The Raging Fire In My Head

Wow, and I thought today would be a nice, quiet day of laundry and editing.  How wrong we are when we wake up and make assumptions about the day to follow.

Oh my god, I can’t even tell you… I… Wow.  Cayle.  Thank you.

You know, I’m reading that and I suspect it makes no sense to anyone other than me, so let me explain. No, that would take too long, let me sum up. (That one’s for SJ, she knows why, also for everyone else who gets the reference.)

So, this morning, I woke up, lazed around and surfed in bed (yay laptops and wifi), then got up to make coffee.  Entirely normal, and as I said, I thought I knew what would follow.  Then something happened I’ve practically been begging for for months.  Cayle, the main character of my Masques project,  started whispering.  Or maybe it was more like shouting.  Suddenly I had ALL the ideas.  I mean, seriously, a river of thoughts and fire and amazement flowing through my brain.  It’s sort of still going, and that which is in the river is AMAZING!!!!!!  Yes, that did deserve all those exclamation marks.  Remember me complaining that he was being uncooperative and that it served me right for creating a society where all the important people wear masks? Yeah, I’m getting to see behind his now, he’s letting me see.  OMG, totally awesome.  Seriously… I just… No freaking words for how awesome this is looking now.  And ambitious.  Another ambitious idea.

But I like the ambitious ideas, I have to say, because it means I’ll be pushing myself as a writer, forcing myself to grow, to rise to the challenge, and I think that’s always a good thing.  To me, every project should push a little further than the one before it.  In some ways, that’s the beauty of the trilogy for me as a writer.  Not that I have more space, or that if it’s good it sells more (debatable if you ask me).  It’s that each book should push a little further, building to a climax worthy of reading 3 books.  So should the projects be, and they’re looking like it so far.  Seriously, it’s going to be hard to put Masques on hold for anything now.  I’m starting to think Cayle busted out like this simply because I’m so close to the end of writing Necromantic.  Reah won’t like that, as Spire of Time is slated to be my next project, but maybe I can get Cayle to be patient long enough to get through that one, if only so Reah doesn’t kill me.  They’re both intoxicating in their possibilities, so it’s hard to choose.

So yeah, this morning has seen me dive for my Notes app twice in the middle of making coffee.  Yes, it’s been that good, that worth it.  I suspect that you’re going to hear more about Masques in the near future, if Cayle continues to be this cooperative, and my sense is that he’s done being the quiet, mysterious type.

Oh, and before I go, I managed to edit 3.5 chapters yesterday of Where The Ether Flows, and will be working on that today (yes, Cayle, you have to share my brain with Devan still), starting at Chapter 7 this morning (of 24, for those keeping track).  We’ll see how far we get today.  I need more time for all of this.  I need to learn to live without sleep, or win the lottery, or something, anything so I can write more hours of the day.  The stories demand it.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Raging Fire In My Head

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Yay Princess Bride! 😀 It’s one of the very best. And anyone who says differently is selling something.

    As for the actual topic — Ah yes, because you needed more going on around that busy place of yours, right? 😉 Still though, I’m so glad you’re having lots of inspiration and stuff around there — that’s always awesome. 🙂 Sounds exciting!

    Except . . . I now know people who have current characters named Cayrn, Cayne and Cayle. I’m officially going to be the most confused person in the blogosphere. 😛

    Good luck with Cayle and Reah and the others! I hope they don’t explode your brain with too many awesome ideas. 😀

    • Julie says:

      Cayle’s been through like 4 names for me to find the right one. And he’s at least slowed it down to a reasonable flow, but that river’s still flowing. I really can’t complain too much, given how much I really have begged him to let me in. It was totally worth the begging. I knew he was hiding something awesome behind that mask.

      And there won’t be any promises about not exploding my brain. I think my characters view it as a fun sport in which they score points for how badly they can do that to me. Right now, I think Cayle’s winning, but Devan’s making a bid for the leader board with his final book. I love it when they fight over my brain via story ideas. I always win in the end. 🙂

  2. Wow, what a hive of activity your brain is. I’m surprised you find time to sleep.. Hugs

    • Julie says:

      I’d like to think that getting it all out in the form of story is the reason I can sleep. Trust me, there’s a basis for this. For about 16 years, I didn’t do much writing and, during that same period, I didn’t do much sleeping. Coincidence? I think not. I was also surprisingly functional during that period, so maybe I could live with less sleep… Hmm, I smell an experiment. 🙂

  3. Ottabelle says:

    Someday you’ll be living off your writing. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I can hope so. I’m going to need those 40 hours a week to keep up. If I don’t make manage that, it won’t be due to lack of story ideas, that’s for sure. 🙂

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m betting when you are a full-time writer, it’ll simply open the floodgates for LOTS more characters to approach you with book ideas. You still won’t have enough time for all of them. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Omg. *drowns at the thought* I’m already behind the eight ball on them. No far. The ideas are ganging up on their writer, I’m telling you.

      The worst part is that I think you’re probably right. Yet it would never stop me from trying to keep up. More for everyone to read, right? That’s got to be an upside.

  5. winsomebella says:

    I have to say, I love how your brain works 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Why, thank you! Most of the time I like how it works too, even when it’s simultaneously crazy and hilarious. Trust me, I know that me diving from the coffee machine to my laptop had to look hilarious, even if no one was around to laugh at me but my cats. 😀

  6. Subtlekate says:

    Isn’t that fantastic when that happens. I feel like jumping up and down with joy for you, but then my lap top would fall off my lap.

    • Julie says:

      Hmm, then I guess starting the wave is right out… And I wanted a writer-wave. Oh well, the willingness and enthusiasm is always appreciated. And yeah, it’s nice when it all starts rolling in your head, and you can barely type fast enough to keep up with it all. It sounds like you’ve been there yourself, which is awesome. I wish it on everyone. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

