Solutions and Samples

All right, today’s post might be a bit short and sweet.  I’m fairly sick and trying desperately to get better, but this cold is trying to climb into my lungs and have a party.  Let me assure you, I would not enjoy such festivities.

Editing has been progressing well on All Stitched Up.  I’m almost done Chapter 6 of 32.  It’s still turning out better than I’ve any right to expect on the first draft.  That’s not to say that I haven’t been making changes, and there area few places where I’ve tossed a whole paragraph and rewritten it, but it hasn’t been the same level of work that the first book of the trilogy required.  I suppose that makes sense for a couple of reasons.  First, Where The Ether Flows did have to set the stage for everything and I was still working some of the smaller details out when I wrote it.  Second, I’d just finished editing that book when I started writing this one, so I guess things were fresh in my mind.  Either way, I’m still a bit uneasy about it, but the work progresses well nonetheless.

The other big thing that I’ve been working on is Spire of Time, of course.  Being my next project, it’s looming a bit large in my thoughts, but I’ve been making some progress on that too.  I’ve sorted out the magic system, which I hadn’t been totally sure of, and lurking in it was a secret one of the characters had, a rather important one to the overall story and which reveals a lot more about him and how he’ll behave in the books.  A lot of secrets are coming out of the woodwork now, and I shudder to think how many pages would be required to print out my Notes document, which has been getting steadily longer as things become more developed.  I’ll have to do that soon though.  Yesterday, I started the OmniOutliner document for Spire and got a whole bunch of stuff down in it, largely from memory and discovery.  The best part?  I figured out how something needs to be handled and how it works, something that has been giving me fits almost since I thought of this idea.  I don’t think I could accurately describe to you my relief at having that piece finally solved.  I only have one thing left so far that is giving me that kind of trouble, but it’s slowly resolving too.

On the subject of discovery, I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately, the way writers tend to self-identify, the names we use for our process on the way to a completed story.  Some interesting thoughts, but I’m not quite ready to write about it yet.  I want to do ti when I’m healthier (not half dead and coughing), and once I’ve had more time to sort out my thoughts on the matter.  It’s going to be another one of those pre-planned posts, as opposed to this type, where I make a few notes on general topics and let my fingers loose on the keyboard.

Finally, I’ve noticed a number of people around the web doing this thing called Six-Sentence Sunday, and it looks interesting.  While I’m not normally a joiner, and I doubt this will become a regular thing, I wanted to try it out, see what people think.  Here’s mine, from Bound, the first volume of the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy:

Fay nodded politely at the greeting as she walked into the foyer of the tower. As she passed, the other woman laid a hand lightly on her arm and it was all Fay could do to keep from flinching. Ivanne made her uneasy, but Fay had quickly learned how to deal with and hide her perpetual desire to shrink away. As Ivanne had been Ganson’s assistant for over forty years, long before his tenure at the academy began, he relied on her a great deal. This had made the woman part of Fay’s education since coming to Voleno, leaving her with little other choice than to control her reaction. This time, however, Ivanne seemed to sense something, because she withdrew her hand almost immediately. In a gentle voice, she said, “I was sorry to hear how things fell out with your father at the ceremony. I’ve always hoped he would come around for you, even at that last moment.”

*For those of you counting, yes, I cheated. It’s a touch longer than 6 sentences.  I’m trying to stay consistent.  I always cheat on sample length. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Solutions and Samples

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re sick!! 😦 I hope you get better sooon! *sends virtual hugs and pillows*

    I should have outlined mine better… If I had, I’d probably be done now.

    I LOVE hearing about people’s thinking/outlining/writing processes! 😀

    Ooh, snippet! Nice! 🙂 And, again, good luck on that editing!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. *jumps into the virtual pile of pillows, climbs out and jumps in again*

      I refuse to totally grow up. That wouldn’t be any fun 🙂

      Regarding outlining, I will be the first to admit that, while that’s what works for me, it isn’t for everyone. I don’t know if it’s for you, as only you can figure that out. I had to try it because I never finished anything when I tried to pants novels. It wasn’t about speed at all, nor should it have been. Finishing is the important part. Everyone writes at their own pace. I’d be the first to admit that mine’s a little insane.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I’m glad you’ll never totally grow up. 😀 Enjoy those pillows!

        Yeah, I know. But outlining is what I always need to do. My first NaNo I totally pantsed and . . . no. XD I ended up so far behind and having to write 8k the last day, which likewise was not planned and was full of TONS of unexpected plottwists. It was fun, though hectic, but I don’t think I’m cut out to be a pantser… Plotter all the way, I am! Which just means I make messes for myself if I get ahead of myself and write stuff I haven’t plotted.

        Insane, but totally awesome! 😀

        • Julie says:

          You see, that’s why I plot the whole thing before I start writing. I know how fast I write and that I will get ahead of myself. And won’t want to stop for more plotting. I has patience issues.

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Fall and spring illnesses seem to be worse and more insidious than those that strike in winter. Take care of yourself so you can be healthy and raring to go for NaNoWriMo! Fortunately, editing is easily done in bed, and you can grab some sleep in between bouts. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Rofl, so true on all counts. And I’m fairly sure nothing short of death would stop me from doing NaNo. Even in the hospital, I’d just insist on having my laptop. There’s a reason I refer to myself as an addict. 😀

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Hope you feel better soon. I’m battling one of those infamous autumn colds myself. Not fun.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

