Um, Where Did That Come From?

An interesting thing happened to me on my way home from my daily trip to Starbucks yesterday.  I had an idle thought.  That doesn’t sound like much to those of you who don’t know me well, but let me assure you, most of my best story ideas start out as idle thoughts.  This one was extra-awesome, too, though hardly the first time I’ve ever had this type of thought.  I wondered if I’d ever get back to Devan and the world of Necromantic after I write Still They Watch and edit the whole trilogy into publication.

That thought led to an interesting discovery.  I think Devan’s as unwilling to let go of me as I am to let go of him.  Why do I say that?  Because a new story in his world came to mind almost the moment I had that idle thought.  Devan’s only sort of in it, and it happens after his trilogy, but it’s rather mind-blowing already.  Seriously, I stopped walking right in the middle of the climb up a street I refer to as Mount Son-of-a-Bitch and mashed the keys of my blackberry frantically, trying to get it all down before it faded (which it still hasn’t done, but never mind that).  Then I got home and transcribed that, plus a bunch more.  I have the kernel of something amazing here.  And it flows so nicely out of the end of Devan’s trilogy that it’s startling.  I almost feel like he was sitting there waiting for me to ask.  Is there any end to his cooperation with the things I want?

Now that idea needs to sit and stew for a while, not just because I have other stories that have been waiting patiently for their turn, but also because it’s not ready.  I actually suspect it’s just that my brain’s in full story-building mode at the moment, as I’ve been making some steady progress building Spire of Time the last few days as well, particularly today.  That one’s showing some serious potential to be awesome in its own right.  Reah’s been whispering to me all yesterday afternoon and today, including a few things I never expected.  It’s fantastic.  I may take some time in December (or sooner if I get impatient) to write her a short story, a bit of a prelude to the novels.  It’s worked marvellously for me with Necromantic, as a way to get a taste of the world and my main character.

Beyond that? Jacari’s still whispering too and I just figured out the opening short story to write for that one. It’s growing into a nice tale as well, but he’s going to have to be patient, as I don’t see me getting to him until probably Spring at the earliest.  At least it’ll have enough time to grow and mature before I try to write it, right?  I’m going to give up on ever having enough hours in the day right about now, by the way.  It’s clear that’s never going to happen, that I really won’t ever keep up with all of this.  Do we have a name for the opposite of writer’s block?  Because I think I have that.  No, definitely not complaining.  I just want to write all the stories at once, not that I have that option, really.  Oh well, life really could be worse.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Um, Where Did That Come From?

  1. R. K. MacPherson says:

    Oh, I’ve been there. Minus the mashing my BlackBerry’s keys.

    • Julie says:

      Yay! Company! It’s oddly comforting to know that other people have the random-thought-blows-up-into-story thing happen. I feel less odd. Only a little less though. This is still me, after all. 😉

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Why does this not surprise me? 😉 More Devan haha!

    Seriously though, I love when random thoughts turn into big fantastic things! 😀

    Also, hit 75k (and then 77k) last night – yay! 🙂 (I dunno… I just like to bubble ;))

    How’s that editing coming?

    • Julie says:

      It’s going well. Almost a quarter of the way through Stitched. It’s still better than I had any right to hope, though definitely not perfect.

      And the new idea? Only sort of about Devan, as he’s not the main character. But I really like the world, and I’m thrilled to know I’ll be back there… At some point.

      Congrats on your progress. 🙂 It’s always nice to make good headway.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Yay! Good to hear. 😀

        Haha, do I know about THAT… I’ve got a 8-10 book fantasy series in the works, most of which have different main characters. 😉

        Thanks! Yes, it’s fantastic. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Somebody’s Jumping The Gun « Word Flows

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

