The To Do More List

I love it when the work and the weekend flow by with equal ease.  If only the weekend would do it more slowly than the work.  Sunday morning always makes me a little mournful when I wake up because, of course, I know that the next morning is a day-job day and I’ll have to put writing on hold all day, or at least until I get back home. 😦

But this has been a good weekend, so I shan’t complain too much.  Devan and I have had a merry time of editing Where The Ether Flows, in which I edited and he suffered.  Poor man, only he gets to have some fun too, I promise.  I’m now almost done, through 20 of 24 chapters, and I suspect that I might get through most of the rest today, despite my to do list of chores (Sunday is always my chores day).

On that note, being only mid-way through September and having lots of time until I hit NaNoWriMo, I’m looking back at that old to do list and realizing that I need a new one.  Um, okay, I might work too much on writing, but it’s all good because I still enjoy it, and remember, there is no off switch for this writer, and now I think there might also be no lower gear either.  It could be worse. So, new to do list time (not including what I’m working on because it’s almost done).  I’m calling this my To Do (More) List:

  • Outline Still They Watch and review before October 31st
  • First round edits on All Stitched Up
  • Get a handle on major arcs and themes for Spire of Time, as well as working on titles for each volume (maybe)

You know, the frightening part is that, looking at this list, I think I might still get all of that done before November.  On top of what I’ve already done since the start of November, that’s an intense amount of work for 2 months.  Hell, second round of edits on two novels in a bit over 2 weeks is insane, yet I’ve basically done it. Well, almost 3 weeks, but still.  And on top of that I had two other projects insist they need my brain. Funny thing is Queen and Raven isn’t letting go yet, not all the way.  That one spent yesterday zinging around a bit, and then another couple of idea fragments showed up that might turn into some interesting things.

In a way, I really like the idea of getting the first round of edits done on Stitched before I write STW, if only because then I’ll be writing the final book having re-familiarized my brain with the whole story to that point.  It seems like a good place to work from, though as I’ve said, I’ll be taking Devan to a new place and he’ll be meeting a lot of new people.  The few parts of the outline I’ve already done look rather fascinating.  Also, while editing Ether Flows, I have to say, I really love Devan and will miss him so intensely.  I wonder if they’d look at me funny if I went to therapy for the “loss” of a character?  I think they might.  Okay, maybe it isn’t that bad, but I really will miss him.  Let’s hope Reah is up for distracting me from that.  I’m sure she will be.  Spire is showing its own hints of fabulousness, even if it’s going to present some serious challenges.  That actually makes me happier.  New stories should present new challenges, or how will the writer ever grow?

And, as we head into Fall in my part of the world, I leave us all with a reminder of Spring, which always returns to us, the reward for surviving Winter.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The To Do More List

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    JULIE YOU ARE SO AMAZING AND INSPIRING AND GOOD LUCK EVEN THOUGH YOU DON’T NEED IT AND AAAAHHH! Sorry for caps. 😀 I just had to say it.

    Also, I LOVE that picture and the last line of the post! ❤ It's so poetic and beautiful! You should, like, be a writer or something. 😀

    • Julie says:

      *blush* Me? A writer? Aw, shucks, you’re just saying that. 😉

      Thanks for the good wishes. Hopefully I can keep all this up. There’s always the possibility I might crash and burn one of these days. :p

  2. You’re like a little perpetual motion machine all by yourself. Just be careful not to burn yourself out. We need breaks too, though I don’t recommend a 13 month one from writing like me. LOL.

    • Julie says:

      That’s the funny thing. I never even feel tired of doing this, let alone anywhere approaching burn out. Believe me, I watch for the signs, learned through a couple of day jobs over the years, so I can back off some if I need to, but they’re just not there. If anything, I’d say writing fuels more writing for me. What can I say, I’m an odd one, always have been. 🙂

      Glad you’re back to writing after that break. If you needed one that long, then it’s all good, though I can imagine getting back into the swing of things isn’t easy after that long.

  3. gabriellan says:

    You’re a steam train, Julie! It’s funny, you wrote a post about all the awesomeness you need to get done, and I wrote a post about all the stuff I didn’t want to do. I think I need to be more like you 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Just think how awesome it would feel to see something march that much closer to publication. Seriously, that feeling, that satisfaction is part of what drives me. The sense of the story becoming more like that finished, polished marble statue you see in the museum is intoxicating. It draws me forward, even on the days when I’m tired, or feel like I’m not equal to the task.

  4. Subtlekate says:

    You are a phenomenal inspiration.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

