War Of Whispers

Most of the time, I’ve noticed my ideas seem to come one bit at a time.  I’ll only have one project that I’m working on at the idea stage, even if I’m writing another.  It’s made things easier in many ways, particularly in regard to knowing what I’ll be working on next and letting my thoughts focus in the right place.  I find I miss that at the moment, however  much I might enjoy at least parts of this inspiration.

You see, at the moment, they’re all attacking me at once.  Really.  Queen and Raven has been the loudest, and I got a sweeping view into the history two of the characters share, and how a third relates in, but they’re all going off.  I  think my brain’s going to start seriously giving up soon.  If not for notes, I’d never be able to keep track of all this, honestly.

What else is there, beyond Q&R? Let’s see, there was a bit from Sketh, who hates to be forgotten, and Saul gave me yet another tidbit. And an old friend who hasn’t made himself known in a while popped up to inform me of a few things, including that he has at least a second book (I’m waiting for him to say it’s 3, because I know that’s got to be coming from my track record). Who might this one be? Arcalyus, from The Ailing Tree.  Yeah, seriously, it’s been several months since I’ve heard from him, even though I’d expected to write that one after the Mirrors trilogy.  That story is turning into a giant pretzel in my head now, becoming much more complicated than I’d expected it to when I started tip-toeing into outlining it.

And, of course, there’s Still They Watch.  You didn’t really think Devan would let ANY of the others drown him out, did you?  I certainly didn’t.  As much as I don’t want to finish this trilogy, to have to say goodbye to my darling Necromancer, I have to, and he’s being his usual cooperative self once I get serious about building the story.  I doubt I’m even a quarter of the way through the outline yet, but I made some great progress last night, including outlining the most major scene in the early part of the book.  Ideas in general have been flowing well with it, and the things that are going to happen make me eager to get writing this.  I want to see it weave together into a real narrative, which my outline would never be confused with.  I can almost feel the words trying to take shape inside my head, even as I’m just outlining the events.  As always, Devan and Necromantic thoroughly intoxicate me, and I adore every second of it.

At this rate, I suspect I’ll have the outline done before the end of the month, possibly sooner.  Hell, depending on how it goes tonight, I wouldn’t be wholly surprised if I had it done by the end of this weekend.  After that, of course, the outline goes in a drawer and I decide what to do next.  It will almost certainly be the first round of edits on All Stitched Up, because I really can’t wait to dig back into that one.  I totally blame Devan.  If he wasn’t so awesome, I wouldn’t be so addicted to working on his books.  I suspect people will forgive that addiction when his time comes to be loosed upon the world. 🙂

One final thing before I go.  A friend of mine and fellow writer, Emily Potter, has entered a contest that involves writing and posting a flash-fiction ghostly paranormal romance.  Hers is a fabulous entry, but you don’t have to take my word for it.  You should go check it out for yourself.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to War Of Whispers

  1. Em says:

    Thanks so much for the shout-out! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Any time I may prod you for more story though, as the price of a shout out 🙂 I really like that piece.

      • Em says:

        You might have to give me a year or two…the whole story hasn’t unfolded for me yet (and it’s not like I don’t have others to keep me busy until it does!). Actually, considering how unsure I was about it, a few people have requested a ‘full version’, so I’ll have to keep it in mind if I ever do get stumped for ideas.

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    I predict a weekend full of ideas, writing, outlining, and editing—and images of a frantic juggler flashing through your mind…. 😉

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, I get that same image ever time I think about writing, so I have it every minute. I think I’m becoming rather skilled at it, thank god. And yes, I share your prediction. It’s going to be a delightful, but too short, weekend filled with, well, Devan. 😀

  3. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Awww, you poor, poor person. 😉 *giggles*

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

