If My Head Explodes…

Prediction met, I finished editing Where The Ether Flows last night.  Well, with only 22 pages to go, it would have been hard not to.  Oh well.  At least I’m becoming remotely happy with the state of it.  Okay, very happy, but that isn’t the point.  I’m sure it’s in my job description  that I need to be hard on myself.  It’s for self-improvement, really.

So, what next, you ask.  Wait, no, that’s me asking.  My bad.  In text, all the voices sound the same.  The honest answer is that I’m still deciding.  Realistically, I need to outline Still They Watch, so it can have time to sit and mature, and I can have some time off from it before reviewing and then writing it.  But, being me, I’m doing things in a slightly chaotic way.  I’m doing all the things at once, really.  Yeah, I know it sounds nuts, but look whose blog your reading.  You didn’t really expect sanity, did you?

I’m sort of looking over what I’ve written so far of the outline and thinking about the next things that need to happen, as well as the necessary general events throughout the book.  I need an ending though.  For the first time in a while, I  don’t have that sorted in my head already, so I need to do some serious thinking.  I mean, I know where I need to leave everyone in the story, but the events that land them there at the end are presently escaping me.  Anyone have those magic plot magnets?  I was hoping that I could wave one around my apartment and snag that ending. 🙂

I also did something that I probably shouldn’t have.  I ought to have known better, but, well, I put a pdf of All Stitched Up on my iPad.  That would have been fine, except that I opened the file there.  I swear, I was just trying to make sure it read all right, that I hadn’t screwed up formatting or conversion or anything.  The next thing I knew, I was scrolling into page 2.  I was EDITING IT!!!!!! Damn it, I wasn’t supposed to start doing that at least until I had done the outline for STW…

And, of course, Jacari still won’t let go of my brain.  I’ve had a few more inspirations for The Queen and Raven, including one on the way to Starbucks after work today.  And this morning, Saul reeled me in for a sweet whisper of his own that made me melt.  And he’s my very not nice guy!  WTF?  Maybe it was the wings that made me melt (those who know me in real life will understand that comment based on things I’ve said in the past).  Seriously, the ideas won’t leave me alone.  I don’t really want them to, but it would be nice if they’d let me get almost caught up at some point.  At this rate, that’s never going to happen.  Okay, maybe I shouldn’t complain, but I want to tell ALL the stories, and there simply aren’t enough hours in the day for that at present.  I don’t think there will be even if I manage to write full time.  Maybe I should give up on the notion that I can actually catch up, like ever.

So I guess what I’m saying is that, if anyone stole Hermione’s time turner, please forward it to me.  This writer desperately needs it. Now, I must head back into the writing cave to figure out which of the things I’m going to concentrate on.  Must try to concentrate.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to If My Head Explodes…

  1. winsomebella says:

    Your energy and output makes my head spin–can I have a little of it??

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m having a hard enough time with two WIPs and the short story I’m working into Poetic Archaeology. My head would’ve exploded long ago from far fewer ideas than you have! 🙂

  3. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Um . . . If your head explodes . . . all your characters would escape into the real world, right? So . . . you probably know better than us the sort of chaotic and dreadful things that would happen then! 😉

    I hope you get things figured out soon. 🙂
    And I love the picture, as always! 😀

  4. 4amWriter says:

    This is my busy time of year as we make the transition from summer to school and trying to get the kids into all the activities they want to do. I have had to bind and gag my characters for the past couple of weeks until I can get back to them. However, somehow, they still find a way to get into my head!

    Great photo. I want to know what’s in that gap…:)

    • Julie says:

      That’s one of the things I love about that photo, the possibilities of that dark gap. 🙂 I think a lot of people could use that as a place to start a story.

      And I’ve given up on the binding and gagging of characters. It NEVER works for me. :p Hope things smooth out for you soon though.

  5. Pete Denton says:

    Congratulations on finishing your latest editing. I think it’s great you have so many ideas flowing. Time turner would be useful, but I think you need a computer chip inserted into your brain so you can continue writing while you sleep. I’d buy one of them on ebay. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I don’t know. The one on ebay probably doesn’t come with a qualified installer, so I’d have to pay extra…

      Thanks, and in many ways, I do find it wonderful to have a lot of inspiration. It just makes me a little crazy, wanting to tell so many stories at one. Oh, and another one popped it’s head up today. Damn it *runs off to invent herself a lot of extra time*

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

