What Do You Mean, I Have Limits?

So, I’ve been noticing something the last couple of days that comes as a bit of a surprise to me.  I think I’ve hit my limit for editing, at least for my own stuff.

Now, I suppose this shouldn’t surprise me, given I’ve just done 4 straight full-novel passes of editing.  The shortest of those novels is 95,500 words, and I’ve now done that one twice since finished August Camp NaNo.  The other two were 103k and 114k words.  That’s a LOT of editing.  In fact, I get tired just typing that.  It might have been a bit much to do all at once, because now I’m having trouble concentrating on editing a single short story.  Hmm.  This is going to pose a problem.  I still have a ways to go before the end of October, when I get to write Still They Watch.

Yes, I could keep working on building Spire of Time, and I have been, to the point that I have the basis for each of the books, some detail on the second, and a significant amount on book 1.  I have titles for the first two already.  But with the amount I already have on the go, doing that will probably only make the excessive editing worse down the road.  I think I’m mostly whining here, as I have no idea what to do about this.  Taking a break doesn’t seem to be an option either.  I’m trying to take this afternoon off, to relax and give myself a break from writing.  Instead, I’m getting twitchy.  I want to be writing.  I just can’t seem to get my brain down to concentrate on editing.  I want words, but apparently I want new words.  I want to race along the edge of a new story.  That one short wasn’t enough to ease the need.  Clearly, I need to write something every other month.  This two month break is killing me. Who would have guessed that would be such a problem?

I have no intention of starting early on my NaNo novel, and that’s partly because NaNo isn’t really as far away as it feels. It’s only 19 days away.  Hmm.  I need to fold time.  To make Then Now. I know that will happen Soon, but I want it to be Now.

Also, note to lungs.  You can stop being sick and coughing any bloody time you like.  Thanks, sincerely, me.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What Do You Mean, I Have Limits?

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Oh no! Julie, you have so many problems! (The opposite of mine but problems nonetheless…)

    Have you seen the new shiny epic NaNo forums? 🙂 Sooo excited!!!

    WHAT NANO IS ONLY 19 DAYS AWAY WHAT. How did this creep up on me?? *panics* I need to be plotting frantically, while simultaneously finishing that story I’ve been trying to finish for the last month or two. I need to do both before November. Instead . . . I’m messing around with notes for my 8-book fantasy series that has no immediate need to be messed with. *headdesk* Why am I so stupid? 😛 Whenever I want to be working on my fantasy series, I get distracted by other stuff. Now that I really NEED to be working on that other stuff, it takes this moment to attack me and say “Hey! Look how shiny and fun I am! Come play with me! Please? C’mon, it’s been over six months since you really thought about me much…” And I’m like “…. O_O” *siiigh*
    Sorry, I’m rambling. But in my defense, the little thing above this says “Share your thoughts/rants/irritations” so perhaps I’m excused… 😛

    As for your problem . . . Um . . . write another short story? 😀 Hope you feel better soon and get something figured out to stop the twitching!

    Hugs,
    -Deborah

    • Julie says:

      I was one of the people who beta tested those shiny forums this year. The whole shiny site in fact.

      And you know, November 1st happens about the same time every year. You did notice when we entered October, right?

      Maybe your fantasy series is trying to tell you that you should write *that* for NaNo this year. I mean, planning a lengthy series is good and all, but at some point, you have to start writing it. 🙂 Hint, nudge, poke.

      I’m not ready to write the only two short works simmering in my head. I think I have a plan for how to take care of my twitching though. Details… Um, when I’m good and ready.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Really?? How did you have TIME? (They’re so shiny! <3)

        I know, I know. 😛 I more meant: How did October manage to have 12 days already? Probably because I was camping for a week of that…

        I don't want to write my series books for NaNo because they're so complicated… So NaNo is how I justify writing my other, less-important books. 😀 Thanks for the nudging and poking and hinting though. 😉 And it's not like I've ONLY been plotting. I've written one already, which I need to rewrite, and I was deeply in the midst of writing another when that book I'm writing now grabbed me in April and made me start writing it.

        Ooh, ooh! *waits hopefully for details* 🙂 You could always . . . y'know . . . read a book, watch a movie, take pictures… Then again, reading might make you want to write, and pictures might give you inspiration for another story which you REALLY don't need right now. So maybe you should watch something fun but brainless like The Avengers or something… (has no idea what sort of movies you like)

        • Julie says:

          I had to do something with my time, so the testing seemed like a good idea.

          Trust me, anything I try to do, I’ll be distracted the whole time by the burning urge to write. It never takes even a moment off. I dream about it, think about it every minute I’m awake. If only my day job knew that half the time I’m there, my brain is only half on what they have me doing. Fortunately I’m good enough at my job that they don’t seem to notice.

          Maybe NaNo’s the thing you need to get you through that rewrite though, if you know what you need to do to make it better. Just a thought, since your story is prodding you. 🙂

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Well, as long as it worked for you… All the stuff you’re able to do continues to amaze me.

            Eh, sometimes I feel like that so I guess I understand. And I’ve been dreaming about my characters lately, too… 🙂

            Haha, nope! The stories in the series I’m getting distracted on are not ones I need to be messing with, and I don’t have the rewrite plotted out so . . . I’ll just write what I’m planning on and hope I can focus on it enough to plot it first. Hopefully my series will shut up until after November… 😛

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    :O Julie you changed your blog! Right before my very eyes! 🙂 It’s BEAUTIFUL! ❤ (It'll take me awhile to get used to though. :D)

  3. Pete Denton says:

    That is a LOT of editing. I don’t know how you do it. NaNo is hurtling towards you. It’ll be here before you know.

    I like the new look blog. Everything looks a lot easier to read. For my eyes at least.

    I hope your lungs obey soon. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’m hoping for that too. I am getting better, it’s just a lot slower than I’d like.

      Glad you like the new look. I suspect I’ll spend a couple of days looking at it before I get used to it. 🙂

      As for NaNo, unless it’s tomorrow, I think I’m still going to be impatient. I really want to write STW. At least I know I’ll be able to hit the ground running. The opening scene is already trying to write itself in my head.

  4. 4amWriter says:

    Love the new blog look, very sleek. How did you do your banner?

    I’m starting to get anxious for NaNo, a combo of impatience and nervousness. I had really wanted to get an outline going ahead of time (got the story idea, but that’s about it) because the pantsing has not proven beneficial to me lately.

    Your plea to your lungs is the same plea I have to my sinuses. Stop dripping! Thank you.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! I did the banner myself. I bought the background picture and added the text in Preview (kind of like Acrobat). I had to work a bit to make it fit right though.

      It’s definitely hard to be creative when sick. I had to stop editing my friend’s ms for a while. I add my plea to your sinuses, have mercy on the poor writer. 🙂

      What’s your username for NaNo? I’ll add you as a buddy so we can cheer each other on.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

