Improvement and Overdrive

You know, Fridays of a long weekend are wonderful, magical things.  So full of promise, and the joyous thought of being a full time writer for three whole days, instead of just two.  It’s the little things that make me happy.

For those wondering, yes, I’m feeling better.  I was off work for two days, and I’m not yet 100%, but I’ll take 80 and not coughing up a lung with little in the way of complaints.

The good thing about those days off is that I got a lot of writing work done.  That’s almost like resting, isn’t it?  Close enough, if you ask me.  Besides, sleeping was out of the question because they’re still working on the balconies and the workers start at 8 am.  I had to do something.  No, it’s not because I’m addicted to Devan.  Not at all.  I can feel the smirks from here.

But yeah, lots of editing done.  I’d kind of figured I would be spending all of October working on the first round of edits for All Stitched Up, or close enough to the whole month.  I’d counted on that to carry me through.  It was a sound plan, since it usually takes me a few weeks to get through the first round.

Um…. I have two chapters left as of this moment.  Out of 32.  Both of them are short, one very very much so. *stares at the calendar* This might be a bit of a challenge.  That’s not to say I have nothing to do. It’s more that I don’t have anything significant enough to occupy my mind entirely.  So this is going to require a bit of self-control.  We all know I have gobs of that.  Again with the smirks and snorts of laughter.

The good thing is that I’ve got some tweaks I need to make to my outline for Still They Watch, but I have some serious doubts that it’ll take that long to work them in.  Just a few continuity things that I’ve found in editing Stitched.  This is why I’m glad I had a chance to edit that one before November. But still, I’m going to need to find more to do than that.

Of course, Spire of Time is still calling (frequently), and a number of other projects are actively whispering. Also, I think I need to go back and look at a couple of my short stories to decide what to do with them.  One of the three is still in that contest, but the other two are just sitting there, and that’s not right.  Writing is meant to be shared, isn’t it?  I mean, what’s a story without an audience to enjoy it?  And I should figure something out sooner rather than later.  I know that I’ll be writing at least one short piece to warm up for Spire of Time, maybe two, which means that they’re starting to back up on me.  They might overflow and create a messy explosion, with mismatched story bits all over the place.  That’s not good.  Hmm, so much to think about.  And in the midst of it all, a desperate desire to write SOMETHING new, likely caused by editing 3 straight novel manuscripts.  I’m starting to think that Reah’s short story may hit the screen sooner than later.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Improvement and Overdrive

  1. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Congratulations on doing so well with he new short story.x

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’ll have to see this morning how last night’s work turned out. Sometimes it’s good stuff when I write until I can’t keep my eyes open, other times, well, less so. 😉

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Hmm, you could prepare another outline and squeeze two novels into Nano…. If anyone could, I think it’s you!

    • Julie says:

      Lol, I love your confidence in me. The problem is that the next book after this one that I write isn’t entirely ready for outlining. I’m still working on some of the world-building and overall story-building for Spire of Time. Plus, I’d rather not sabotage myself by getting overambitious. As it is, I expect to be writing another 100k draft for November. I suppose you could say that counts as a double-NaNo, given the goal is 50k. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

