Holy Chapters!

*watches a tumbleweed roll by* Honest, I’m not dead.  I know, it’s been a few days since I posted.  Blame Devan.  It’s definitely ALL his fault.

I’ve been concentrating fairly hard so far this week on editing Where The Ether Flows.  I’m almost done Chapter 12 now.  I checked and realize that I last reported being on Chapter 7, and that may not sound like that much, but it really is.  Keep in mind that Chapter 11 was 26 pages, and Chapter 12 is 29.  Ouch.  Now I know how I added 35k to this book without adding more chapters.  I may break those two up, but I’m not sure.  I mean, a lot happens in them, but it seems kind of long to me.  I’m still mulling that one.  Still, this puts me halfway through Ether Flows at not even halfway through September, and that makes me happy.

I’m looking at the timelines now and, given how well things have been moving along, I’m starting to think that I *may* have time to do the first round of edits on All Stitched Up before November 1st.  In a way, that would be good, because then I’d be starting the final book with the rest of the trilogy relatively fresh in my mind. Less time to forget it all. Trust me, with this many books on the go, my brain gets overloaded.  Also, it would give me time away from the outline of Still They Watch, which I’ll probably need before the final review.  I’ve been doing a bit of work on that outline, though not much because I’ve been busy working on Ether Flows.

And, of course, being in edit and outline mode seems to have brought the idea monster side of my brain out in full force.  I’ve had two new ideas start kicking around in the last few days, plus another one that I didn’t write down fast enough.  I know it was kickass, and that it involved a total reversal of an old cliche, but that’s all I have.  I’m hoping it’ll come back, but I have to be honest.  I already have so much to work on that there’s no way I’ll ever catch up anyway.

There really isn’t that much else to report.  I’ve noticed that, unless I’m actually writing a new book, week days are a bit dull for me.  I don’t have any big amounts of editing to report, and little of interest happens most of those days.  I just thought I should check in and update before someone sent out a search party.  I know some bloggers go much longer without posting, but I didn’t want anyone to worry.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Holy Chapters!

  1. quix689 says:

    I actually do start to get worried if you don’t post every few days. Obviously you’re working hard, but it’s always good to know for sure that you’re still alive and that your mind hasn’t exploded from plot overload or something. Besides, it’s always nice to hear about all the work that you’ve accomplished!

    And I’ve been worried about chapter length with my own work, as well. I would think that if the rest of them are fairly consistent then you could have one or two long chapters without it being a big deal, but that’s just me. Either way, keep up the great work. I have no doubt in my mind that you will get through both this round of edits and the first round of the next book. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Aww, thanks! And so far, the brain has proven surprisingly elastic regarding plots. Of course, that might make my head fall off my shoulders one day from swelling to contain all the stories, but I’ll have to live with that. 😉

  2. Subtlekate says:

    The only time chapter length bothers me is if they contrast too much. From long to short and back again. I like consistency so whether they are long or short doesn’t worry me too much.

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Chapter lengths are really subjective. Some swear by short ones, others by longer…. If there’s a logical stop-to-take-a-longer-than-normal breath in yours, that would be my suggestion for breaking them up. But if the action is really flowing, you may not want to stop the reader. If you’re still not sure after this pass through, you might ask your betas to think about that question in the next reading round.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, that’s going to be on the list for Beta readers. I have a few things, actually, and I’m writing them down in a list so I don’t forget. To be entirely truthful, this book hasn’t had a reading round yet. I tend to take it as far asI think I can before I bring in the betas, and this one isn’t there yet.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

