The River Flows On

I don’t know about everyone else, but I had a busy, productive weekend, though I’m sure no one who reads this will be surprised.

I finished the two chapters of All Stitched Up, so that’s back in the drawer.  Still no major work required, and no, I haven’t stopped being uneasy about that.  Not sure I will be able to, really, at least not until it gets to test readers, and there’s still another two rounds of edits before I plan on doing that.  I’m sure it seems wrong to complain about something being good, but I still view myself as being my harshest critic, partly out of necessity, so the idea of losing the ability to do that actually worries me.

I also sat down and tweaked the outline for Still They Watch over the weekend.  It took as little as I thought it might to get those small changes in, but I have another problem now.  I am seriously desperate for it to be November 1st.  Dear god, do I want to start writing this now.  It’s funny, because I was worried that the outline was too linear, that the story was too boring.  I was wrong.  Entirely wrong.  The next 21 days are going to take forever, I can feel that already.

This, of course, means I need to work harder than ever to keep myself distracted from starting my NaNo book before November 1st.  I suspect this will lead to getting even more done, which is both a good thing and frightening, all at the same time.  Right now, I’m in the middle (well, closer to the end really) of the out loud edit for The Nine, but I should only need another day or two to finish that, with less than a half dozen chapters to go through.  The really great thing is that I still vaguely remember where some of the changes I made where, and they worked beautifully.  It’s not that the changes are obvious either.  I’m realizing after I read those parts that yeah, that’s where I made that change, which is also a good sign.  It feels like a good close to the Mirrors trilogy, and gives me some serious hope that I can pull off my plans for STW and the close of Necromantic.

It feels a bit crazy to be talking about the close of two trilogies so close together, and what’s crazier still is the amount of work I’m starting to put into Spire of Time.  As I got in the door from work a short while ago, I had one of the most major events in the second book unfold in my head, and it was glorious.  I mean, wow.  It may be a bit hard to write, because it draws on one of the most raw and painful moments in my life, but at the same time, it transforms that experience in it’s own way, as the story requires, and I agree with the idea that writing it from that raw, honest place will lend it something incredible.  That whole project is starting to unfurl in my thoughts and notes like a plant under the warm sun.  The major events of the first book are more or less in place, though there might be some rearranging or minor adding. I’m always up for change, yet it’s nice to see it coming together. We’re now several months after I had the initial idea, and I worry sometimes about how hard it will be to recapture the spark of a story when so much time has passed.  This has been teaching me the skill of finding the glowing ember and fanning it back into flames.  With Spire, we now have a bonfire.  It’s been enough that I did write that first short story for it, called The Beckoning Spire.  It’s about 4600 words, but I’m not sure what I think of it.  I haven’t even opened the file since I finished it on Saturday evening, because I’m actually afraid it’s a bit of a mess.  But I’ll work with what I have.  I’m sure I can shape it into something good in the end.  It’ll just require time and work.  The fun thing was that I realized there’s definitely another one, though that will probably be a bit shorter.  Someone else from Spire is insisting on having a voice.  It makes sense, because I know I’ll have to explore this character more as that trilogy goes on anyway.  I’m letting the ideas for that one stew for a bit though before I try to write it.

I am still trying to figure out titles for the Spire of Time books.  I’m having more trouble with this than I did with the Necromantic books, but those were unusually easy.  I’m going to try the tactic that helped me figure them for Necromantic though, in hopes that it’ll work this time too.  I suppose I shouldn’t expect it to always go as well as that trilogy has.  It doesn’t usually, especially not with titles.  We’ll see.  It’s going to be a while before I’d be sharing titles anyway.

I’m also starting to get that final feedback on Bound in.  It’s going to take a while, as schedules don’t always line up the way we’d like, but my friend and I will get through it.  Then there will only be a few small steps to take with that one.  You have no idea how the idea makes me want to run and hide.  I won’t, or at least I won’t let that stop me, but still, it’s how I feel.  This publishing thing is scary!

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The River Flows On

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Scary, but you’ll get through it and do it well. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, I’m glad one of us has faith in me. I’m starting to think I’ve lost what passes for my mind. At the very least, the last of my sanity slipped away while I was out sick. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

