Bring On The Next Competitor

Now that was a weekend, enough that, two days later, I think I’m still recovering.

After all that angst about the beginning, The Nine turned out fairly well.  Oh, and I’m done this pass of edits.  I finished the last chapters late last night.  I think there’s something to this one.  It might even be on its way to being good.  And just because that statement is up here on the blog does not mean you get to quote me on it later. 😉

So, of course, this leaves me with a decision, one I mentioned briefly on Twitter but I know that not everyone does Twitter.  Besides, I can unpack it a bit more here.  Somehow, 140 characters doesn’t let you do that.  What a shock.  The decision? What to do next.  I have a list of things I’d like to do before November 1st, when I’m doing NaNo.  The list more or less consists of the following, in no particular order:

  • Second pass of editing on Where The Ether Flows
  • Outline Book 3 of Necromantic
  • First pass of editing on All Stitched Up (maybe)
  • get a handle on the major arcs and pieces of Spire of Time (big maybe)

Right now, I’m mostly trying to decide between the first and second.  I’ve had a suggestion that I do both, but to be honest, I tend to lose my place in one or both if I try to do two manuscripts simultaneously.  As much as I have going on, if you look back, you’ll see I only do any of those things one at a time.  So I’m still left with a decision.

Before we go too much further, I should probably take this opportunity to announce the title of the next and final book in the Necromantic trilogy. It’s probably a good idea since, no matter what I decide, I’ll probably be talking about it more than a little going forward and I can’t just keep calling it Book 3. Without further ado, the close of Necromantic will be Still They Watch.  I’ll probably shorten that to STW, since none of the words makes a good handle on its own.

There are pros and cons to each choice, of course. The earlier I start working on the outline for STW, the more time I have to tweak it and get it right.  I’ve already created an Outliner file for it and, well, I’ve started the first entry in the actual outline.  But I’m not sure I’m ready to really dig into it yet.  Things are going to be a bit different in this one, and Devan’s going to be in some VERY unfamiliar territory, for both him and myself.  Even the first part, getting him to that unfamiliar territory isn’t clear in my head, which suggests that I’m not there yet, not ready to launch into the outlining in any serious fashion.  I could just think about it and make notes for a while, until I feel like I have more of the pieces in place.  Yet I often find the best stuff while I’m discovering the story through outlining it.  Some people explore their story as they write a draft of it.  I do so when I’m outlining.

On the pro side for editing Ether Flows (and maybe Stitched) is that it will allow me to slide back into that world after my deep flirtation with Tavis over the weekend.  It will allow me to refresh in my mind all the things that have led Devan to where he is at the start of STW.  Also, I suspect that it won’t take too long (a week, two tops) to do this next round on Ether Flows, as I’ve done the first round already, and even that only took me a bit over 3 weeks.  With nearly two months to NaNo, I have the time certainly.  And yet, I feel like I need to switch modes a bit if I’m going to edit Ether Flows properly, having just finished doing that with one novel, if one in a different series and world.

Like I said, there’s pros and cons, and still time for all the things, in all likelihood.  It’s not like I’m going to suddenly get a social life, and my day-job knows that I’m not available for overtime there, even if they were offering it to me.  All I’m sure of at the moment is that I feel like I’ve taken a deep, relieved breath in finding that the end of the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy is in fairly good shape.  I’ll probably spend the next few hours mulling it over, make my decision, then let you know when I post again in a few days.  It’s what usually happens, and I seem to be very much a creature of habit.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bring On The Next Competitor

  1. I’m surprised you have time to breathe with all that you have to do. I think I’d panic with such a list and yet you seem to take it in your stride. Well Done on the latest pass of edits being completed.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks!

      Would you be more frightened if I told you that it’s not my whole to-do list, just the stuff I think I can get done in two months (not including work toward getting the first book published)?

      Taking it in stride is a recent skill for me (I used to give up in the face of large to-do lists) and I think it comes out of two things. One, this workload started small. I wrote a book. I edited that book and outlined the next. I wrote that book, edited the first, outlined the third, edited the second… You see what I mean about starting small? As I got more balls going in the air, I got accustomed to juggling what I had, then added another ball. That said, I think I may soon need to start passing balls off (aka publishing) to maintain what I’m doing.

      The other thing is that I’ve seen, going through the last year of serious writing, that as long as I take it one thing at a time and I don’t worry too much about the other balls in the air, it all gets done.

      Also, you’ll notice half the list is marked maybe. They’d be nice, but if I don’t get them done before the beginning of November, I won’t beat myself up.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    You look . . . busy. 😀 Good luck on all that! I bet you’ll end up having all of those. November is a long way away when you consider how fast you do stuff… 🙂

    And . . . I hit 60k the night before last! 🙂 Much excitement and insane dancing about to epic sountrack music was in order. 😀 Very excited! Still writing . . .

    • Julie says:

      I suspect that I always look busy, really. So much to juggle, yet I love every second of it. I’m a glutton for punishment, I guess.

      Congrats on 60k! I hope the writing continues smoothly and quickly. 🙂

  3. Pete Denton says:

    I’d have option paralysis! I’m sure your subconscious will guide you in the right direction like your characters. Whichever screams the loudest. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Well, the problem with using the yardstick of whatever character screams loudest is that it’s all Devan, for the immediate stuff. So no matter what I do, he wins. No wonder he seems content at the moment. :p

      Right now, I’m sort of doing both, waiting for one to take over my brain completely. It’s kind of laissez fair for writers. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

