) in story-building overdrive as a way of not starting my NaNoWriMo novel, I’m making a lot of notes.  Do you remember me complaining that I couldn’t get Masques to unlock?  Then a short while where Cayle (MC for that project) was whispering?  He stopped after that, slipped behind his mask and just sat there while I went nuts with both Spire of Time and Queen and Raven.  Yeah, about that, he’s not doing that anymore.  In the last few days, he’s gone from that to now barely stopping long enough for me to sleep.  Definitely not complaining and, like the other two projects, Masques is full of compelling ideas and possibilities, and will be a bit of a stretch in its own way.  To be honest, at this point, I’m starting to think he’s fighting to be my next project… Hmm, I think my MCs are having a Battle Royale in my head at the moment.  Again, not complaining, but I feel torn in a million directions as I try to decide which to work on after I wrap up Necromantic next month.

One of the reasons I think he’s trying to be my next project is that I now have tentative titles for all three books, the base idea for all three and a pretty good flow of events for the first one.  Give it another week and he might be caught up to Reah (Spire) in terms of how far the story is along the development path.  No matter what happens, the next year and a half of writing (if I don’t slow down at least) is pretty much laid out before me.  The only question is what order they’ll be written in.  And that’s if nothing else explodes in my brain.  At the moment, I’m kind of hoping it doesn’t, as I’m not sure said brain can hold anything more than it already has.  In fact, I’m almost certain it’s already overflowing with all three projects currently on overdrive.

I suppose there are worse things to have, but the overflow is making me forget things.  You know, like eating, sleeping.  Minor stuff, really. 😮

Oh, and sorry, no picture today.  I know there hasn’t been one for the last couple of posts (not counting wonderful cover art), each for their own reasons.  In this case, being on the road, and therefor with no access to my photo collection, I don’t have the ability to do that for this post.  I don’t keep the collection on my Macbook Air because it’s too big to fit, a result of shooting at high resolution.  Oh well.  I’m sure you’ll all survive without it for just a little longer.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whispers From Behind The Mask

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Yay, you’re taking some time off, almost! 😀 Good for you.

    …I’m actually suffering from that “brain is (still) in story-building overdrive as a way of not starting my NaNoWriMo novel, I’m making a lot of notes.” Hence, every single one of my books I’m going to write are bombarding my head, EXCEPT my NaNo and the book I should be finishing this week. *headdesk* Nooooo. 😛

    Wow, you sound like you’ll be busy. 😉

    • Julie says:

      It’s only relatively off. Not editing, but lots of building.

      I hate to say it, but I’m having a giggle about your problem, since it’s so close to mine. Still, better than having writers block.

  2. Ottabelle says:

    You always make me smile and give me a reason to want to keep writing. I want my ideas to explode like yours do.

    I wonder if I can handle it… I suppose my brain is being kind to me and waiting.

    • Julie says:

      Honestly, I find handling it all comes down to making notes on every idea that comes to you and thinking about hose ideas and then making more notes. I would forget so much if I didn’t. I’d probably lose at least half of this stuff, probably more, if I didn’t make good notes on the things I think up.

      Glad you’re keeping inspired though.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

